Honda Jazz
 (4/5)
expert rating
 (4/5)
owner rating
No Longer On Sale
from RM 936.98 /month
from RM 70,242.00 to RM 83,633.00
Find Honda Jazz Dealers

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Honda Jazz - Write an owner review

Do you own the Honda Jazz? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Honda Jazz and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

10 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
10 July 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
radz
1.5 i-VTEC (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.5 km/litre (6.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    A. Luggage capacity at 337 litres, the Honda Jazz has the largest boot by its same class.
    B. ‘Magic Seats’ can max out your luggage.
    C. Large front windscreen / windows.
    D. Safety features- Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), EBD, ABS, Hill Start Assist.
    A. Getting up to speed on freeway takes a little longer.
    B. Brakes requires a fair bit of encouragement
    C. Some noisy engines when you press the pedal hard.
    D. No diesel engine for Malaysian markets.
To Improve
A. Diesel engines
B. NVH - wind noise and road noise.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
10 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Wye Ching
1.3 Hybrid (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 16.7 km/litre (6.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    Cruise control and paddle shift for CBU unit
    Considered spacious given the size of the car
    Max fuel consumption was 4.7L/100KM on highway
    Sound proofing wasn't as good as expected
    Air-cond blowing hot air whenever the engine is at auto-stop mode during hot weather, you don't really feel it when the sun is not up.
    I've got used to the jerking when it turns to auto-stop mode. However, the brakes are like still in tact when I step on the accelerator (at times and mostly during traffic jams) and at one point I had to use the paddle shift in order for it to 'start moving'. Complained to the service centre but they can't find out what's the problem and told me the brakes are fine and not jammed.
    Fuel consumption wasn't as good as expected. Max reached 7.9L/100KM during traffic jam
    Needs to service every 5K
    Maintenance fee is greater compared to the normal jazz, to which I think the difference in maintenance fee is greater than the money you saved on petrol.
To Improve
Sound proofing needs to be better
Need not service the car for every 5K
Should comes with door visor
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
6 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Khairul
1.3 Hybrid (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 20.0 km/litre (5.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 500 km/month
    Fuel efficient almost double from my previos Proton Persona
    Handling
    CBU quality
    Noise on highway
    Servicing interval should be 10,000km
    Paint is somehow very low quality,easily remove during cut/polishing
To Improve
Hand rest suppose at passenger side
Audio system should be touch screen
User should choose autostart-off either to be ON of OFF
Soundproof should be improve especially at tyre area
Fuel tank should be 50 liter
Tyre should be wider
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
4 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
AHMAD SYAHRIR
1.3 Hybrid (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 20.2 km/litre (5.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    The technology - IMA technology saves fuel a lot
    The consumption - very good
    The comfort - nice tuned suspension, great handling with EPS
    The price - affordable
    The aftersale - very good customer service
    slow respons
    noise from door trims
    too many difference compared to CBU models
To Improve
add more airbags
improve plastic quality
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
23 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Andrew
1.3 Hybrid (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 17.0 km/litre (5.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    -It's small and easily cut thru the traffic
    -Great acceleration, revvs up easily.
    -Good for city ride & easily find parking in Penang.
    -The `Magic' seat system allows the seats to be folded in for Ikea flat pack stuff.
    -Good fuel consumption
    -Have VSC function for B- segment car
    -Have many easily reached compartments
    -A very practical family car
    -Provide 3 years warranty + 3 years free maintenance, save a lot of money for maintenance
    -No cruise control for CKD model
    -Small boot size
    -Auto stop function which cut in air conditional on & off to conserve fuel quite annoying during hot day
    -Low customer sanctification for after sales service
    -Easily crack fog light (without any warranty)
    -Loud initial braking sound still cannot be solve after services
To Improve
- After sales service
-Sound insulation should be improve during high speed cruise
-Improve of safety features such as 6 airbags

Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
tan
1.3 Hybrid (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 17.5 km/litre (5.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    Very fuel efficiency..i using more than 20k mileage and i able to achieve an average 17.5km/liter. The cabin space is very spacious and comfortable. The rear seat is flexible for many usage.
    The CKD quality is speechless. My left hand door send for repair 2 times and yet still a bit noisy. There is only 2 airbags instead of 6 airbags in CBU unit. The car is lack of spare type which will give us troubles once tyres punctured.
To Improve
Honda should emphasize on car safety and should install more airbags to protect the passenger.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
yiqin
1.5 i-VTEC (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,100 km/month
    good handling and comfortable ride for this car.
    feels solid and also the sound proofing is better than most of the competitors
    cheap tyres is given with the cars. changed out the tyres and immediately feel less road noise and better handling
    air conditioning not cool enough during the afternoon but extremely cold at night.
    service intervals of 5000kms instead of 10,000kms
To Improve
better tyres should be given, not the cheap and thin tyres.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Wong
1.5 i-VTEC (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.5 km/litre (7.4 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    -Smooth and quiet ride
    -Powerful when throttled hard
    -Good stock sound system
    -Ultra seats are awesome
    -Good handling, swift around the town
    -Fuel efficient at high speed cruising (around 15~18km/L)
    -Great vision from the cabin, like a small glass house
    -Attractive look yet has hundreds ways to customise
    -Moderate FC in city drive (around 10km/L)
    -Stock tyres very noisy
    -Sluggish at low speed
    -Service interval only can be 5000km at dealer
To Improve
-Higher specs with panaromic glassroof maybe?
-Paddle shifter is good
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ken
1.3 Hybrid (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.7 km/litre (7.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,700 km/month
    - Good handling, very easy to park, good visibility.
    - Sounds cliche but, magic seats are really useful sometimes to carry tall items.
    - Decent performance, electric motor gives the car an added boost.
    - Tall roof and big windscreen really makes the car feels bigger than it is.
    - My CBU model has lots more features such as airbags, cruise control, disc brakes, etc.
    - Very reliable, extensive usage each month and no problems so far.
    - CVT gearbox is jerky at low speeds, especially during traffic jams, multiplied by electric motor which cuts in and out and jerks it even more. Apparently its normal; I brought it to two service centers and the reply was "it's normal lah". At speed the car is smooth nevertheless.
    - Sound proofing could be better, lots of road noise at highway speeds.
    - Suspension set up is slightly too hard for my liking, good for handling in mountain roads though.
    - Metal used for exterior body is rather "soft". Malaysians are really inconsiderate when opening their doors and my car already has 5 door dents in less than 2 years of ownership.
    - CKD model + promotions destroyed the resale value for CBU models.
    - Good fuel economy. However, savings from petrol is overshadowed by costs of servicing every 5k intervals.
To Improve
- I would very much prefer a normal 5 speed automatic gearbox.
- Very very unhappy with 5k interval service. It costs more to maintain a Jazz than an Accord which doesn't make sense (if you exclude the tires)! I'm stuck with servicing every 5k with Honda dealers for 8 years because that's the warranty period for the car's battery.
- Better sound proofing and leather seats would make this car a serious contender even for C-segment cars.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
20 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ethan
1.5 i-VTEC (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.4 km/litre (6.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    - Cheapest Honda to date.
    - Peppy engine, car is small enough to manoeuvre around busy traffic and narrow town roads.
    - Handling is superb.
    - Inclusion of Vehicle Stability Control at this car segment is to be lauded.
    - CKD models have slightly inferior sound systems compared to CBU models.
    - Driver seat lacks thigh support, (coupled with the absence of cruise control) results in right-foot tiredness on long distance drive.
    - Transmissions upshifts quickly resulting in slight under-power of the vehicle.
    - Car service intervals are set at 5,000 km instead of the current and regular 10,000km.
    - Honda service centres are manned only by dealers, not by Honda Malaysia in itself, resulting in different approaches and solutions should there be problems to be addressed on the car.
To Improve
Car NVH can be improved further. Honda itself should manned some service centres by themselves to streamline repairs and warranty claims. And Honda should answer a common inquiry amongst Jazz owners as to why they are subjected to expensive 5,000km service intervals and not 10,000km like any other cars.
Yes, I would recommend this car

Honda Jazz's Competitors