Nissan Almera
 (3.4/5)
owner rating
from RM 875.58 /month
from RM 65,639.05 to RM 77,374.90

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Nissan Almera - Write an owner review

Do you own the Nissan Almera? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Nissan Almera and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

13 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
8 April 2018
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Elijah
1.5L VL AT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    Owned the car for near 3 years now, probably one of my favourite sedan to drive. Good stability and the ABS kicks right on time perfectly, been traveling to johor to KL back and from every week, well to see what my car could i push to its limit, and tap out 190 km/h, at this speed some cars might be vibrating and engine noise litterally blast into the cabin, but not with my almera, one of the best engine made by nissan i would say, even at that speed theres such comfort in the cabin and less engine noise pollution in the cabin. And the best part is, the fuel consumption is savage, JOHOR TO KL AND KL TO JOHOR driving around 180-190km/h, the car still have balance of half tank which really amaze me and safe my money allotttttt. Bare in mind im not a reckless drive,
    No comment on it though im happy with my car, its all about how much you love your car.
To Improve
Rear end design, nissan should add alittle more spice in it to give a stunning look from behind
And a little more power.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
6 March 2018
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Nik
1.5L VL AT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 20.0 km/litre (5.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    -The main reason here is, Spacious. If comparing to class C Sedan family, like Honda City, Toyota Vios, Mazda 3, this is your answer. Besides, this is the widest legrooms for Class C cars I've ever experienced.
    -Nice audio system.
    -Good maneuver.
    -Good handling
    -Excellent long distance drive
    -So-so fuel consumption.
    -AC climate control does not really accurate to scale the temperature cabin. Rear passenger may fell slightly hot, just a very slightly hot that U may adjust the temp manually.
    -AC compressor started to leak, after 4 years servicing our family. Which I refer to to some mechanics and car experts, it is quite normal for a AC compressor lifespan -
    -AC blower mode. Does not responsive some times. U need to press few times till it switch to your desired mode.
    -Under power. Unless if u are a cruiser type of person, like me, then the torque will suit u just fine.
    -Appearance. Nice sporty-like look at front. But 'nahh..' at the back. The bum looks big and it make the rear tyre looks slimmer.
To Improve
-Need to do something with the rear bumper. I know Nissan has it improved by Nismo bodykit, but it doesnt help much.
-On top of that, Nissan Almera is not giving much problems technically. Its just a car with big body running by only 1.5cc. Having with us for 4 years and only giving us a AC compressor issue actually is a fair deal.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
12 January 2018
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
muhammad
1.5L E AT (2014)
Bought used, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 7.5 km/litre (13.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 8,000 km/month
    Nah review jujur dari aku..
    harga sangat berbaloi..value for money..
    ruang memang luas..dapnyeee..
    minyak ok la..puas hati..
    bodykit nismo kt luar awesome bro..~
    sesuai sebagai family car, mmg ok sngt. + byk cup holder geng.
    pintu blkg sedap melekap cantik..slow n steady..yg depan kne kuat ckit la.
    bonet besar..terbaik..boleh tido kalo ko nak..kehkeh..
    bunyi amaran, kunci tak boleh cabut kalau lampu kereta tak dimatikan bila mati enjin. nie bagus.
    suspension ok..bumper rilex jer hadap..tp jgn la bwk laju g sondol mmg ler..
    daylight muahmuahh cikitt..terbaik..
    radio mcm bodoh..tak pernah clear siaran..kejap2 sumbang, frekuansi tak stabil..Seriusly, radio proton 5 stars woo frekuansi mmg stabil..kalau aku bawak almera terpaksa bukak lagu usb psl radio cap sampah tp speaker ok..pls la bg radio yg bagus..!
    Power kurang..kdg2 tekan pedal pickup lambat sampai, kdg2 tekan pedal nk speed mse kereta tgh bergerak smpai lebam la pick up tak sampai2..hahaha..
    first time beli bwk jln malam2 lampu suluh bawah..~ maki sebakul jgk la aku mase tu..dah adjust pn sme jgk lampu tak sama rata smpai skng..frust menonggeng bro..~
    bila on aircond je ade bunyi pelik mcm katak mengerang pn ade..huhu
    lebih 130km speed rase mcm kureng ckit pn ade..tapi still bleh henjut smpai 160km-170km..
    corner kena hati2..tak brape smooth..mcm melayang jer..
    dashboard biase2 sngt, mcm hodoh pn ade..lain mcm selera jurutera nissan nie..hahaha
To Improve
Perlu tukar radio sampah tu..nk dengar pun sakit telinga.
Power mau kasi sengat ckit.
Airbag 2 je ke..? LOL. ( jrg jmpe kereta kedekot airbag tau, safety first laa )
Kembalikan semula lampu reverse yang menyala kiri kanan tu. (reverse sblh je) tak pyh fog lamp pn xpe.
Interior mau cantik ckit la..simple sangat.
Lampu belakang tu ha, bagi la nampak mcm kereta keluaran zaman moden ckittt..
2.0 @ 1.8 engine please..........
At least bagi la 16' rims.

**kalau nk recommend tu boleh la..tapi kalo nk paksa beli tu 50-50 la..hahaha..utk family @ org lama mmg berbaloi..org bujang yg nak main kete cari yg power ckit la der lambo ke, kuda meroh ke..hihi
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
15 December 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Tan
1.5L V AT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    - spacious
    - cheapest compared to Vios & City
    Encountered many problems!!!
    Small matter like
    - faulty on fuel tank door
    - exhaust pipe loose & making noise
    Big problems
    - wheel bearing - I have changed 4 times so far
    - air cond fan broken right after warranty (3yrs)
    - car steering rack broken on the 4th year (it sound so unbelievable but yes!)
    - NO SECOND HAND VALUE!!! Be prepared with 10k deficit per year
To Improve
Too much to be improved. A very disappointing model
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 March 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Darren
1.5L E AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.9 km/litre (7.2 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    1.Large legroom in the cabin
    2.Quiet engine and better fuel efficiency.
    3.The price is the cheapest compare to its competitors.
    4.Light steering wheel.
    5.The car looks aggressive ( If got Nismo or Impul body kits,my Almera have the Nismo body kit.)
    6.The rear seats are soft and comfortable.
    7.Good settings in suspensions.
    8.Nice engine sound while revving the car.
    9.Quiet and stable while traveling in high speed.
    1.The engine of the car feels like underpower especially when overtaking car even this is an 1.5L engine.
    2. Always have to rev up the engine's rpm in order to overtake cars or exit from the road junction.
    3.The interior of the car contains a lot of plastic materials look less quality than its competitors.
    4.Only have 1 airbag?!!And no other safety system like VSC as its competitors have it as standard at all variant.
To Improve
1.Engine performance
2.Interior quality.
3.Enhance the safety by giving at least 2 airbags and VSC.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
11 January 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Anynomous
1.5L VL AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 415.0 km/litre (0.2 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    Things that I like:
    1.The engine gives quite decent power enough for everyday drive and overtaking. Compared to the Toyota Vios, Almera's engine gives almost the same power but because of Toyota's DVVT -i technology, Vios engine is more responsive and feels a bit powerful. Fuel efficiency is ok(not great) as I am a fast driver who keeps overtaking people. Gear change is not as smooth as Vios but it still does it's job. Engine also likes to rev hard.
    2.My Almera(black colour) is equipped with Impul bodykit, not the Nismo. I really like the looks. It's not that sporty but it looks cute(haha!)
    3.The cabin is really quiet at high speed and the space is massive. It feels really spacious inside.
    4.You can't really hear the car's engine when your outside except when the radiator fan is on.
    5.The car feels solid. I did not regret buying this car after 3 years of owning it.
    -Despite most of Almera's owner complaining about Nissan's built quality, my Almera has very minimal problems. I am really satisfied with my car as it does not make any rattling or weird noises when I'm driving(with the radio off). I once driven my friend's Honda City. In my opinion, the Almera comfort is better.
    The weakest among its competitors
    1.The engine feels underpowered when full load. The car is struggling to accelerate when the light turns green. I always rev until around 4500 rpm from a standstill in order to beat the car next to me at a traffic light when my car is full load.
    2.Almera without bodykit looks really ugly especially the rear. I think Toyota Dugong looks better. Except for the facelift version as the rear bumper has a blacked out at the bottom to make it look less "fat". The interior is not so nice especially for the base E variant especially for the first Almera(not the facelifted version) as it looks like a frog face. As mine is the VL variant, the interior looks fine with silver highlights and chromes.
    3. There's no front centre armrest and too many cupholders. 3 or 4 cupholders will do but not 8! including the ones at the front doors. I don't really like the sound when I close the rear doors as it sounds less solid.The front doors sound like a more expensive car when close.
    4.The engine's radiator fan is super noisy like the Vios. I really hate it when I park my car inside my garage when the engine is hot.The radiator fan will on for about 4 to 5 minutes and then the fan will stop for around 30 seconds. After that, the fan will on for another 4 yo 5 minutes. I noticed this when I disarm my house as I can hear the radiator fan on for some time. So, I decided observe the engines behaviour during hot days. On evening or cold days, the engine is really quiet.
    5.I know I said that my Almera has no problem, however, there is ONE. The radiator fan makes sound during cold start when air con is on. It sounds only for a short while but it does bother me a lot.
To Improve
-Engine performance
-Exterior and interior design(check out the latest nissan micra on youtube. Some people say that it will be the next gen Almera
-More space
-Do something to the engine cooling system so that the radiator fan will not on for a long time
-Armrest for the front driver and passenger
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 December 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
MUHAMMAD
1.5L E AT (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.5 km/litre (7.4 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    1. Ruang penumpang dan bonet belakang luas. Selesa.
    2. Pengalaman pemanduan yang smooth dan santai. Sangat sesuai untuk family car.
    3. Penggunaan Over Drive (OD) yg sesuai dengan jenis jalan samada rata atau berbukit, kawasan bandar atau highway. Boleh menjimatkan lagi penggunaan minyak.
    4. Penggunaan minyak sangat jimat. Selepas servis kali pertama minyak lebih jimat.
    5. Stabil bila mengelak dengan tiba-tiba walaupun tiada sistem esc.
    6. Tambahan bodykit NISMO, almera tampak sangat garang dan sporty.
    7. Enjin yang senyap di jalan rata. Tapi sedikit bunyi mengaum bila mendaki jalan berbukit-bukit.
    1. Aircond berbunyi pelik bila on. Bunyi lebih kurang 1 saat setiap kali on.
To Improve
Kurangkan bunyi enjin bila mendaki. Walaupun bunyi tu boleh dikurangkan secara DIY (pasang sound insulation rubber strip)
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
9 August 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Tan
1.5L E AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 7.8 km/litre (12.8 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    Pros 1: cheap price, but now replace with perodua Bezza.
    Pros 2: good Space.
    Pros 3: is allow you change your car after 3years, because the car only can life for 3 years. after 2 years, all problem wil come out
    PROBLEM 1: as per above, when after drive 60 to 70km/h, have abnormal sound. Sound same as the gearbox spoil sound as before I met. (I am complaint the sound in before the 2nd year of my car purchases, after the 9 months only they can found is the sound is come from gearbox, but they need 2 month only can help me replace the part. After replace, 3 week the sound is back)

    PROBLEM 2: Exhaust pipe sound all the while have sound, and you need to complaint each every time you go service your car.

    PROBLEM 3: My left side wheel have the abnormal sound "ting tig ting ting" when I am drive. This issue I have go to Butterworth branch, they are busy for the whole week and unable help me solve this kind issue and ask me call center appointment. But I call to center appointment, they tell me have go to the branch appointment. Hence could any one advice I should go which side to make appointment?????????

    After I have no choice, then I walk in Penang Branch again, they unable help me solve the issue.

    PROBLEM 4: My engine sound become very loudly now when I am start engine, drive, even I am stop!! But I don't understand why still have people say this is normal? sound like whole engine spoil...

    PROBLEM 5: I am believe my car is not have turbo engine, but have turbocharged airflow sound.. I feel so funny, and not understand why have this sound after I change my gearbox.

    PROBLEM 6: Once your car have breakdown, or any defect problem, you need to appointment, because Tan Chong cannot help you solve your issue immediately. Because you not appointment!! and they will not to entertain you!!! this you cannot blame Nissan, the only way you can blame is your self because you buy Nissan.
To Improve
PROBLEM 1: cost more then RM10,000 to RM20,000 gearbox was spoil. I have nothing comment why be spoil within 2 years.

PROBLEM 2: We need keep going to complaints only can help you fix.You may need keep going to complaints for longer 3 years (why 3 years? because Nissan only warranty for 3 years)

PROBLEM 3: This issue I am unable to comment, because Tan Chong technical unable to find the issue.

PROBLEM 4 : Engine sound, to advice people can use their Nissan car for only 3 years, after 3 years you have to destroy it (Actually in the 2nd year you already can destroy your car, if not your car will destroy you). This is the reason Nissan still keep 3 years warranty, and other car go for 5 years warranty. for eg 5 years warranty is Toyota, Honda even Perodua also can make it 5 years warranty.

PROBLEM 5: This improved as above, Nissan recommend you drive 3 years car.

PROBLEM 6: This is nothing hope, the only way we can do is go outsider workshop to repair.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
6 January 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Elijah
1.5L E AT (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 20.0 km/litre (5.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 30 km/month
    This car is so comfortable to drive
    It's been 3 months since I bought this car I didn't regret for the right decision I made
    At 160km/h the car just go smoothly and so comfortable
    A very good fuel consumption
    Satisfying space in the car
    Very comfortable suspension
    Gearbox response quite well
    Could have added some luxury features
    Could have add more nismo package
    Don't have much safety features
To Improve
More power for the car
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
3 December 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chia
1.5L E AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 420.0 km/litre (0.2 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    - Big space, Big Boot
    - Petrol consumption acceptable
    - Cheap purchase price if compare with other Japan make-car
    - very light sterling (you may see this as Cons, but it's Pros for me :) )
    - Believe me, pump 95 even Myvi can cut you
    - Car looks sport but very under-power
    - Absorber too soft (dangerous for high-speed corning)
    - Low second hand value
    - Air-con fan spoil two time in two year
    - Service in TCEAS is super expensive! my normal service is RM380-400 (expect for the first few service), because I've added split fire and something
    - Bad after sales service, never response to sound rattling problem, complain since day 1 collect the car.
    - A lot more to be say.....
To Improve
Nothing Nissan should be improved of. They done great job in keeping the car price low, you can't expect a cheap car with cheap maintenance from a Japan car-maker isn't? if this is the case then how they make profit? An advise to buyer, when you plan to buy this car because of the car price is cheap, please prepare a little more for the maintenance. That's where they off-set the profit they loss from selling that car. Of course my another advise to you is to service your car with TCEAS during the 3 years warranty, don't expect this car quality is so great that you won't get any trouble within this 3 years. I had myself replaced the air-con fan twice and cooling coil or something (need to take out the dashboard to replace the parts) and also replace the side skirts (I'm having the Impul skirting). Good luck!
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
17 November 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
raizan safik
1.5L E AT (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 6.7 km/litre (14.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 17,000 km/month
    Ruang yang sangat luas
    Murah berbanding segmen b yang lain
    Penjimatan minyak yang cekap
    Sangat selesa
    Kuasa yang rendah
    Badan kereta yang sangat ringan. Terasa melayang apabila dibawa laju.
To Improve
Perlu dua bag udara dan stability control
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
23 July 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
clayton
1.5L VL AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 300 km/month
    cheap and spacious
    poor quality, radiator fan make noise on 3 month, wheel bearing spoil after 13 month. engine powerless. regret buying this almeera. tan chong spoil nissan quality brand.
To Improve
just decomm this model if you can improve the quality.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
16 May 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
4479
1.5L E AT (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    Spacious and stable drive
    Good fuel economy
    Full tank 530KM. (left one bar).
    80% highway drive speed 120-130km/h (03 adults)
    20% city drive below 80km/h
    underpower
To Improve
rear window wiper , 01 air bag for 1.5 E.
Yes, I would recommend this car

Nissan Almera's Competitors