Perodua Viva
 (2.5/5)
expert rating
 (3.1/5)
owner rating
No Longer On Sale
from RM 282.06 /month
from RM 21,144.80 to RM 35,230.80

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Perodua Viva - Write an owner review

Do you own the Perodua Viva? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Perodua Viva and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

18 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
11 February 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
André
S AT (2013)
Bought used, Owned for 1 Year
RON95, Mileage: 150 km/month
    -good acceleration for an A segment hatch
    -steering feels responsive
    -tackles corners quite well at 80kph and below
    -nice speakers for a cheap car
    -front seats offer good shoulder support
    -aircon cools down the cabin quickly
    -good fuel consumption makes me worry free when I floor the pedal
    -suspension is too stiff
    -dashboard occasionally rattles when accelerating, which causes noise
    -no temperature meter. Can't tell car is having a high fever…one time I forgot to close radiator cap properly and almost all the water spilled out. Lucky that my car didn't overheat
    -roof feels thin as it is loud when raining
    -rear seats not as comfy as front seats as the rear seats ain't ergonomic
    -no safety features at all as mine is actually the 2009 Viva 1.0 EZ. Glad that Perodua has been working on safety since the Axia and Bezza.
To Improve
-most issues that I've addressed above have been solved on the Perodua Axia. Hope to see something even better with the 2017 axia facelift, and thank you perodua for making even the very poor to be able to afford a vehicle.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 April 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Elena
660 BX MT (2007)
Bought new, Owned for 7 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 600 km/month
    Fuel economy
    Low maintenance
    Owned for 7 years, no problem at all!!
    Great value
    Its getting smoother and steadier now compared to when i first drove it
    Under power
    Feels floating when you drive above 130km/hr
To Improve
With the low budget, i would say its already been optimised.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 September 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Alfred
S AT (2010)
Bought used, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 60000.0 km/litre (0.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    - Great fuel economy!
    - Good for city driving as it is very compact
    - Compact but do not sacrifice interior spaces
    - Cheap to own one and also affordable maintenance
    - Very durable car as mine is a second hand car but do not experience heavy break down or so
    - The dashboard is very shaky when the car is idle due to the 3 cylinder engine.
    - Very cheap plastic interior use
    - The 1.0 L engine is very sluggish when carry a lot of passenger
    - The build in CD player is very poor, will hang if the car shake too much
    - Handling of this car is very poor as you will feel the car tyres will leave the ground...
    - The chassy of the car is believe to be very soft and doesn't have any rating in ANCAP so safety is a concern
To Improve
- Improve the quality use in the interior
- Use a better CD player please no one likes their music jammed or hang
- Every problem is improve with the new Perodua Axia
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 June 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Dick
850 MT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 22.0 km/litre (4.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    1. Cheap to drive
    - Manage to make 22km from a litre. (average speed 80-90km/h with less traffic but a bit mountain roads in Sabah)
    - Traveled from Lahad Datu to Kota Kinabalu city with only 19 litres.

    2. Cheap to maintain
    - With free 3 years service offered during purchase, every service if like, you know what i mean *wink
    - Not much problem even though you're a rough driver. Parts are easily obtainable.

    3. Overall good ride for this price tag.
    - This price with the things it offers just puts a smile on your face.

    4. Good space
    - Driving position is good. I'm 178cm and i still got 7-8 inches of headroom.
    - Rear legroom is also good for a person with long legs.
    - Tyre noise, wind noise... lack of soundproof materials.
    - A bit lack of power when having heavy passengers.
    - Headlights aiming a bit too high.. People always thought i'm using high beam.
    - Rear suspension a bit too soft. 2 person weighing 70kg in the rear will lower the car A LOT.
    - Troublesome blind spot on the pillars when driving.
    - Boot space is abit too small. (can't ask more from a small hatchback..)
To Improve
- Better soundproof
- Better rear suspensions
- Higher power output from the engine would be better
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
10 July 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
chan
Elite MT (2008)
Bought new, Owned for 6 Years
Fuel Economy: 170000.0 km/litre (0.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 500 km/month
    1. Long lasting cars - i have drive 5 years+, no major maintenance needed.
    2. Fuel save - a full tank with full air condition turn on, can run 500KM!!!
    3. Good room space - I can carry a 6 x 2 feet fish tank & all other stuff without any problem compare to a more bigger cars.
    4. Engineer is NOT under power at all.
    1. Road and wind noise sound quite intrusive
    2. No air bag.
To Improve
1. Already improve - the car price drop aggressively.
2. Come with 2 Din radio.
3. Come with steering with button control kind of audio, radio search, etc.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
10 July 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
MUHAMMAD NAZIRUL
Elite AT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.3 km/litre (6.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 700 km/month
    - Good handling under 100km
    - good radio system for a cheap car
    - smooth gear even in a traffic jam
    - fuel efficient (i'm using my car to go back from KL to Seremban frequently and it proved it)
    - comfortable seats and interior (i'm using exclusive edition with leather seats)
    - excellent car for students and new driver who just want to own a new car ( i'm a student)
    - stylish exterior
    - silverstone tyre is not so good (noise)
    - better suspension should be installed
    - bigger fuel tank should be installed (instead 36, it should be 40)
    - luggage space is to small
    - interior should be much better (the interior looks to thin)
To Improve
- luggage space should be bigger
- improve the interior materials
- improve the suspension
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
17 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Christopher
660 BX MT (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    - Functional:
    Throttle works. The brake works. The clutch works. Aircond works. All the light works. The door works.
    - Reliability:
    Over 3 years, all stated above still works. Only thing broke down is the aftermarket security system I installed.
    - Size:
    That glorious moment when the C segment car in front of you gave up a parking space because it can't fit and it's all yours, as well as squeezing through people illegal double parking everywhere.
    - Space:
    Will fit four six-foot tall dudes and a cat. And 3 years supply of cat food at the back. Space for a pair of shoes under each front seats too.
    - Economy:
    24km/L cruising on the highway, 18km/L if doing speed limit + a lot of stuff/people. Cost less than RM300 (so far) to service every year. RM20 roadtax. Cheap insurance.
    - Excitement:
    Felt like a mouse crossing the street. Boring commute become exciting, because it's easy to push the car to the limit, rev to 8k rpm redline for the power, screeching tires to go around corners and still doing civilized speed. Capt. Slow approved.
    - Power:
    Perform like a bus going up hill.
    - Handling:
    Perform like a bus when going around corners
    - Noise:
    What? What did you say?
    - In car entertainment:
    Well, the trip meter seems to change numbers every few seconds...
    - Safety:
    I can has seatbelts!
    - Comfort:
    Butthurt after a long distance. Literally.
To Improve
- 15km/L FC driving in town for a small car seems ridiculous.
- Should come standard with central locking, and a clock.
- An even lower settings for air conditioning. It's a choice between freezing cold at fan speed 1/lowest settings vs off aircond and fog up all windows in the car during a cold rainy day. The aircond is cooooooooold.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
11 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
mar
Elite AT (2007)
Bought new, Owned for 7 Years
Fuel Economy: 20.0 km/litre (5.0 L/100 km), RON95
    -Excellent for city drive
    -Good fuel efficiency, can get up to 20km/l
    -Excellent speaker (just upgraded the HU, and surprisingly, huge different!)
    -Smooth gear
    -Excellent pickup
    -Cheap maintenance
    -Spacious rear legroom
    -Not value for money in terms of quality, design and space
    -poor air condition
    -Poor NVH
    -Thin door
    -Poor handling
    -Power window problem
    -engine sound very loud
    -small boot
    -need to do the alignment every 6 months
To Improve
-upgrade NVH
-install EPS
-Get new engine which is not very loud
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
10 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ahmad Siddiq
Elite AT (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    As an owner who loves and cares the car for around 3 years+ with 150,000 mileage, here's my voiceout:

    Handling: Handling is medicore. Less then excellent. Thank god this car have a power steering. My advise: spend and invest in implementing a front strut bar. You can really, REALLY feel the difference while handling in steep corners and driving really fast. Very less vibrations and driving are very snappy after installing a strut bar.

    Exterior: Well, no further comments about this. I have hit cars and being hitted before with my Viva, and I can conclude that while the exterior is very cheap, it doesnt absorb impact so much. You will be surprised that after a collision that you think its bad, you will find some some scratches only. Front bumper is prone to dislocation after minor impacts. Foglamp is also easy damaged by rocks and other shrapnels. Also, I love the very wide door angle for the doors to open. Very easy to transport wheelchair-bourne person.

    Interior: Not so much complain for a car that is that price. As a quite tall person (180m+), I have to admit that the drivers legroom is not so satistactory. The fabric seats are the excellent perperators once you got something spilled on it. Legroom for back passengers are just enough for some minor movements.

    Power & Engine: The main reason I bought this car. I really love the engine. Being a 1.0 kid, I am more than happy with the engine's performance over the years. I have tested the car on a really steep road (Gunung Berinchang/Gunung Ledang) and have tested the car on an offroad track to orang asli in Kelantan and found the engine does not disappoint me at all. Max top speed is around 160 km/h around 6.5-7k rpm. Fuel consumption is very, very, very good.

    Comfort: Hmm.. this is a car where I can say "OK la" to everything when it comes to the price, including comfort.

    Security: I really recommend owners to change the alarm system after buying. Do not trust the stock alarm at all. It is prone to theft.
    - Aircond sucks. I have to service/refill 5 times in a year (last year). And it still sucks.
    - Body is very thin. Drive safe.
    - Car engine is like a choir's soprano and alto voices combined together. Loud.
    - Look after the suspensions. Treat this car as a little girl, or it will cry everytime u hit a small bump
    - Small bootspace.
    - Cheap car comes with cheap maintenance? You are wrong. This car has a huge pricetag on the maintenance part.
To Improve
Enhance the quality of the car in overall. Too much points to note for a check & balance.
Single DIN player should be swapped to the empty double DIN space.
Bigger tyre. Please.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
9 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
logan
Elite MT (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 8,000 km/month
    Decent power for 1.0(m), very nippy around city, like the handling very much because of aftermarket suspension and braces at the front and back thanks to Ultra Racing and GAB suspensions, cheap to maintain after warranty is over, fuel efficiency is almost like a bike. 4 years of owning the car and never been worried of fuel price.
    Apart from a few glitches here and there.. its a reliable car, changed to bigger 15" rims to get better traction and feel and for safety too.. travel extensively all over malaysia with this car..
    Covered 220000kms so far ;)
    Electronics sucks big time, my car had this problem where it had the engine light turned on whenever i release the clutch from the very first week of owning this car. After a year had another issue of ignition light turned on during the car on the move. When this happens, the timing would be very unstable and in one occasion the car just died while driving. Did a quick reset by unplugging the battery and plugging in back. To solve this, had to go through several re setting at "friendly perodua" service centre. When asked why this problem happening they would say their computer had detected an error and they have cleared the error and it would be fine. But it remained, after the warranty had finished took it back to sc for to the same issue where i was advised to to a full re wyring for the car 0.o.. which i rejected and after a week my radio broke.. when brought bck to perodua, was advised to change the radio.... WTF.. all this happened in 3 n 1/2 years of owning this vehicle. So a word of advise, i anyone had this kind of issues.. go bck to sc and get it resolved immediately.
    Car engine sounds like a diesel engine..
    Fabric on the seat is too thin.. mine tore after 3 years of usage
    No sense of safety at all feel like driving inside an alumanium sheet.
    Chassis feels like its crying each time when pushed above 100km( braces from Ultra racing helps to over come that) apart from safety reasons.
    Engine note is very loud. No proper seal for the engine wall
    And if it rains, the occupants have to shout at each other to be heard.. ( very thin roof)

To Improve
Improve the electronics in the car
Improve the quality and increase the knowledge of sc personals
Reduce the cost of servicing vehicles during warranty
Improve on chasis and sound insulation of vehicle
Improve on safety aspects of the vehicle
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
estee
Elite AT (2011)
Bought used, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    Its own-able price.
    Great exterior finishing.
    Great for city drive.
    Powerful at standstill.
    Easy to maintain and cheap spare parts.
    Not too jerky 4 speed AT
    Cooling aircon system
    Bad Fuel efficiency for city drive.
    Sound systems way TOO Poor...too bad quality
    Very unstable after 100kph
    Suspension too hard on bumps, uneven roads, at stripy road marks will make a very noisy sound to the whole interior.
To Improve
Need better handling, better suspension
Provide better sound system. The current one was total 0 marks
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Albert
850 MT (2007)
Bought new, Owned for 7 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    -Very good fuel consumption
    -Cheap to maintain
    -Very reliable with no breakdowns so far
    -Interior space is adequate for this size of car
    -Very loud noise from the engine
    -Overall finishing is a bit too cheap and plasticky
    -Bad handling
To Improve
-Cut down the amount of plastics in the car and improve the overall quality
-Add more safety features into the car
-Improve noise sealing
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
28 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Tommy
850 MT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    radio-CD player with front door speakers
    Value for Money as city car
    low service & maintenance cost
    fuel consumption RM30 for 230km (city driving) or RM 30 for 270km (highway @ speed 100km/h)
    - small tyre 12-inch steel wheels
    - finishing not solid enough
    - suitable for city drive & bad handling for highway drive (above 100km/h)
To Improve
- noise insulation
- plastic interior
- service centre , waited very long for my car to be serviced
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ahmad Fadhli
Elite AT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 16.1 km/litre (6.2 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 500 km/month
    Revs up really fast
    Fuel Saving
    Easy to parking and cilok in traffic
    Small boot space
    Not so good sound system
    Price for maintenance service too expensive (current price for servicing Viva not so different between servicing Honda City)
To Improve
Hope the body would be much more solid..
Cheaper service maintenance
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ahmad
Elite AT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 900 km/month
    - Small, easy to drive in town
    - Fuel Efficiency at Highway
    - 2014 models have ABS brakes
    - Free 3 Years Services
    - Sound system very bad
    - Noise insulation very bad
    - 2013 model does not have ABS brakes, very disappointed for 2013 owners
To Improve
- Service centre need more improvement
- improve sound system
- improve noise insulation
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
SATTHIYA SEELAN
Elite AT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
RON95
    Easy to drive, low maintenance, easy to park.
    Noisy interior. Cheap plastic interior. Changing the bulb of the front spot light is difficult. Must be sent to shop.
To Improve
single din player could be swapped for a double din player and better sound. Need to improve on the noise insulation. Convert the rear lights to LED like Myvi.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chong
Elite AT (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,800 km/month
    -Very powerful
    -Best size for city drive
    -Easy to parking
    -Easy to control
    -Not safety at all
    -Not stable when you speeding
To Improve
-Have to add more safety system
-I prefer 15' rims for this small car
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
20 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Zachary
Elite AT (2013)
Bought used, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 300 km/month
    -Great Fuel Economy.
    -Low maintenance fee.
    -Price.
    -Overall interior space (quite spacious for a compact car!).
    -Poor handling especially at high speed.
    -Low quality plastic interior.
    -Poor audio quality.
To Improve
These are my personal thoughts after owning a used the Perodua Viva EZi (2007) for a while
-The plastics used as interior could have been better.
-The seats should be firmer. The current ones is too soft for my liking.
-It would be better to have 60:40 folded rear seats.
Yes, I would recommend this car