Honda City
 (4.5/5)
expert rating
 (4.2/5)
owner rating
No Longer On Sale
from RM 1,012.85 /month
from RM 75,930.00 to RM 89,240.00
Find Honda City Dealers

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Honda City - Write an owner review

Do you own the Honda City? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Honda City and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

53 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
3 September 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Fabius
1.5 S+ (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
Fuel Economy: 30.0 km/litre (3.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 600 km/month
    -smooth on the highway
    - big legroom as well as head room
    - cold aircond
    -low noise engine
    -have a decent boot space
    - the engine have much power that me in highway , ain't notice 80 to 140 kmh in just a few sec.
    -i don't know how people view this car, but i feel safe within this car its feel like the quality is very decent
    What i don't like about the car is, that
    1) if you a short driver like myself, its quite trouble to watch the bck while reverse because the back quite high
    (Im 163, im guess anyone over 167 is okay as my brother doesn't to have problem with back view..
    2) ive owned Toyota vios before, compare to fuel consumption, i love vios better.
    3)(my opinion) handling quite soft, previously i drove my 2011 toyota vios, it feel slightly heavy but interms of City, it quite soft..
    4)slow response in acceleration.. ive notice that response while im revving through highway quite slow but its however better than vios
    5) rear absorber, quite soft.. ive brought my 3 member of my family ( they sit at rear) weight average about 56kg each, but when i run into some holes /bump, always rear part bump hits the tyre look like my city very lowered..
To Improve
-Please bring back the paddle shift
- bring back the rear disc brake
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 March 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Fabius
1.5 S+ (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
Fuel Economy: 30.0 km/litre (3.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 600 km/month
    -smooth on the highway
    - big legroom as well as head room
    - cold aircond
    -low noise engine
    -have a decent boot space
    - the engine have much power that me in highway , ain't notice 80 to 140 kmh in just a few sec.
    -i don't know how people view this car, but i feel safe within this car its feel like the quality is very decent
    What i don't like about the car is, that
    1) if you a short driver like myself, its quite trouble to watch the bck while reverse because the back quite high
    (Im 163, im guess anyone over 167 is okay as my brother doesn't to have problem with back view..
    2) ive owned Toyota vios before, compare to fuel consumption, i love vios better.
    3)(my opinion) handling quite soft, previously i drove my 2011 toyota vios, it feel slightly heavy but interms of City, it quite soft..
    4)slow response in acceleration.. ive notice that response while im revving through highway quite slow but its however better than vios
    5) rear absorber, quite soft.. ive brought my 3 member of my family ( they sit at rear) weight average about 56kg each, but when i run into some holes /bump, always rear part bump hits the tyre look like my city very lowered..
To Improve
-Please bring back the paddle shift
- bring back the rear disc brake
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 December 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Peter
1.5 V (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.5 km/litre (6.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - good fuel efficiency
    - comfortable ride
    - 'v' variant comes with many modern features that jive with the current generation's tech savvy mindset.
    - for a car of 1.5l , it provides much power under the hood and the engine seems ever ready to run , going uphill is a cinch for the city.
    - passenger legroom is spacious which comes along with a spacious boot.
    - air conditioning is good for our hot and humid Malaysian weather. The extra 2 air cond vents for back passengers is a plus.
    - sound system ( 8 speakers ) is good.
    - CVT transmission is smooth.
    - Exterior of the car looks classy.
    - Overall build quality is good.
    - Superb safety features for the 'v' variant.
    - CVT transmission is smooth , but could be smoother.
    - interior has a large amount of plastic in certain areas , however overall build quality is good.
    - exterior sound insulation could be better as the sounds are still rather intrusive which is not expected for a car with it's price tag.
    - Engine wise , for a car with 1500cc to generate 126 bhp , is commendable , but could perhaps be a little better.
To Improve
- Engine wise , I am sure most would not complain , but perhaps instead of using a SOHC engine , a DOHC engine of the same cubic capacity could produce higher performance.
- Cabin noise insulation could be better.
- CVT transition while smooth , could be better.
- Cosmetics wise , as this is the highest variant , I don't think it would hurt to install daytime LED running lights at the front beside the fog lamps.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 December 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
wai
1.5 V (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
RON95, Mileage: 400 km/month
    Fuel economy- can up to 20km/l during highway drive
    Spacious Cabin and large boot
    Smooth gearbox
    Rear air cond
    Cruise control
    Keyless entry and touch panel air cond
    Great safety feature - 6 air bags, stability control, hill start assistance, brake assistance
    Warning sound for hand break release, particular useful for those always forget to release hand break
    Road noise very loud when cruising on highway
    Cheap plastic material and poor assembly quality resulted sound from dashboard and steering cover from first day I collect my car
    Although CVT provide smooth driving experience but acceleration feel like no power
    No alarm
    No auto lock
To Improve
Rear parking camera, Thailand version got rear camera but Malaysia version didn't have
Paddle shift
2 rear power socket should change to USB
Real disc break
Suspension, to reduce road noise
Adjustable headlight
Front parking sensor
Auto-lock
Improve fabric seat quality
Improve local assembly quality control and use better quality material
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 August 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Brandon
1.5 E (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Endless options for modification
    Respectable fuel efficiency.. Starts of with 10km/l out of the showroom and gradually climbs till about 15km/l
    Good rear legroom
    Large boot can fit alot of stuff
    Stock engine accelerates easily to 140km/h
    Aircon works well with Malaysian weather
    CVT lags a little but is still acceptable
    *FYI my car is not even 1 month old at this point in time

    Skinny tires not that stable and easy to get out of alignment... I had to align my wheels after the 1st week (I didn't even hit a deep pothole) ! Of course do it at tyre shop. Honda SC charges a ridiculous RM50 for a simple procedure
    Suspension is soft and bounces all over the place when going over a bump or uneven roads
    Poor soundproofing for exterior noises - road and wind noise quite noticeable
    Original head lamps not as bright as I like at night
    Lack of add ons such as rear view camera, daylight LED, touch screen media compared to toyota vios which gives them FOC
    Basic safety features - below V version only gets 2 airbags
    Plastic bumper sags if you add on body kit or give it a little knock .. the gap between the body and bumper is very noticeable and ugly. No permanent fix except to replace clips every few years. I don't see this issue on the vios for example
    Ugly rims.. the 16" alloy Jazz rims look better IMO
To Improve
Improve noise insulation
Find a way to solve that awful bumper sag
Provide wider tires for better stability and reduce chances for tire misalignment
Give more accessories la.. don't be so stingy

Despite the issues above I still recommend the car as a basic daily driver. But you probably have to add on a few grand to get the looks and performance you desire.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 July 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Aaron
1.5 V (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 550.0 km/litre (0.2 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    Fuel Economy (Average 14.5km/l - 15.5km/l)
    Keyless Entry
    Rear Air Cond
    Spacious Cabin
    Big Storage Boot
    Sporty Look Design
    Nice Rim V-Spec
    Suspension Soft
    Rattle Sound during bumpy road or surface
    Front bumpy got gap sooner or later
    Drum rear break
    No Rear Anti-Roll Bar
To Improve
Projector Headlamp
Paddle Shift
Rear Disc Break
Improve NVH
Improve Suspension
Better stock tyres (Continental or Michelin)
HUD for Speed
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 June 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
jeremy
1.5 E (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    Fuel economy.
    Good acceleration.
    Keyless entry.
    Rear aircond.
    spacious legroom.
    Smooth electrical steering.
    Fog light only for V variant.
    Low quality original tyre.
    Obvious noise from tyre eventhough change original tyre to michelin.
    Very bumpy on the back seat. Poor suspension.
    Only 2 airbags.
    Power window squeeky sound in new car.
To Improve
Noise sound proof.
Lover the price by 10k.
Increase number of airbag. atleast 4.
improve suspensions.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
12 January 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Tan
1.5 V (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 16.0 km/litre (6.3 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    Very spacious espescially rear seats
    Rear air cond vents
    Engine quite smooth and responsive
    Good fc I had tried travel from kl to malacca with speeds 140-160 all the way and I even manage 14.8km per litre
    Easily reach 190kmh which is top speed
    Good handling
    Wind noise is quite noisy when cruising on the highway. Road noise is also quite noisy mainly cause by the tyre.
    Handbrake sometimes too hard
    Suspension quite stiff when over bump
To Improve
Add leather and paddle shift as same as thailand spec
NVH and road noise could be improve
Tyre width could be increase to r16 195 or r16 205 as the original tyre r16 185 is not thick enough
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
4 January 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Dean
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    The external design of the car.
    Spacious cabin & rear boot.
    Great meter cluster & dashboard layout.
    Reasonable low fuel consumption.
    Comfortable seats.
    Rear aircond is good at least in reducing stress for front aircond blower to cool off the whole interior cabin (even though the wind blow not strong).
    The engine & gearbox seems work well.
    Handling is better compared to previous generation Honda City.
    Seat fabric easily tear off. I only drive the car for 7 months but the seat covers showing like being abused for years. BTW i am normal driver & not abusing the car interior.
    My car aircond can smell outside smokes & smells eventhough the air circulation set for indoor. Sent for fix in SC & they said due to poor aircond installation by factory. Take me a day leave from work :(
    Low quality paint job. Gaps in certain areas.
    Dashboard have big gap against the left A pillar. A child can put things inside the gap when the left door opens & afraid it will damage things inside the dashboard.
    Rattle sound from the dashboard when drive on potholes or over road bumps.
    Squeaking sounds at rear seats area. Have comes for fix at SC by took out the seats, tighten few brackets & screws and install it back but a month later the sound appears again (louder).
    SC not opened on Sunday.
    Non safe keyless push start security alarm. I lost my car due to theft infront of my house. Information received from authority & insurance people that nowadays the thief can hijack your Honda alarm & keyless system via a wireless hacking device.
To Improve
Make sure your keyless & push start security system reliable & truely safe.
Better quality for seat fabrics. Perodua seat fabrics quality is better than Honda City.
Better paint job.
Please look back on your manufacturing line QC. Pity to the SC & giving hard time to customers need to go back & forth fixing low quality assembly by the factory. Don't rush on quantity of cars produced while the quality becomes worst.
To open your SC on Sunday.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
3 December 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Kian Tat
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,400 km/month
    Good Handling: Minimal body roll when cornering. Good and light steering. Stable when cruising at speed.
    Fuel economy: 14 km/L mostly city driving
    ECON mode: Normally drive in ECON mode. Help to regulate throttle control for smoother and more economic drive.
    SPORT mode: Great for overtaking (no need paddle shifter)
    Enough power: Does not leave me wanting more power.
    Smooth CVT gearbox: Smooth acceleration and keep the rpm low when cruising.
    Good sound insulation: minimum noise intrusion from engine and environment.
    Cruise control
    Comfortable seats
    Specious cabin
    Large booth
    Air-con is very good: No need to full blast during hot noon time.
    Rear air-con vents
    Good meter cluster design: Look cool and functional.
    Touch screen is great
    Good sound system
    Bluetooth smartphone connectivity is easy to setup and use: Great for making and receiving calls.
    Keyless entry and START button
    Stock tires are bad. Changed to Michelin XM2 and immediately feel a big different. Ride is more comfortable, more grip and less tire rolling noise.
    The shiny dashboard material and the touch screen is a dust magnet. Need to wipe every few day to keep them clean.
    The dark seat fabric is also a dust magnet and it is difficult to clean.
To Improve
Leather seat.
Lighter interior colour choice. The current all black interior is hard to keep clean.
Rear disk brake.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
1 October 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Mohammad
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON95
    There are lots of pros for this car which I think almost all reviewers have already mentioned, all I would like to add is that its a good car and performs well under normal circumstances. With the new pearl ruby red it takes the wow value to a higher level.
    Apart from its usual goodness there are several cons that could have been avoided while still keeping the price tag intact. Some of the most important drawback to this car are:
    - Cheap and flimsy plastic used for dashboard as well as the underside of the steering wheel
    - The car while idle is very quite however due to big gaps between joints or the door, the bonnet, the engine cover etc it becomes noisy at speed around 100km/h
    - the gaps could have been reduced during manufacturing and because of the gaps dry leaves and debris tend to get stuck in between and it becomes hard to take them out.
    - the cover below the handbrake is not properly fitted and there is a big gap from where you can see the underside of the car.
    - The fitting cover above the cup holders does not fit properly and leaves big gag that are not aesthetic and spoil the overall look of the interior as well make the interior noisy.
    - Few other minor details that Honda seems to have either overlooked or just let it be for cost reduction reasons
To Improve
The thing that needs immediate attention is to reduce the gaps, use good quality plastic material and make sure the covers all fit properly.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
11 August 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Syafiq
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 17.5 km/litre (5.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    - Very economical, highly recommended for long journey.
    - Good handling.
    - Very good speakers albeit just 4 given.
    - Steering feels light, easy to control.
    - Rear vents somehow helps rear passengers to cool down although the blower is slow.
    - Big boot space (!)
    - AUX, USB, 3 (yes,3!) car charger socket.
    - Wind noise when driving at high speeds, tone up your radio will reduce the noise.
    - Dashboard rattles at bad surface roads.
    - Seats are not for long journey, change to leather seats might fix it.
    - Gap at bumpers, fenders and rear boot.
    - A-Pillars are quite big, check your left or right twice before turning because you might trapped in 'A-Pillars zone'.
To Improve
- Change to leather seats.
- Bigger blower for rear vents.
- Bigger tires for lower spec model.
- Fix bumper, fenders and boot gap.
- Fix rattling noise.
- Better noise proofing.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
12 July 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jasjit
1.5 V (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 6.8 km/litre (14.7 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    Well, mainly as a driver, the only great thing about this car is that it is cheap as the price of the car is under RM90k for the V spec model and the comfort in the car is really good for a Honda as compared to the previous Honda city.

    The things that I really like are the HDMI function in the car, the Honda link lcd monitor, keyless go and start system, digital auto climate control and basically that's it.

    A few minor things like opening the car booth from the back of the car and from the remote are also good but not impressive as even most protons have that function.

    The interior feels quite premium and it's definitely better than any Other Japanese car out there.
    Well, the list just keeps on going. This 1.5 litre car is "supposed" to be fuel efficient. That's what many of you would think, but From the time I had the car till now, my average fuel consumption is 14 litres/100 km which is atrocious as compared to my Mercedes A class which is a 2.0 litre turbocharged engine which can give me around 6.8 litres/100 km.

    I don't know, maybe it's my driving but I'm a really fast driver and this brings me to my second problem which is the car just bloody won't move when I press the accelerator fully in. I know it's a Honda but I really expected more from this car because its predecessor. It's all thanks to Hondas new CVT ( continuous variable transmission) . It's just makes this 117 horsepower car feel like it has 60 or 70 horsepower. But if you're a calm and relax driver and drive like a real uncle or aunty who don't overtake and don't try to beat the traffic lights, it's perfect.

    Another thing which I really hate about the car is that when the revs are high, the noise is so loud, I can't hear myself think..... Lack of auto lock when driving,auto headlight and auto wipers, auto folding mirror, reverse camera and leather seats are specs that should be there in the car as of this 21st century. I'm just saying that maybe buying an old second hand Bmw or Mercedes would be better than this car. You get the style, luxury and quality of a German car. I would stop here for now but I have tons of more complaints
To Improve
Leather seats
Auto headlights
Auto wipers
Auto lock when car in motion
Daytime driving lights
Projector xenon lights
Broader tyres
BETTER TRANSMISSION
Sound proofing
Maybe add a turbo to reduce fuel consumption and increase power
Stiffer suspension so that going through corners will be better
Led 3rd brake light
Led rear lights
Better interior lighting scheme
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
24 January 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
ferron
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
RON97, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    - Great engine with smooth throttle response for a 1.5
    - Spacious, stylish and comfy interior with plenty of legroom and headroom.
    - Fuel efficient and most of the time i just leave the ECON mode on as it gives me enough power for my daily driving.
    - Well designed car with rugged and sporty look.
    - 6 airbags, VSA, ABS, hill start assist and many more features some of which are unavailable on other car in it's class.
    - Huge boot space is a plus.
    - No paddle shifts
    - Rear aircond is more of a show as the aircond has to be turned on higher to really feel anything
    - No projector lamps
    - The centre console is a dust magnet
To Improve
- Bring back some of the storage compartments in the older models such as the umbrella storage compartment beneath the rear seat
- Give us a 17" sport rims options already please. 16" is neither there nor here.
- Official Mugen kits for Malaysian market. Why are we always the one to lose out when Thailand and Philippine market gets to enjoy them??
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
10 January 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ernerst
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 8.6 km/litre (11.6 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 700 km/month
    The Honda City is a great all round subcompact car. It's a nice car to live with it everyday. This car is good at performance, comfortable to drive and kinda good in looks.

    The City has a good looking exterior. It looks nice and fairly modern with the new design language. The whole car is designed to reduce drag as much as possible. The strong character line is striking and it slashes through the side of the car to the rear lights. The rear lights do look like BMW's rear lights, but without the LED strips.

    The City is good at performance, picking up speeds and overtaking. The power comes in after you presses down the right pedal. The CVT is quite good either. It virtually simulate a conventional automatic with gear changes, as it uses a torque converter so some gear changing feel of conventional auto is present but it's still smooth when running. With a flick to the 'S' gear, the CVT will virtually simulate driving with a high ratio gear, great for overtaking.

    Fuel consumption for me is not good because I drive mostly in the heart of George Town, all city driving (pun not intended). Penangites will know. Driving in Penang Island, especially in George Town is mostly stop and go and then stop traffic, so fuel consumption is quite good with the help of the ECON button by decreasing the responsiveness of the throttle pedal to make you drive more efficiently. I managed to drive up to 9km/l, but below the 10km/l mark, with some driving on the highway. The steering wheel is light, great for driving in town, maneuver through traffics and parking in spaces.

    The ride and handling is quite good too. Making those rapid corner turns more safer with the help of electronic stability control. The engine and wind noise is kept out very good when cruising below 80km/h, but still good when going up to 100km/h. The engine noise will be heard when revving up, but it's still low.

    The car is comfortable to ride in it. The speakers are quite good, while it's only 4. Bluetooth phone connectivity and music streaming is present here with the media player. Syncing the phonebook and history to the media player makes you more easy to contact people without the need of using phone. Control buttons on the steering wheel is also a nice touch to it. Although there's no auto air con here, but buttons and knobs are easier to use while driving. The cabin is spacious with the rear seat has the best legroom. Rear air con is a nice addition too.

    This model features the 60:40 foldable rear seats, a nice feature when carrying long items. The boot is huge and deep, I mean really huge, you can literally fit a person inside. The huge boot is good for carrying many items.
    Although halogen headlamps are quite good, but if it's fitted with xenon headlamps is even better. Fog lamps are absent here, making driving on heavily raining night a little challenging.

    While this car has good performance, but the CVT make you feel it limits the engine performance. CVT pulley effect is still here but not that frequent. With the ECON mode on, you can't really make full use of the high torque and power of the engine. The ECON mode doesn't do much as it make the pedal not that responsive only, nothing much.

    While the media player is nice, but the monotone display is small and it's hard to see when driving under the bright 12pm sun. Although there're 4 speakers, but there're holes for the speaker for the top of the line V spec beside the door knob. It makes people confuse those speaker are whether in use. The cabin is nice and good in looks, but the dashboard and door panels all uses hard plastics. Some fabric is fitted on the door panel but there's not even a soft touch material like rubber on the dash. Having electronic retractable wing mirrors is nice, but it's offset and not evenly open and closes up together after a few months of using this feature. The right responds slower just half a second with the left when it's brand new, but now it's slower 2 to 3 seconds. It's getting a little annoyed now.

    Although rear legroom is huge but the slopping roofline makes headroom is quite limited. I'm about 1.65m high and my head is almost touching the roofline. The foldable rear seat is a nice feature, but it's not evenly flat with the boot floor when folded down, thus creating a hump.
To Improve
Xenon headlamps are a nice addition if optional and fog lamps is a nice feature to have on higher spec cars. Steering wheel with paddle shifters is also a great feature to have.
Increase numbers of airbags from 2 to 4 for mid spec cars.
Add some USB chargers instead of 3 accessories sockets.
Offset of electronic retractable wing mirrors hope can be fix as Honda service said they can't do anything with this problem
Better quality plastic and more soft touch materials
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
16 December 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Yoong Seng
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 16.0 km/litre (6.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    - Quiet. No vibration when car is idle
    -fast pick up. When driving it can easily climb up to 110 to 120km/h
    -Good FC. I have been driving during high traffic jam in city and highway
    - Spacious (inside & boot)
    - Bluetooth hand free. It will auto off radio when receive/answering call
    - Nice car design. It look so cool and fulfill modern design
    - Rear air condition is good to have.
    -Econ mode. It cause the car lacking of power and it seem don't give better FC if turn it on.
    -No alarm. Cannot find car in car park.
    -Lacking of security. Car able to drive even without keyless remote after start the engine. Should have stop the engine after 20 meter without keyless remote.
    -No auto lock door when driving car
    -Should have rear camera
To Improve
-auto fold mirror when turn off engine
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
16 October 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jason
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    - Decent engine and well performing when going uphill. Love the note of the engine sound during acceleration, tho it's a 1.5L.
    - Many gadgets to play with such as auto-cruise, touch screen module, bluetooth audio/handsfree, VSC, econ mode, etc. especially with the the V-grade.
    - Quiet cabin and privacy. Almost absorbed external sound and outsider could hardly see your items due to deeper cabin floor, thus more secured from being theft.
    - A peace of mind babe. 6-airbags and many more safety features available.
    - Sharp handling especially on tight corners.
    - Impressive rear leg room. Can be your boss chauffeur.
    - Respectable fuel consumption for a non-hybrid car.
    - Longer service interval 10,000km.
    - Fabric upholstery (it's a little bit slippery material) It should have come with optional leather for V-grade.
    - Front seat does not support the whole thigh.
    - No rear parking camera.
    - Less storage space especially the middle storage
    - Touch screen module doesn't support Android phone. Why?
    - No makeup mirror light for front passenger.
To Improve
- Engine noise especially on sudden picking up. It sounded like a 2-tonnes lorry.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
4 September 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
mk
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,100 km/month
    -nice design
    -huge boot sizes
    -nice handling & good pickup
    -responsive touch screen air-con panel that feel hi-tech
    -cruise control
    -great features of safety - 6 air bags + VSC
    -rear air-con
    -nice CVT with this 1.5L i-vtec engine
    -feel bumpy, suspension too soft
    -should include reverse camera like other country like thailand & taiwan
    -econ mode feels lack of function to give fuel efficiency instead of just turn it off
    -rear-air con is like more show to go, passenger does not feel cool unless air-con open to max
    -rear leg room is good but shoulder not enough wide
    -dashboard rattling sound, sound proofing and wind noise
    -CKD gap issues
To Improve
-improve quality of CKD to reduce gap issues and dashboard rattling sound
-projector light & DRL should be included at this price range
-HU should be have more function etc able to play DVD + gps nav
-reverse camera & auto dimming rear mirror is a must features
-Change a quieter stock tire to reduce NVD
-add blower to rear air-con to boost air faster to backside & make dual-zone climate control
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
11 July 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
sudonano
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    This is probably the best B segment car you could buy, hands down. If you are looking for a B segment sedan, regardless if it is Japanese or German (Polo Sedan), you must pay the Honda dealer a visit. You will be amazed.

    The space in this car is really amazing. I wonder till today how on earth Honda was doing it, considering the car is not that big on the outside. With the driver seat set to a person of about 5 feet 10" (my height), I could easily sit behind myself with a lot of knee room that could make the Polo Sedan really worried. In fact, at no point did I feel claustrophobic in this car. They did not sacrifice the boot space either, though I do have to bring up the part where the City does not use gas struts at the boot like on a Proton Persona which is a bit sad, as the metal hinges actually eat a bit into the cargo space. However it is still not too bad.

    Fit and finish is significantly better than the last City, and miles better than the Vios and Almera. The leather-like material in front of the front passenger is a nice touch, unlike the fake stitching on some of the competition. However this is only on the highest grade.

    The touchscreen unit is very easy to use and responsive. It's good that Honda did not get a locally sourced touchscreen like some other brands like Hyundai as some of the local ones are a bit nasty. The touch aircon controls on the range topper is also a cool touch and pretty responsive to use, it's nice that there is a climatronic unit as you can control the temp better.

    The steering is nice and light, making it super easy to park this car. I would say even a P plate user will be able to park it without much drama. Visibility is really good too, which is very important. In the city and slow speeds the CVT is fabulous, with really smooth performance. Despite the use of an iVTEC engine which is famed for it's high revving performance but low down lack of power and torque, it doesn't feel too bad on the City. At no point did I feel it was underpowered. Getting to highway speeds is pretty easy with not much drama, there is good pickup in the car.

    The cruise control is a big plus point especially for long distances, paired with the effortless power train it would be a very relaxing drive. The cabin is quite quiet for most of the time, and the suspension is tuned for comfort, so you don't feel the bumps.

    Brakes are also pretty decent. Despite Honda's move to rear drums, it has not affected the braking performance and feels pretty fine to me. In terms of safety, Honda has beat everyone as they offer a class leading 6 airbags, with VSA and all those gizmos to make you safe. It is a glaring omission in the Polo Sedan, Vios and Almera that they don't have any of these safety bits, at least the VW does have side seat airbags, but not curtain airbags. Feature count is impressive for the price, as you also get a KESSY (Keyless Entry and Start System), which I personally feel should be on every car, as in an emergency, you can run to the car and drive off, without fumbling for keys.
    A glaring omission was that there is no satnav in the touchscreen unit. That was a bit disappointing but is not a deal breaker as a Honda dealer told I could get it dealer installed for about 2k MYR. Or you could get a Garmin unit done too. Also there is no reverse camera as standard on any models but again, this could be a done by a dealer too for about 500 ringgit only.

    Another glaring omission is the lack of automatic lights and wipers, something the Fiesta has. I would have preferred if it came with it. There is no paddle shifter in this version too, though it was not too missed, since the CVT is gearless and pretty good anyway.

    The steering is light and the suspension is soft too, good for comfort, but this has a compromise in terms of handling. It doesn't handle like a Honda that much, not very pin sharp, but then again this is a family compact car. It's not pretending to be a race car so it's fine.

    The CVT, as usual, when you floor it, can get the engine to be rowdy and noisy as it holds RPMs. This is a bit disconcerting but for the most part you won't do this as it has decent overtaking power.

    Also it is a bit pitiful that most of the tech and safety is more the top end variant, and not even for the upper middle spec. It would have been better for Honda to have VSA as standard and side and curtain airbags for at leafs the E and V grade.

    I am not too sure of the exterior styling of the City too, in the new iteration. The rear looks so like a 3 series, while the front painted silver (whatever Honda calls it platinum finish, it is still painted plastic) is a bit ugly. It would be nice if Honda introduced a different grille, similar to the Modulo grille for the CRV with the big Honda logo sitting proud on top of a honeycomb grille.

    While there is no free parts service (only alternate free labour service), it is not too expensive. But Honda should have come up with a capped price plan as this is a price sensitive part of the market.
To Improve
Introduce a capped service plan. That would attract more people. Also introduce auto lights and wipers into the V spec at least. In addition make VSA a standard fit and give side bags for the E grade too. They could drop the S and start off with the S+ as the hubcaps are a bit insulting. A retuned suspension and steering could make it a bit more exciton too, and have satnav in.

But if not, this is a bit nitpicking. It is a brilliant car, and if at all you do get one, get the V spec. It's really a steal.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
10 July 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
phoon
1.5 E (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,800 km/month
    - great safety features for B-segment - airbags & stability control
    - fuel economical: 12-13KM/L for city drive, 14-15KM/L for highway drive
    - low engine noise, CVT smooth gear shift
    - good handling
    - comfortable & reasonable legroom space for passengers
    - Noticeable engine noise when high throttle (some may like it)
    - relatively weak sound proofing - high road & wind noise, especially when rains
To Improve
- cabin sound proofing
- car stability especially on corners - wider wheel base or anti roll bar?
- reverse camera
- front parking sensor
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
10 July 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Keong
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    Very good fuel consumption.
    Smooth CVT transmission without any jerking.
    Side pocket is big enough for normal-sized bottles.
    Big boot space for storage.
    Rear seats has plenty of legroom
    Rear aircon vents helps to cool down the passengers at the back.
    Good level of NVH
    Suspension is a bit on the hard side.
    Electric power steering feedback is quite numb.
    Quality control is quite disappointing for a car at this price bracket. Small gaps and rattling noise.
    Rear windscreen is too small and driver cannot see anything if a tall passenger sits at the back.
To Improve
Put more emphasis on quality control before delivery.
Please include a panic button on the key fob / remote control.

Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
28 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
MOHD NOOR HASSAN
1.5 E (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    1. Smooth transmission in D gear.
    2. Good power when going uphill.
    1. Not so smooth ride on bumpy road / pothole.. poor shock absorbing.. this is the main one..
    2. When you open the window during rain, a big stream of rainwater from the roof spill on your arm.. i hate this thing a lot when i drive to an non-covered parking verifier. (you need to install this rainwater guard separately)
    3. Since it has poor suspension system, taking sharp corners is a scary experience.
    4. The fuel is efficient only in the first 2 years. After that you will notice that you need to refill much frequent than before.
To Improve
Honda really needs to improve the suspension system for City model, not because it is the cheapest, but because it is your product.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
10 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
K' Ju-ho
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    - great smooth engine & transmission
    - nice finish dashboard
    - econ mode with better fuel efficiency
    - very spacious rear seat.
    - rear air cond
    - keyless entry
    - car maybe under powered on the straight but on uphill you dont feel any lost in power
    - plenty of airbags
    - since there are no buttons on the instrument panel to control air con setting or anything other audio control. car driver sometime will have to take their eyes off the road for a second just to look at where to tap .
    - no auto door lock
    - although with rear aircond. it requires full blast to fill any air on the backseats
    - does not come with window tint anymore when purchase
    - engine maybe smooth but still have noise from the engine compartment
    - car ride a little to sensitive to bumps and potholes on the road.
    - no vtec feel
    - no paddle shifter
To Improve
- better noise dampening from engine compartment.
- slightly more juice for the engine since it can fit 5 people inside comfortably.
- rear disc break although i've not found any issue with the breaking yet since it is still brand new but drum breaks are so yesterday tech.
- even though it is a CVT paddle shifter should help bang into the lower gear faster.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
9 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chih Shun
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 750 km/month
    - Good fuel consumption even during city driving and powerful when needed backup
    - Low periodic maintenance cost.
    - Generally good service from Honda
    - Sport like car design and driver seat
    - Good 6-speakers in-car Entertainment system
    - Silent & smooth engine
    - 5-speed automatic gearbox with paddle shifter
    It does not come with and what is it inside:
    - Hard plastic everywhere despite is a Honda
    - Degraded interior fabric especially on the door arm rests and centre arm rest
    - No Projector Headlamp
    - No Front parking sensor
To Improve
Hopefully will improve the following items:
- Leather Seat
- Touch Screen with GPS
- Front Parking Sensor
- Less Plastic Interior and more wood installed that brings luxurious feel
- 8 Air Bags
- All Disc Break (For the newest model)
- Bluetooth Connectivity
- VSA for all specs
- Please come with minor bodykits
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ken
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    -Fuel efficiency (16.0km/l)
    -Powerful (120ps,145nm,0-100 in 10.8s)
    -6 airbags ( makes it like an European car)
    -8 speakers
    -Touch-screen air-cond control
    -Cruise control
    -Rear air-conditioning system
    -3 power sockets
    -CVT transmission
    -16 inches alloy wheels (195/50/16)
    -Chrome handle
    -Large trunk capacity
    -Shark fin antenna ( Looks like BMW a bit )
    -No daytime running lights (DRL)
    -No paddle shifters which existed in the previous model
    -Rear visibility due to its large trunk capacity
    -No leather seats even in the full specs ( Toyota bios has it)
    -No HID headlamps
    -No LED tail lamps
    -The height( compared to the previous model, the new city is a bit higher. They should lower the new city instead.)
To Improve
-Paddle shifters( can add more fun driving experiences.)
-Auto headlamps and wiper ( makes it more convenient.)
-Leather seats ( makes it look more high class/ prestigious.)
-Dual zone climate control ( can have different temperature between the front and read passengers.)
- The rear air conditioning system( the air blown out is kind of small, can't really feel it if it's under the hot temperature.)
-LED DRL to make the car looks nicer.
-LED tail lamps ( it looks nice now but it would be even nicer if it has LED on the back.)
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
5 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Andre
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.4 km/litre (8.8 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    -push start
    -keyless
    -boot space
    -rear aircon
    -bluetooth via HU to make calls
    -interior plastic cheap quality like the drawer
To Improve
-after sales service need improve
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Abdul Hakim Faiz
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 15.3 km/litre (6.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 4,500 km/month
    - Nice interior.
    - Good fuel consumption even during city driving. Achieve an average of 15 km/L.
    - Fairly nice handling.
    - Low periodic maintenance cost.
    - Generally good service from Honda.
    - The suspension is a little bit hard.
    - Engine whine is a bit annoying but negligible.
    - The car sways when cruising at a very high speed (above the speed limit).
    - Sometimes, the air conditioner is not cool enough.
To Improve
- Suspension
- Handling in high speed
- Air conditioner
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
29 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ang
1.5 S+ (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    -Reasonable price
    -Spacious cabin and car boot
    -Fuel efficient
    -Light steering
    -Powerful engine
    -Quiet and smooth CVT gearbox
    -One touch signal
    -Econ mode
    -Only 2 disc brakes for the front
    -Rear seat is not foldable for lower spec
To Improve
-4 disc brake for high spec
-Projector headlamp
-Paddle shift
-Auto door lock
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
29 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jack
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    1. Powerful engine performance and outstanding acceleration even with ECO mode ON.
    2. Quiet and smooth CVT gearbox and no gear-changing feeling.
    3. Solid feel of body structure
    4. Stylish and user-friendly interior design
    - Automatic climate control and more degree of fan level control -
    - Steering wheel with entertainment and phone control - easy control during high speed driving
    - Brilliant Illuminated Meter Cluster design - looks very sporty
    - Spacious back seat and boot space
    1. It does not come with the following:-
    - Projector Headlamp
    - Leather seat
    - Rear disc Brake
    - Front parking sensor
    2. Noise
    - Front left air ventilation hole noise from the motor (constantly)
    - From the dashboard when accelerate
To Improve
1. Poor service at SOME of the service centre.
2. Honda PDI should include alignment test before deliver the car to the customer
3. More free services to new car owner
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Kenneth
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 16.0 km/litre (6.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    7 inch display
    Leg room
    Large and deep car boot
    Fuel save
    Rear air cond
    No paddle shift
    No rear view camera
    No leather seat
To Improve
Should come with option for rear view camera and paddle shit controller as well as leather seT.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Koo
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    - comfort
    - sporty and stylish compared to other b-segment model.
    - low FC
    - spacious especially boot space.
    - best safety in its class with ebd, vsa, 6 airbags and others.
    - no touchscreen with gps navigation and reverse camera.
    - no bluetooth connectivity as we can handsfree while talking in phone.
    - will be better to equip with push start button.
    - more high class with sunroof.
To Improve
- Better FC
- lower maintenance cost
- wider tyre to make the car more stable when cornering as 185 is a bit shaking.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Nik Fakhrul Sofwan
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 16.0 km/litre (6.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Both active and passive safety features have been included (VSA, 6-Airbags, ABS as well as EBD).
    Rear air conditioning vents to provide cool air to rear passenger compartment.
    Fuel efficiency as well as ECON mode function.
    Squeaking and rattling noise start to come up in the dash area.
    NVH (vehicle gets too noisy while you're flying down the highway).
    The HDMI option only compatible with iOS software (iPhone 4S or newer).
To Improve
Rear Disc Brakes.
Paddle Shift (Why some of Thailand City variants come with paddle-shifters).
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Yeep Hiam
1.5 E (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
RON95, Mileage: 600 km/month
    -Fuel efficient (after 5 years of ownership, still manages averaging 13km/L)
    -5-speed automatic gearbox with paddle shifter (no imaginery gear)
    -Good handling and precise steering
    -Supportive front driver and passanger seats
    -Spacious rear passenger leg room
    -Reclining rear seats and 40:60 split that lays almost completely flat
    -Spacious boot space
    -Good 6-speakers in-car entertaiment system
    -Lack of Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA)
    -Hard plastic everywhere despite is a Honda
    -Degraded interior fabric especially on the door arm rests and centre arm rest
    -Excessive tyre roar at high speed, lack of sound insulation material
    -i-VTEC kicks in at very high rev, engine sounds rough at high rev
    -Hard suspensio, compromise overall ride comfort
To Improve
- High maintenance cost as regular maintenance is scheduled for every 5000km drive.
- More sound insulation materials to dampen the intrusion of road and engine noise.
- Lack of premium feel for the price of the car.
- However, with new maintenance schedule of 10,000km and 5-years warranty and well-equipped new 2014 City, it is worth considering over its competitors.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Peter
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Powerful (With Econ OFF)
    -Fuel Saving
    -Lots of Space
    -Nice Interior
    -Very comfort and good handling
    -Rear Aircon
    -Silent & smooth engine
    -Safety Features such as: VSC, ABS, HSA, EBD, Emergency Stop Signal
    -Smart Entry make it easy for driver to enter and lock their vehicle

    -Pick Up a bit slow With Econ Mode On
    -A bit loud on Engine when Throttle in Econ Mode
    -Tyre sound a bit noisy
    -Rear Disc Brake
    -Haze appear on the headlamp after rainy days (but disappeared after that)
    -Steering feedback a bit slow
    -The back of the car is a bit high where u cant even see the driver of perodua kancil if they queue at your back. Would be nice if reverse camera included in the packages for safety reason (especially when u have small kids at home where u cant even see them when they stand at the back of the car)
    -No fog lamp for E Spec! (=.=)
    -Dust attraction dash board
    -No Daytime Running Light

To Improve
Refer to the Cons
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
tihaniy
1.5 E (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    Good safety features : VSA and ISO fix
    Great handling better than honda accord in term of steering.
    Fuel save
    Nice front and rear seat.rear seat better than Vios.good for long journey.
    Fair sound system
    Stable and good suspension
    My experience VSA activated on the highway when a Kelisa change lane without notice. Kudos to the man who did this VSA! Vios and Almera doesn't have this.
    Gear ratio from 1 to 2 a little bit confusing.problem solved by use paddle shift.


To Improve
Service schedule should be every 10k km when use fully synthetic oil.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
hairudy
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.7 km/litre (7.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 388 km/month
    1. stylish frame design and concept.
    3. the front grill great touching design.
    4. more space trunk.
    1. no body kits for full spec (V). (frustrated)
    2. push start button not secure because children can press the button any time when driving fuh.... (please check and review back about the push start button / this is important).

To Improve
push start secure features (lock button or etc) and add free body kits for full spec (V).
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jia Jun
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    Outlooks is cool, acceleration is good, feel solid, seats are very comfortable, Odometer is very nice also.Price is good compare with other same range model as well!. No regret getting the car

    Dashboard has some squeaky noise, Driver side door has some noise as well.
    To Improve
To Improve
Local Assembly have to be improved, as I get my car, left bumper clip and right bumper clip are not in equal... Left is more fit, while right side is a bit loose
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
25 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
derek
1.5 E (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.3 km/litre (7.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 4,500 km/month
    1.It is very save petrol for me, around 13.3km/Litre, also wont be underpower for 1500cc engine.
    2.Handling wise is wonderful.
    3.bigger trunk can put in many many.
    4.After few year also no BIG problem, not thing to repair.
    1.My car jus got 2 airbang,dun have VSA.
    2.Dun have big media screen for first batch city.
    3. Maintenance cost abit high compare with toyota.
To Improve
May be can improve service centre.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
24 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Swee Kong
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    Nice supportive seats.
    Value for money
    Stylish
    Smooth and quiet drive
    Maybe it the CVT pick up slightly lag compare on the previous version. More suited normal day to day driving in the city.
To Improve
Could have more storage area inside the car. Cloths hooks and pocket situated in the boot and around the front of the car.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
24 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
KK
1.5 S+ (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    I owned a brand new Honda City S model year 2013. I am very satisfied with the following:
    - The responsiveness of the i-vtec engine when you floored the accelerator is really giving the adrenaline rush feel.
    - The eco indicator that is really a plus point to instill efficient driving to hit higher efficiency of fuel consumption. Eventually changes a person driving behavioral.
    - The ergonomics of the car knob and the arm rest are well thought by the designer and for this KUDOS to honda engineers.
    - Truly lives up to its name an eloquent City vehicle to cruise in the City.
    - Provide 5 years warranty + 5 years free service and able to give a peace of mind with warranty by Honda on critical parts at a cheaper price tag.
    -No bluetooth on Lower models of Honda City variant.
    - Road noise can be heard from the cabin which is from the poor tire quality given is really a big let down.
    -The other biggest con is the after sales service dealer, there is a gap in quality from Honda dealer to another dealer. Honda owner please take note that, during service interval please check the items changed vs Honda website recommended items, as the dealers are very SMART at putting in additional items into the list.
To Improve
- I am not happy with the experience at the Honda Service center. Clearly there was not sufficient engine oil that i wanted for my car, and i was asked to changed to a more expensive engine oil for my service.
- And Honda should answer a common inquiry amongst City owners as to why they are subjected to expensive 5,000km service intervals and not 10,000km like new City Model?
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
23 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jy
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.7 km/litre (7.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 500 km/month
    - Solidly built inside out
    - Great safety features ( VSC equipped for all variants ), 6 airbags for V spec
    - Smooth CVT gearbox ( you might not used to it if you have been driving a conventional AT car), but trust me you will love it as you get used to it!
    - HUGE cabin space
    - Decent sound system (8 speakers)
    - With cruise control for relaxing drive along the highway
    - Great brakes with good stopping power
    - The electronic steering feels too light and do not have great feedback
    - Only comes with halogen lights
    - Stiffer suspension compared to toyota's
    - No leather seats
    - The 7 inch display in V-spec is a dust attractor, needs additional care for it
    - Read drum brakes ( some buyer might make a fuss out of this issue, but trust me, those front disc brakes are more than enough )
To Improve
-Would be great if comes with leather seats
-Add on projector headlamps for better vision
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
23 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Faiz
1.5 S+ (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 16.6 km/litre (6.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    -Econ mode and Fuel Efficiency
    -Most HP among its rival ( Vios, Almera)
    -6 Airbags and VSA
    -CKD Model really need to check thoroughly because so many gaps
    -Goodies is only available on the high spec V
To Improve
Quality Check must be more thoroughly
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
23 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Kenny
1.5 S (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    Economical and does the job
    Zippy car that navigates traffic well
    Spacious interior
    Surprisingly big boot which can be expanded with folddown backseats - enough room to carry an IKEA flat-pack shelf!
    NVH kept to a high standard - exceeds my expectations for this class of car
    Handling could be better improved for high speed cruising and taking corners at speed
    Quite prone to understeering into corners and jacking at high speeds
    Lack of Bluetooth (2010 model! 2014 model has now got it)
To Improve
Better suspension geometry to account for high speed cruising and negotiating corners at speed.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Wei Siong
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 16.0 km/litre (6.3 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    -Good Fuel Consumption
    -Good safety features with 6airbags, VSA & ISO fix
    -Rear aircond vents
    -Superb rear passengers leg room
    -Big size boot of 536litres
    -Smart entry & push start
    -Econ mode
    -7inch Head Unit
    -Touch screen aircond panel
    -MID meter display
    -Auto volume
    -Once touch signal
    -Rear drum brake(even though Honda claim is the same)
    -Paddle shift
    -Rear reverse camera
    -GPS navigation
    -Projector headlamps with HID
    -Speed or brake lock
    -Rear LED tailights
    -Noisy roof when raining
To Improve
-Quality control for CKD is not good enough, some defects which service centre could not dare to make decision to repair and they need to refer back to Honda Malaysia.
-Should make safety features standard across all variants.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chun Liong
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.5 km/litre (6.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    B Segment Price with C Segment Feature
    - Touch Screen LCD
    - All needed safety include VSC, ABS, EBD + 6 Airbag!!!
    - Fuel Save
    - Ultra big leg space (176cm height)
    - When move near sand area, so sound can hear clearly (compare Myvi)
    - Paddle shift is deleted
    - Without Mute buttoon (v spec)
To Improve
- More color variant - Red?
- Paddle shift
- Rear side Power Outlet should use USB instead of conventional type
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Amir Iqbal
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 16.0 km/litre (6.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    Great fuel consumption. Power delivery is well balance. Handling is much better than most Korean sedan compact car even in higher segment. Cabin space is a jewelry in this car. Yes, you can get similar cabin space in other car. But most likely you will earn less on the power, or you need spend more on the fuel consumption. Boot space is also a huge winning factor for this car. No car in similar or higher segment beats the boot space volume. Not to forget how long the kit list in the car - both safety and comfort wise.
    Well, this car is assembled locally. Some rattling issues is to be expected. Even worst, dashboard dimension by the vendor is inaccurate. The first batch owner suffers few cm batch gap on the left side of the dashboard. But for less neat eye, it is not really noticeable. Yes, this is an issue of build quality. To complain on the car itself, none to be found.
To Improve
To include reverse camera and paddle shift. Reverse camera is a very important feature to have in this car while the paddle shift will add more fun during driving. Especially in winding and hill climbing journey.Some people might complain about the absence of rear disc brakes. But I trust on Honda City's chief engineer decision to omit those. To get rear a/c vents and cruise control over the rear disc brake is a win-win situation. But it is good to have the rear disc brake just to ensure peace of mind. Honda also should consider to include DRL in this car.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jia Jun
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    Outlooks is cool, acceleration is good, feel solid, seats are very comfortable, Odometer is very nice also.Price is good compare with other same range model as well!. No regret getting the car
    Dashboard has some squeaky noise, Driver side door has some noise as well.
To Improve
Local Assembly have to be improved, as I get my car, left bumper clip and right bumper clip are not in equal...
Left is more fit, while right side is a bit loose
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Luqman
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 16.0 km/litre (6.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    I own Honda City E 2013. Plan to install Mugen bodykit. Excellent fuel consumption. Before this I bought a Proton Saga FL 1.3 Auto, cannot beat the City's fuel consumption. Great interior. I love the steering design. New City interior quite bland but it has more features rather than mine. The 1.5 i-vtec engine has great pulling power when vtec opened during driving uphill at Karak Highway. This small beast impressed me a lot!!
    Stiff suspension, hence you can feel a lot of bumpy when driving on North Highway due to its road condition. Front bonnet paint quality very bad.
To Improve
Paint quality, stiff suspension, QC...
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chan
1.5 V (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 16.0 km/litre (6.3 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    Overall I like the car handling and fuel efficient.. With the new CVT gearbox was smooth.. The built quality was good for CKD Japanese Brands in Malaysia. The handling better than the competitor. Braking is good enough while the rear was drum brake. Suspension wise is stiff but is comfortable for 5person.
    The front grille and the Bodykit... With high spec City V don't have shift paddle, gps and reverse camera..
To Improve
The facelift model Honda Malaysia should upgrade this car accessory package..
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
musa
1.5 S+ (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    It runs smoothly, the cvt gearbox really does its job well. Acceleration is good and there is no problem with taking over other vehicles and climbing a steep slope especially with the availability of the sports mode. Both the front and back passenger's space is huge for a b segment car and provide enough comfort for a long distance trip. A very fuel efficient car, both in short and long distance journey. Cornering at sharp corners without any problems. Went for the first service and it cost only around rm120 ( if you decide to change the engine oil and oil filter in the first service and i use semi synthetic engine oil.
    Its increase in height might be problematic for shorter drivers. Although the dashboard is nicely designed, but the interior is very basic and looks empty except for the top spec car. The rim size is also smaller for all specs except for the v spec hence smaller tyres. No stability assist for lower specs although the honda jazz with the same price provide it.,
To Improve
-Provide vsa for all specs
-handling is too light and should be better
-rear bumper preferred to be lower to increase visibility
-use the same rim size for all specs which is the bigger 16inch rim


-
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Darren
1.5 S (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,700 km/month
    Comfortable interior.
    Annoying sound from don't know where and poor service technician knowledge.
To Improve
Service technician knowledge need to be improve.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jamadeel Izwan
1.5 E (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 16.0 km/litre (6.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 300 km/month
    Stable and best handling. Speeding with this car is a fantastic experience
    The size of the steering should be bigger because it quite comfort to grip
To Improve
Remote boot controller
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
20 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Faiz
1.5 E (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    -Superb leg room
    -Rear Air-con
    -Fuel Consumption
    -Silent
    -Limited Accessories
    -Build quality is not really good. A few defects
    -Does not feel solid on few areas
    -Good stuff is only in V spec
To Improve
The most critical issue would be the Quality Control. There are a few defects on some cars & Malaysian Honda should be more strict on letting out defect cars to customers.
Other then that, i would love if they give more options to choose our accessories for the car.
So far, im happy and i think its worth the money. :)
Yes, I would recommend this car

Honda City's Competitors