Honda City
 (4.1/5)
owner rating
from RM 984.92 /month
from RM 73,836.00 to RM 86,983.00

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Honda City - Write an owner review

Do you own the Honda City? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Honda City and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

9 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
2 August 2019
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Mageswaran
1.5 V (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Fuel efficiency is around 11km/l in full city drive with high volume traffic. Highway drive the best I got was 17.5km/l when you drive around 110km/hr.
    Max speed is as good as Civic.
    Very spacious.
    Very powerful engine, very good acceleration.
    Very reliable engine, Used it for close to 2 years. Just service the car periodically and use.
    NVH is very good for a B segment car.
    Infortainment with 6 speakers, Sound system good.
    Comes with leather seats.
    Steering very light good for city drive.
    Very large boot.
    Paddle shift response is excellent...very good for overtaking cars. When you use paddle shift, the accelaration is instantaneous.
    Suspension is very hard. To much movement when travelling fast on the highway. Gives body ache sometimes.
    Head unit has been downgraded from the previous generation.
    When using the handsfree, the person on the other end can't hear me clearly and always complain got interference.
    The seat is short and extension to the back is short.I had problem with this because I couldn't stretch my leg. I am 170cm tall.
To Improve
Please put back the before facelift City head unit. I don't understand Honda why they have facelift and then they downgrade certain stuff. Not a very healthy practice.
Please improve suspension to match the speed this car can go. Even at 110km/hr, the suspension is very floaty.
The seat length could be improved as the cabin is so spacious.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
17 July 2019
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Edwin
1.5 Hybrid (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 18.0 km/litre (5.6 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    Performance - A very powerful 1.5 NA engine combined with Electric Motor with a 7-speed iDCD transmission.
    Handling and Comfort - Better than Honda City GM6 FL 1.5V's
    Legroom - A lot more spacious than Mazda 2 including cargo space
    3D Iluminated Meter Cluster - Direct and Clear Multi Info Display
    - 6.8-inch double-DIN head unit with reverse camera isn’t the best in the class and is less user friendly compared to the old seven-inch GM6 model.
    - No curtain airbags
    - lack of the City GM6 FL V’s LED headlamps and foglamps
    - No USB charging port for rear passenger
    - Urethane Steering
    - 4 speakers only
To Improve
- Provide USB charging port for rear passenger like how Honda CR-V is.
- Head unit with reverse camera
- NVH
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
17 July 2019
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Rodzi
1.5 E (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.7 km/litre (6.4 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Good engine performance
    Handling & suspension yg mantap
    Very responsive gearbox
    Pickup masa overtake
    NVH terbaik
    Ada bunyi rattling pd tingkap depan
    Gap antara bumper besar
    Infotainment system tiada slot untuk DVD player
To Improve
Penambahbaikan kawalan kualiti semasa pemasangan di kilang
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
17 July 2019
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jack
1.5 S (2016)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 500.0 km/litre (0.2 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 1,100 km/month
    - fuel consumption for this car is crazy (drove around the city & some highway can easily give me >500km per tank)
    - foldable rear seat
    - engine performance of this car is great, pickup is good due lightweight & can easily reach 180km/hr
    - had better accessories compare with Pre FL version (DRL, keyless, sport rim, bluetooth audio etc)
    - lot of after market accessories for modification
    - The build quality of this car is just another myvi level (I'm lucky to have a batch without OBVIOUS bumper gap (but still have some) & rear absorber problem) but suffer some seat rattling noise in driver & passenger seat (got it to fix when on 10k service)
    - got the S spec so only 2 airbags
    - don't expect handling much from this car as it really builds for city usage & tyre width is 175 on stock rim (noticiable improvement after installed UR Rear ARB)
    - NVH is poor esspecially when go through some newly built road, the rocks noise around your trye is terrible
    - is very common in MY everywhere you can at least meet 2 Honda City around
To Improve
- really gotta improve on the NVH & build quality of this car thou I got this car price <70k so it still acceptable for me
- service speed really have to improve (went to 4S Imavest SC to fix my seat rattling issue, they have to use 1 day to verify the problem & do another appointment to repair & replace the problem) can't imagine if I go to a smaller SC
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
17 July 2019
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Lim
1.5 Hybrid (2016)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 26.0 km/litre (3.8 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,800 km/month
    (a) I bought the car on 31.07.2018. Fuel economy is great where I can go about 1,011 km (1st full tank and refill 37.69 litre), 1,017 km (2nd full tank and refill 38.27 litre), 967 km (3rd full tank and refill 37.19 litre) where ECON mode is on, 1,017 km (4th full tank and refill 38.01 litre) and 943 km (5th full tank and refill 38.25 litre). I got another car also to drive for work and normally I drive the cars alternate very day.

    (b) I’m gentle in driving where I drive 150km daily from Kuching-Serian-Kuching or 75 km one way, where 35 km in town area and 40 km in ‘highway’ (Sarawak context) and my speed normally not more than 100 km/h (because of road condition and traffic flow).

    (c) I like the front look and LED tail-lamp, this car interior is spacious, and touchscreen or infotainment are user friendly. It has rear air-vent, charging port and information meter are easy to operate or read.

    (d) The combination between 1.5L NA engine, hybrid battery system and 7-speed DCT gear are smooth, good performance, efficient and responsive.
    (a) Fit and finish still can improve because got gap here and there and many hard plastics inside the car.

    (b) No spare tyre (but got tyre temporary repair kit) for Honda City Hybrid.

    (c) I agreed with other user comments where ECO mode is not suitable for 1,500cc car, it will make the car feel sluggish and at the end need to accelerate more to ‘move’ the car. For me no much different between ECO mode on or off and please read my first comment above.

    (d) No front parking sensors, no car recorder, no front and rear fog lamp .

    (e) Engine is loud while speed up in sudden.

    (f) Should give option for LED head light also
To Improve
Improve all the cons.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
17 July 2019
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Lim
1.5 Hybrid (2016)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 26.0 km/litre (3.8 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,800 km/month
    (a) I bought the car on 31.07.2018. Fuel economy is great where I can go about 1,011 km (1st full tank and refill 37.69 litre), 1,017 km (2nd full tank and refill 38.27 litre), 967 km (3rd full tank and refill 37.19 litre) where ECON mode is on, 1,017 km (4th full tank and refill 38.01 litre) and 943 km (5th full tank and refill 38.25 litre). I got another car also to drive for work and normally I drive the cars alternate very day.

    (b) I’m gentle in driving where I drive 150km daily from Kuching-Serian-Kuching or 75 km one way, where 35 km in town area and 40 km in ‘highway’ (Sarawak context) and my speed normally not more than 100 km/h (because of road condition and traffic flow).

    (c) I like the front look and LED tail-lamp, this car interior is spacious, and touchscreen or infotainment are user friendly. It has rear air-vent, charging port and information meter are easy to operate or read.

    (d) The combination between 1.5L NA engine, hybrid battery system and 7-speed DCT gear are smooth, good performance, efficient and responsive.
    (a) Fit and finish still can improve because got gap here and there and many hard plastics inside the car.

    (b) No daytime running light and no spare tyre (but got tyre temporary repair kit) for Honda City Hybrid.

    (c) I agreed with other user comments where ECO mode is not suitable for 1,500cc car, it will make the car feel sluggish and at the end need to accelerate more to ‘move’ the car. For me no much different between ECO mode on or off and please read my first comment above.

    (d) No front parking sensors and no car recorder.

    (e) Engine is loud while speed up in sudden.

    (f) City Hybrid should give option for LED head light also.
To Improve
Please improve all the cons......
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
15 December 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Stanley
1.5 V (2016)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.5 km/litre (7.4 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    1. Style - The front aggression look of the car, and the cool LED headlamp and tail-lamp.
    2. Performance - Consider powerful for a 1.5l NA-car, its even more powerful than 1.6l car. I own a 2005 waja 1.6A and test drove my friend’s 2014 Persona 1.6A, both of it can’t match up with City.
    3. Handling - handling is alright, although the ride is on the hard side but high speed stability still floaty.
    4. NVH - it’s alright for a car in this segment, but it’s quieter than most of the car in the is segment.
    5. Fit and finish - the material for the cabin in 1.5v variant makes it feel more premium.
    6. Design of the cabin is stylish.
    1. The seating position is high and the bench of the seat is short, no and comfortable for a tall person.
    2. Even with the high seating position and I’m a 180cm guy, due to the design of the car I’m unable to see the hood of the car which difficult to jugde while manoveur.(trust me, go and have a try it!)
    3. It’s not a comfortable car for a tall person, short bench and high seating position.
    4. The ugly duck tail spoiler integrated with 3rd brake light for top variant.
To Improve
Solve all the cons.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
12 October 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Louis
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.5 km/litre (8.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    -Spacious
    -Touchscreen infotainment (compared to Toyota Vios 2014 still using manual radio)
    -Exterior
    -Rear air-vent & charging port
    -After sales service
    -No daytime running light
    -Suspension (I can always feel the vehicle is floating up & down while driving on cleared highway speed 120kmh)
    -Spare tyre (smaller size & no ori rim)
    -Engine is so loud while speed up in sudden
    -Interior too many hard plastic
To Improve
Suspension & more advanced technology like Korean car
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
3 August 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
azman
1.5 V (2016)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    -Good NVH (Compared with previous gen and other b-segment model)
    -Good FC, 1st tank can get good FC already. No need to wait 1000km la, 10000km la, until 1st service la..15km/l-17km/l..mix highway, traffic jam,long car park with idle engine and town driving..
    -Good handling (Compared with previous gen and other b-segment model)
    -Good and comfort full leather seat, the leather smell will stick with you even after u leave the car and seat also not really hot if park under the sun if compare with semi leather or pvc seat
    -Nice design and features for V Variant, white led headlamp & projector lamp + rear led light. Looks like premium RM100k++ car during night time.
    -Acceptable rear aircond blower.
    -Good NVH, but tyre and tarmac/small stone hit under body noise quite apparent
    -Some of the fit and finish could be improve, however still acceptable as long as not make apparent rattle noise.
    -ECO not suitable to for 1500cc car, it will makes car feel very sluggish and at the end will worsen FC since need to accelerate more. Different from ECO in accord, still acceptable and bring better FC. Turn off ur City ECO and blend with CVT character, then it will be very efficient and responsive.
    -No front parking sensor, new persona have it
    -No reverse parking aid & no HD camera (Camera quite blur sometimes)
To Improve
If compare with Civic or Accord, yes, some items could be improve. However if compare with other B-sgement, Mazda 2, vios, persona and especially with super uncle+stone age features+tech car, almera. City is the best B-Segment Car, value for money regardless which ever variant (But it would be perfect if you buy V-Spec)
Yes, I would recommend this car

Honda City's Competitors