Mazda 3 Sedan
 (3.5/5)
expert rating
 (4.2/5)
owner rating
No Longer On Sale
from RM 1,849.63 /month
from RM 138,660.00 to RM 155,679.00
Find Mazda 3 Sedan Dealers

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Mazda 3 Sedan - Write an owner review

Do you own the Mazda 3 Sedan? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Mazda 3 Sedan and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

16 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
11 January 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Cakap
2.0 SkyActiv (CBU) (2012)
Bought used, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 100.0 km/litre (1.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2 km/month
    The fabric
    Exterior and interior look good
    Aircond way to cool
    Poor legroom
    Road and tyre noise when car up to 110 Km/h
To Improve
Road and tyre noise
Legroom
NOTE:
*My model was 2009 (CBU),but select variant not available in my model,so i choose CBU because my was import from Japan.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
11 January 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
vincent
2.0 SkyActiv (CKD) (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 20.0 km/litre (5.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    save fuel
    good pick up
    comfortable
    tyre noise can be heard from inside cabin
To Improve
tyre noise
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 December 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Albert
2.0 SkyActiv (CKD) (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 14.3 km/litre (7.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - Best looking car in its segment. Sexy, Attractive, Eye-catchy. From front to the rear. Please don't argue bout it.
    - One of best interior in its segment. Central knob, MZD Connect, classy.
    - So many safety features. Lane Departure Warning and Rear Vehicle Monitoring System are very useful.
    - Head Up Display (HUD) very helpful especially when you put your seat lower.
    - NVH is acceptable.
    - FC also acceptable.
    - Paddle shifter very useful to over take quickly.
    - Manual mode very useful when driving on uphill area. Combine with paddle shifter, I love to see my car cruise effortlessly on uphill and easily overtook other vehicles.

    Last but not least, with all these features at its price, which car in C segment can beat it?
    - Rear passenger space quite cramp. Well, this is driver-driven car. So not a problem for me.
    - Sound from the speaker not so loud, even put in max volume. My Myvi is louder than this.
    - No kruk-kruk or ngek-ngek sound for me, but sometimes noticed rattling sound from driver side. It is from hood release toggle. Weird, right?
    - MZD Connect very hard to connect to wifi. Even use public wifi also can't connect. Seldom successfully connected with Android, fail all the time with iOS.
    - Quite slow pick up from static mode
To Improve
- NVH can be improved.
- Enable door auto lock when driver inside.
- Offer front parking sensor integrated with MZD connect. Mazda Australia can, why not Malaysia?
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
15 February 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Vasan
2.0 SkyActiv Sedan (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
RON97, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    -Nice design
    -Love the front look (looks like Aston Martin) with adaptive lighting system
    -Premium interior (Like continental car with Display BMW style)
    -Nice pickup & feel confident in over taking & better handling
    -Comfort seat (semi sport) feeling.
    -A lot of automated features which worth buying.
    -6 airbags & good safety features
    -Tyre noise (no idea it comes because of Tyre itself or NVH)
    -Air flow noise when speed up on 120kmh.
    -Rear seat less spacious on leg room.
    -Knuk knuk sound on suspension.
    -Black interior hard to maintain as u can see white spots & dust clearly.
    -Automated High beam is not precisely work, need to switch on manual mode.
To Improve
What else, NVH.
Air flow noise.
Leg room.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
12 January 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ammar
2.0 SkyActiv (CKD) (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 7.5 km/litre (13.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 500 km/month
    - good handling
    - nice pickup
    - safety features good
    - convenient drive especially good tuning ratio to U-turn
    - cantik luar, cantik dalam
    - luxury interior design which gave me conti car feeling (ada knob tengah macam iDrive)
    - u feel just u in the road (exclusive)
    - convenient keyless and push start
    - Head Blub same as BMW tech which is turn with ur steering.
    - NVH sound (i think comes from the tyre)
    - No soul red in CKD !!
    - i got some problem with the radio frequency
    - the sound when rain so scary when it comes to heavy rain.
    - some people may say about the "knuck-knuck" sound. but my car not have that sound.
To Improve
- the process of claming and othres need to make hurry
- some SC not have same skill/process that standard
- SC need to make over and change like other car maker SC. (room that we can see the car get service and etc)
- Some SC have slow respond to give feedback to their customer.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
15 June 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
William
2.0 SkyActiv (CKD) (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.8 km/litre (7.2 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    - good handling
    - nice pickup
    - safety features good
    - convenient drive especially good tuning ratio to U-turn
    - handsome outlook to impress myself and comfort seat
    - luxury interior design which gave me conti car feeling
    - good paddle shift touch feel
    - convenient keyless and push start
    - NVH not par with its' class
    - very noisy roof sound proof when heavy rain, feel like empty can.
    - need front camera when parking due to engine bay very long
    - not programmable key system, wish to open only driver door but it open all 4 door
    - cannot auto lock the door, will forget lock it and endanger driver facing robbery during traffic light stopping
    - sound system not good. should give a basic passive 2 way or 3 way audio system.
    - door hard to close. need to slam it hard
    - tyre or road noise so obvious. again, NVH so bad.
To Improve
- improve the NVH to its' class. don't just look luxury but make it really luxury too. few layer of STP silver doesn't cost you much
- improve the alarm system to become programmable. i want to open driver door only when alone. second mode to open 4 door.
- make the rear seat more space about another 6cm
- put the rear aircond vent
- front strut bar might consider to include
- provide optional body kit option
- auto lock the door when driver start engine. The regulation is have the door auto open when accident. so, no excuse for Mazda to skip this auto lock function
- make the LCD screen could hide after engine stop.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
25 August 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Leon
2.0 SkyActiv (CKD) (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 7.4 km/litre (13.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    -Sexy Kodo design especially for those who are looking at this segment
    -Complete interior equipment with very premium feel (e.g. leather soft touch plastic, MDZ connect system)
    -Sporty leather powered-seat & 18 inch tyres
    -Smooth gearbox with skyactive technology
    -Comfortable city / highway drive
    -Reasonable rear seat space
    -Reasonable boot space (fordable)
    -Considerable safety features (e.g. 6 air bags, lane departure warning, rear vehicle monitoring system, ABS etc...)
    -Attractive pricing as compared to other competitors (e.g. 2.0 Altis)
    -Free 3 years or 60k mileage service inclusive labour & parts
    -Others (e.g. GPS, Adaptive headlight, auto wiper/light, cruise control, auto dimming rear view mirror, head up display (HUD) and reverse camera etc.) What else more at this price tag?
    -No Soul red option for CKD unit!
    -Wind / road noise at high speed
    -"Kluk-kluk" noise found within first week of purchase. (After checking, it was found that the noise is from the back tyre. Pulling full at handbrake can prevent this noise.)
    -Sometimes Wifi cannot auto connect. (Remark: Please ensure your wifi password is less than 8 letters)
    -No screen mirroring function for iphone or Android
    -The MZD connect system sometimes is 0.5s lagging behind
    -Slightly "hard" sporty seat as some consumer would complaint about it
    -Slightly least spacious as compared to its competitors, (Rear middle seat leg room was limited due to the chasis design).
To Improve
-Soul red option for Malaysia CKD unit
-Improve on outside noise level
-More supports on the MZD connect system (e.g.: additional apps option, screen mirroring)
-Include i-Eloop system for CKD unit
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 July 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
jim raynor
2.0 SkyActiv (CKD) (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 17.2 km/litre (5.8 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 4,000 km/month
    1) This high spec CKD price come with up-to-date features; (AFS, HBC, RVM, LDW, Auto light, auto leveling headlight, auto viper, SCBS, HUD). some of this feature available at luxury car such as volvo.
    the most feature i like, RVM, keep me alert on the incoming vehicle from behind, HBC (automatic switch on/off high beam) and Smart City Break Support.
    2) Fuel Consumption
    -ron95, 100% highway ipoh-sg. buluh, 105kmj-115kmj = 17.24km/l
    -ron95, city driving no jemm, 60-90kmj = 13.16km/l
    -ron95, extremely slow moving trafic during raya = 10km/l
    3) Handling pretty well balance.. feel confident cornering at high speed. multi link rear suspension work very well.
    4) 0-100km/h = 9.3sec. im using OBD2 to capture time.
    5) really smooth 6 speed skyactiv gearbox.
    6) command console feel like BMW i-drive
    7) Jibba Ittai concept, well design of cockpit.
    8) Most important thing is, affordable price. cheaper than altis and civic, plus come with good package, sporting look, nice headlamp DRL design.
    1) some of the owner complain about "kluk kluk" suspension noise on the wet road when hit the bump. my car doesn't have this problem yet..myb soon. i heard mazda japan still working on it ( global issue on the lower arm bush)
    2) Road noise, as i compare to jette, Jetta win.
    3) i like hatchback version but too bad hatch back didnt come with full spec.
To Improve
1) Should come with front sensor or front camera. really help during front parking.
2) Road noise
3) Radar Cruise available at other country, why did not bring it to MY.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
6 July 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
NIC
2.0 SkyActiv GL (CKD) (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - Smooth gearbox and Engine
    - Superb handling, precise and direct steering feedback feeling
    - Very good FC for a 2.0 powerful car, (7-9L/100 in the city, (5-6/100 in the highway)
    - Smooth torque delivery all across the RPM
    - Classy, premium interior
    - Sexy and sporty curves all over the body
    - Super loud Tyre noise
    - Poor legroom for rear passenger
    - Passengers view is terrible, front was blocked by the giant headrest while the side windows are very small (due to the sexy curves)
    - Small entry height for the luggage boot
    - Poor NVH
    - Noisy suspension
To Improve
- Improve the NVH as its really poor
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
17 June 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ryan
2.0 SkyActiv GL (CKD) (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.3 km/litre (7.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,400 km/month
    - Great performance. One of the best power/weight ratio in its class.
    - Fantastic looks!! Seductive curves lines. THE best in class
    - Good fuel consumption (7.9 - 9 L/100km City, 5.0 - 5.5 L/100km Highway) For highway constant 110 km/h with some overtaking, highway figure is easily achievable. City figure differs a lot depending on which city you are driving this car.
    - Amazing handling!!! Well weighted & responsive steering. A fun car to drive.
    - Push Start button
    - Commander controls are very intuitive.
    - Smooth gearbox.
    - Wind noise is OK.
    - Great interior design. Expensive feel.
    - Reverse camera
    - Great safety features. 6 airbags, ABS, Stability Control, etc
    - Cheapest non-national 2.0 sedan in the market
    - A high resolution 7" screen without touchscreen is sufficient; finger prints are very obvious after touching it. With the commander control knob...I rarely touches the screen anyway.
    - I-Stop saves me about 30km after using for nearly 3000km. The saving is not significant enough. I would rather trade this i-stop for cruise control, paddle shift, bi-xenon headlights, LED tail lamps or other accessories which is equivalent to the price.
    - Instrument Rev Meter toooo small!!
    - Rear passenger space. Width OK... The legroom is bad.
    - Road / Tyre noise is below average.
    - Comfort is average. Good handling but stiff ride...some passengers might complain.
    -
To Improve
- Adding additional length to the overall car length like Altis length? That way you can get a way better rear legroom space.
- Center Armrest to far behind!! Moving the handbrake forward, electronic parking brake or one less cup holder will do the job.
- Center console armrest to add cushion like the side door armrest slightly soft cushion.
- Get rid of the protruding center storage that invade into the rear passenger area.
- Reduce the height of window line at the rear to have a more spacious feel for rear passengers.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
3 December 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Dylan
2.0 SkyActiv Sedan (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,250 km/month
    -Good looks, sexy curves (the best looking in its class in my opinion), attention grabber (turns a few heads)
    -Premium feel in its interior (soft touch materials can be found all around its interior)
    -Bi-Xenon and daytime running lights looks great when seen in reflection
    -Car feels smooth when cruising (powerful when you want it for overtaking, acceleration etc)
    -Push start & walk away lock is convenient when you don't need to take the key out of your pocket
    -Comes with sunroof when you need more natural lighting in the interior
    -Equipped with paddle shifts (fun for guys and car enthusiasts)
    -Good Mazda infotainment (nav and road name display, clear bluetooth voice transfer during phone calls)
    -Good sound system (heavy bass but not as well refined as other models)
    -Black comfortable leather seats and red stitching matches with the rest of its interior
    -Good fuel economy
    -Attractive interior lightings (especially at night)
    -Only provides the mid spec in Malaysia (does not include HUD, electronic seats, dual zone aircon, cruise control, auto city break, reverse camera...)
    -Suspension rattling sound when go on bumps and uneven roads
    -Wind and road noise a little loud on highways
    -Slightly unresponsive gear change when downshifting (can be overcomed with paddle shifters but power is instantly enjoyed when the gear change eventually gets there)
    -Slightly difficult to get in and out even for youngster like me (178 cm)
    -Costly spare parts
    -Not the best of services but bearable (toyota still offers way better customer service experience)
    -Lack of leg and head room at rear seats
    -Price (one of the most expensive in its class after the altis 2.0v)
To Improve
-Offer better features for the premium price that customers pay (at least add in dual zone aircon, reverse camera, electronic driver seat adjustments and cruise control)
-Improve customer service experience (benchmark against Toyota)
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
13 August 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Sam
2.0 SkyActiv Sedan (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,800 km/month
    Fuel Consumption : 8.1L/100km ~ 10L/100km (depending how hard you push your pedal) bout 70% urban and 30% outskirts area (1800km mileage/month)

    Good FC for a 2.0l car N/A engine
    Handling is superb (a driver's car)
    Interior is clean and organize
    Clean and simple controls (not too much buttons around to distract during driving)
    Astonishing good looks
    Comes with iStop, iEloop, 6 airbags and VSC
    Power is there when u need it, overtaking mostly not a problem in most circumstances
    A very fun car to drive
    Tons of features removed compared to overseas specs (auto-dim mirror, HUD, auto cruise, dual zone climate control, electronic seats etc...)
    Lacks of compartments to store items
    Rear passenger seats might be abit cramped up for huge size people
    Wind noise considerably loud, a good sound insulation might be needed
    Considerably low profile car, might not be suitable for people with leg joints problem (getting in and out will be pain)
    Most CBU units comes with "built in" problems, lower arm bush shrieking, ticking noise at driver's front pillar
    Lack of Front sensors (for a long car)
To Improve
To provide more variants or accessories to the local market
To improve on the speed of spare parts and service

Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
5 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
khaizat
2.0 SkyActiv Sedan (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.5 km/litre (9.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    Looks.
    Fuel economy.
    Seat support (leather).
    Clean and expensive feel interrior.
    MZD commander.
    Great sound system eventhough standard system
    Great handling.
    Tyre noise.
    Wind noise. (>120kmh)
    Front absorber make noise after when wet ( eg drive through water puddle)
    Price higher than competitors.
    Tons of features removed compared to overseas spec.

To Improve
NVH should be taken seriously for this price range
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ong
2.0 SkyActiv Sedan (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.6 km/litre (8.6 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 850 km/month
    - Great Looks
    - Power in Mid to High-end
    - Great handling
    - Noisy cabin
    - Cramppy rear
    - Pricey
To Improve
- More accessories
- SC improvement
- Absorber Problem?
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
lim
2.0 SkyActiv Sedan (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    160hp quite powerful and low fuel consumption
    smooth gearbox
    cost me around rm80 for 520km
    it is disappointed that the cbu unit have no auto cruise, wiper, headlamp etc.
    the tyre noise can be listen quite clear for rear passengers
    the price is a little bit higher compare to same segment car
To Improve
the service of SC shoud be improve
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
20 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
CHEE SEONG
2.0 SkyActiv Sedan (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 200 km/month
    - very good handling, cornering
    - nice, big rim
    - nice body design, color
    - perfect match outlook
    - costly
    - i-stop do not really good feature
    - less feature, eg: reverse camera
To Improve
- add in more useful feature: reverse camera, tyre air monitoring system
- lower the price
Yes, I would recommend this car

Mazda 3 Sedan's Competitors