Proton Persona
 (2/5)
expert rating
 (3.7/5)
owner rating
No Longer On Sale
from RM 598.01 /month
from RM 44,831.09 to RM 57,472.81

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Proton Persona - Write an owner review

Do you own the Proton Persona? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Proton Persona and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

39 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
11 February 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Navenkumar
1.6 SV MT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - Superb handling, especially in high speeds and corners.
    - Great steering wheel, moderate , easy to handle and good turning ratio
    - Good audio system
    - Can accelerate easily, (0-100 within 10 secs)
    - Decent quality cabin
    - Huge boot
    - The worst fuel efficiency ever, literally! only 9 km/ liter, even a Honda Accord is better.
    - The plastics look and feel cheap.
    - Back seats are too low,often sit knees up,(not the place you want to be in on a long journey)
    - leg room at the back is low, can't put your legs under the front seat!
    - The seats are really hard, not comfortable as expected,(even a Wira is better)
    - Rear seats are not fold able
To Improve
A long list that I would not like to mention.Please buy another car if you are looking for good fuel economy, THAT'S IT!
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
9 January 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Tan
1.6 Executive AT (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    Very stable when high speed cornering better than most korean and japanese car
    Easily reach 200kmh
    Cruise control
    Although only has 2 speaker but the sound quality is not bad
    Bad fc
    NVH quite poor above 130kmh
    Rear legroom quite cramp
To Improve
FC
Rear legroom
4-6speakers
Better plastic quality
More airbags
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
9 January 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Lai
1.6 Executive AT (2012)
Bought used, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    1) Smooth & powerful drive at highway
    2) Stable cornering. minimal body roll
    3) Car cabin spacious and big
    4) Feel driving a big car like 2.0cc Slyphy or Camry
    5) Proton famous cool air cond. better than my friend's Vios and City.
    1) Fuel consumption not that economic. 100% city driving recorded 11KM/1L.
    2) Cabin carpet always flooded with rain water due to door design flaws by Proton.
    3) Heavy car body made it difficult to pick up at time
To Improve
to improve the above cons.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
15 December 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Finfin
1.6 SV AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 7.7 km/litre (13.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Its main strong points: ride and handling. ride comfort is comfortable enough while still offering some firm stability around corners, especially highway cornering. latest variant offers front strut bar and when equipped with decent tires, ride and handling of this car shines brilliantly (considering its price point).

    Good engine torque despite many stating 1.6 iafm campro is underpowered. i think its good enough pulling uphill. not as strong a turbo car but its definitely not slow either, even with full 5 ppl inside.

    Build quality shows improvement over older proton models and cheap to maintain. its a mature model so spare parts are easy to find and cheap (if u need some urgently). NVH is good too for its price. i specifically loves the front seats, audio system, well-leveled gear and handbrake knobs, and a small compartment near key socket..

    And yes, another traditional trait from proton. the aircond is freezing cold even in a hot noon.
    my biggest gripe is the oem goodyear nct 5 tyres. they were quiet on new roads and grippy too even in rains but they will get noisier on harsher tarmac, my staple road condition. the difference is instant when i use dunlop sp sport j5 tyres, the noise on harsh tarmac is reduced significantly and improves overall NVH.

    these are small cons i've encountered but they didnt bug me much coz easily and cheaply solved.
    - key socket problematic after a year use and replaced under warranty. now no problem.
    - wipers quality worn out quickly. changed to silicon wipers and last longer now.
    - boot locker problematic once but easily solved by sc at 0 cost.
    - high bootline can cause problem looking at rearview mirror especially if u are used to driving smaller cars.
    - rear seat legroom is kinda short to me.
    - brake performance is a bit soft. got used to it after a while.
    - small rattling noise in dashboard audible after almost 2 years travelling harsh roads but nothing too annoying.
    - and low torque performance below 3k rpm. thanks to that, fuel consumption is a bit on the high side when wandering in town areas. good thing i mostly do long trip with this persona sv.
To Improve
improve parts and build quality. thats the only areas proton need to improve to earn more trusts from local buyers. proton already got enough technology to develop a modern car. we just need the car to be more reliable in quality, thats all.

overall, this proton persona sv auto is a great buy for me at 48k (2014). its a good quality car, reliable, handsome looks, cheap to own and cheap to maintain. these are my subjective opinions so take it with a grain of salt, fellas.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
15 September 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Syafiq
1.6 Executive AT (2008)
Bought new, Owned for 7 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 200 km/month
    Mine is before facelift's model, the Persona SE
    1.) Great handling
    2.) Stable at high speeds
    3.) Reached 200kph easily (max 210 then cut)
    4.) Boot space is OK
    5.) Premium touch (leather wrapped steering wheel and gear levers)
    6.) Leather seats are very comfortable
    7.) SE model equipped with auto cruise (which is very very useful!)
    1.) Audio are very bad
    2.) Side mirrors are too small, very difficult for a first timer (Luckily Proton fix it in the facelift)
    3.) High fuel consumption
    4.) Stock exhaust didn't last long (Change it at SC for 3 times within 6 years of owning it)
To Improve
1.) New engines
2.) New look!
3.) Add on more airbags, ESC, Hill Assist
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 July 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ping Shien
1.6 SV MT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    - Superbbbbbbb handling! The steering weight is just right, not too heavy not too light. This is a tremendous job by Proton and Lotus. Handling totally on par with the European cars and way better than the Japs and Koreans.
    - High speed corner with ease
    - Spacious and comfortable
    - Most affordable C-Segment car you can get.
    - Value for money, for RM45k you get 4 disc brakes, ABS, EBD, two airbags, turn signal indicator on side mirrors, etc.
    - Overall a good looking car, but for the SV version you will need to install fog lamps, side skirts, and spoiler for an even better look.
    - Deliciously looking on FIRE RED!
    - Reasonable fuel consumption for a manual, average 8 l/100km
    - Good aircond control
    - Decent plastic found in interior
    - Good performance for the manual, pickup is slightly slow due to the car heavy weight.
    - Can go very fast and stable, the highest speed I drove is 160km/h and still stable, though the engine is quite loud.
    - Autolock system, it's helpful and safe
    - Bonnet insulation and safety bar
    - Very good suspension
    - Noise in the cabin, bearable but can be improved.
    - Gear ratio, 110km/h at about 3000 rpm, come on Proton!
    - Dust on rim due to the disc brakes
    - Quite straight seating position at the back, which I think passengers will not be feeling comfortable for a long ride. However, it's very comfy in front.
    - Rear window can't be wind down completely, is it due to safety reason?
    - Front seating position can be higher
    - Sometimes laggy rear parking sensor, so please reverse slowly.
    - Only 2 rear speakers for SV version but audio quality is not bad. The radio comes with the car has no bluetooth function.
To Improve
To improve all cons listed. Overall this is a very good, affordable and value for money sedan. As long as you follow normal service schedule, this car should not give you headache. It's been in the market for more than 7 years and all problems should be sorted out by Proton by now. I can say this is a worry-free and reliable car.

Can be even good looking if you add on side skirts, spoiler and fog lamp.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 June 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
John
1.6 SV MT (2007)
Bought new, Owned for 7 Years
Fuel Economy: 4.9 km/litre (20.4 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,320 km/month
    - big space car and comfortable ride.
    - fuel consumption very good on highway since I drive on highway everyday. I got (4.9L / 100km) and RM40 of fuel last me for 332KM journey with the speed 90kmh ( with aircon switch off )
    - seriously, this car loves corner very much. Very stable
    - strong chassis and stable during high cruise and overtaking. ( i sometimes make 160kmh and still not shaking. Great job Proton. )
    - armrest height are just perfect for me.
    - convinience sound control on the steering wheel.
    - shift your gear at every 4.5k and you will feel the CAMPRO POWAH!!! LoL
    - NVH not that good. Wind noise is annoying my ear sometimes.
    - need more proper gear ratio since CAMPRO are not high end torque engine.
    - annoying engine revs on 1st and 2nd gear.
    - bad speakers but im ok with that.
    - undercarriege sounds "krok krok" everytime i drive on bumpy road. But the car work just fine.
    - rattling noise coming out from dashboard after 1 year driving it.
    - steering wheel make a funny noise everytime i turn right. But seems just fine.
    - turning radius! For God sake, sometimes i need to reverse once when making U turn. Too wide.
    - rear sensor seems laggy sometimes. Even beeping when i shift reverse gear eventhough nothing at the back.
To Improve
For me its good enough since im driving Savvy before switch to Persona. But seriously, NVH need to improve and proper tune gear ratio is require. The car somehow feel underpowered on 1st and 2nd gear. Need to shift fast from 1st to 3rd for smooth accelaration when exiting roundabout. Anyway, this is really a good and potential car with reliable engine. Never failed me from the first day i owned it.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
6 January 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Sean
1.6 Executive AT (2010)
Bought used, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    1. Excellent handling... Better than a lot of it's rivals such as Vios, City etc etc.. I know because I work in the car industry and I've got the chance to drive a lot of different cars..

    2. Comfortable suspension... Not too hard not too soft.. (Too soft may cause poor handling)

    3. Good at overtaking cars on the high way

    4. Good NVH, good sound proofing.. Feels very quiet.. As my unit comes with Continental tyres which further improves the sound proofing..

    5. Feels stable and confident even at 160kmh

    6. Solid body

    7. Good blaupunkt sound system.. Just add in an after market tweeter and you'll have a perfect sound system with it's original speakers.. (though, you can't go loud with the original speakers)

    8. Huge boot!! Although I don't fully utilize it all the time

    9. Not expensive to maintain..

    10. Multi Link suspension

    11. Quite economical on long journeys.. (clocked 300++ km with RM30 + speeding at 120 - 140km/h. Would be more fuel saving if I stick to the speed limit of 90)

    12. Strong and very cold A/C even on hot hazy weather as expected from a Proton..
    1. Slow acceleration (but i'm ok with that)

    2. fuel consumption is bad in city driving. I can only go 300km with RM60 worth of fuel (market price of RM1.9 per litre)

    3. Rear disc brake always create "woo woo" sond when cold..

    4. Leg room is a little bit on the small side..

    5. Why use timing belt?? Costed me RM600 to replace when I hit 100k of mileage

    6. My unit doesn't come with stabilizer bar :(

    7. My rear window dropped after 5 years of ownership.. But at least it lasted me 5 years lah and costed me RM90 to get a replacement motor

    8. No front sensor, always hit curb when I park

    9. Rear sensor is a little bit slow on detecting on coming objects.. Though it worked well

    10. Rear sensor buzzer is installed in the boot compartment, therefore, you need to lower down your radio volume in order to hear it.. Unless you fold down the rear seats, which will become very loud...
To Improve
All the cons above...

But one of the main thing that needs to be improved is the fuel consumption on city drive..

Other than that, this is a good car... No regrets owning it..
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
3 November 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Leow Bin
1.6 Executive MT (2013)
Bought used, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 5 km/month
    Good lotus handling, spacious cabin/boot, comfort seating position, good NVH, powerful when high-rev, stable in cornering and also highway, sporty looks, good value.
    Poor fuel consumption in city driving condition, poor performance on pickup, vibration sound from air-cond vent, ugly steering design and bad braking performance.
To Improve
Build quality need to improve, improving braking performance, improving engine performance to reduce fuel consumption.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
6 August 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Sugunthen
1.6 SV MT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    *Good handling
    *Stable during high speed on highways.
    *Speed meter contains with useful informations for example fuel consumption,time,hours of engine running, distance of current fuel level.
    *Aerodynamic design of the car gives sportier looks.
    *Rear boot compartment is big, which helps to bring more stuffs.
    *Value for the money.
    *Wind and Body noise
    *Brake not efficient
    *For manual transmission,the throttle response is very slow especially when accelerating,overtaking.
    *Seats not comfortable when long drive mainly driver seat.
    *Power window regulators always making unpleasant noise while operating.
To Improve
*Next generation engine,its good if proton use timing chain.
*The quality of the plastic materials inside and outside need to be improve.
*Whole wiring system need to be check again by the service centre or manufacturing due to problem like power window failure,rear led tail lights not functioning properly.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
20 July 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Faizrul
1.6 SV AT (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    1. The exterior design is easy on the eye. Very good looking at times.The rear light is gorgeous.
    2. The interior is spacious. Air conditioner is great! Boot is massive.
    3. The ride and handling is very good. Much better than the more-expensive cars. really easy to corner at high speed.
    4. The engine is decent. suitable for this size of car. Good acceleration, good at high speed.
    1. Looks a bit old. The front end looks too common now. the facelift didn't do that much on the overall looks.
    2. interior is outdated. the radio is unacceptably old-fashioned.
    3. bad fuel efficiency.
    4. rear seats are a bit upright. bad for long journeys.
    5. bad braking performance.
To Improve
1. improve the interior with great new gadgets. new interior overall
2. the exterior is not really bad but can be a bit boring sometimes. more facelift, be a bit more daring.
3. improve the position of the rear seats.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
20 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ahmad
1.6 SV AT (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 500 km/month
    + Very good handling for its price range
    + Well balanced between firm and comfort
    + Quite a spacious cabin
    + Massive boot space
    + Cold air conditioner
    + Pretty much value for money!
    + Bad QC
    + Horrible braking system
    + Badly setup gear ratio
    + Not so good fuel economy and only 40L of fuel tank? Really?
    + Despite spacious interior, the car lacks storage compartment
    + Only 2 airbags
To Improve
Everything from the Cons...
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
10 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
D
1.6 SV AT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    - good lotus handling
    - like the car for its steering wheel, (i'm using the hi-line packed with leather seats and dual airbags)
    - nice sounding honk!
    - nice and good looking car - both from the front and back
    - affordable pricing : great value for money
    - you can keep this car as maintenance price is ok, newer generations I believe have improved
    - very huge boot space in its class!
    - this may be one of the better Proton-own designed and made cars to date I feel.
    - second hand value can be an issue, especially as soon as you outgrow the car
    - its becoming the default taxi car nowadays...
    - you may not like as it can be quite a common car today (although the design is nice)
    - fuel economy may be an issue if you drive on higher speeds on the highways - ie: 100-120 or even more.
    - I got an average 9.8-10km per litre with well inflated tyres and depending on petrol brand too; I think some cars can do better than this. (about 60:40 for city driving to intra Klang Valley highway driving with higher speeds of 80-90 but not often on 120)
To Improve
- back seats are a little bit too upright for rear passengers can be difficult on longer journeys
- front passenger seat is a little bit narrower compared with driver side
- improve quality of the plastics used, my brake cover broke but was changed after several visits to the SC (needed to wait for stock to arrive). (it was still under warranty thankfully). the replaced one still standing strong and firm until today as the design had improved too.
- Overall, I am generally very happy with this car, I have no issues with it.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
9 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jim
1.6 SV AT (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    1. Handling
    2. Exterior Design
    3. Value for Money
    1. Poor torque power below 3k rpm
    2. Rear passenger seat design not ergonomics.
    3. Braking power too soft for such heavy car.
To Improve
1. Braking system.
2. Outdated campro engine.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Muhammad Fairul
1.6 SV MT (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    Good handling
    Good looking if with full skirting
    Good NVH
    Good space
    Terrible brake performance
    Low output of horsepower and torque
    interior looks plain
    Wiring has problem, fuse always been replaced new one
    problem with my power window controller
    The charger outlet is broken after 1 year Im using this car
To Improve
Improve your SC, terrible service, how come Proton want to step ahead if SC is terrible?
need more horsepower and torque, CFE with manual is better
FC is terrible because low torque, heavy cars
geadbox is outdated
need a new 7 inch LED display for this car
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
28 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
WK
1.6 SV AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    1) Value for money. RM48k for 1.6 liter car.
    2) The car feels stable. Corners well at high speed. Good grip of the road.
    3) Fair acceleration. Power kicks in after 3000 RPM.
    4) Large boot space. Fits a 10 inch sub-woofer and a golf set.
    5) Rear speakers has good bass and treble
    6) Car comes with 4 disc brakes, ABS, EBD and stabilizer bar.
    1) Heavy car. Requires heavy foot on the pedal to move the car.
    2) High fuel consumption. 0.26 cents for city driving, 0.17 cents for highway.
    3) No front speakers.
    4) Braking creates squeaking sound.
    5) Braking makes the rim dirty, lousy brake pad.
    6) Rattling and squeaking sound around dashboard, passenger door and back suspension area.
    7) Short cushion for rear seats. Not comfortable during long journey.
    8) Hissing sound from engine. Probably comes from the IAFM module.
    9) Lousy wiper.
To Improve
1) Improvement on the built quality. Rattling and squeaking sound is everywhere.
2) More efficient service centers. Car power steering oil leaked after driving for 3 weeks. Proton CoE says no stock for the power steering hose. If CoE doesn't have stock, how can i go to smaller service centers?
3) Improve on fuel consumption.
4) CVT gearbox. Current gearbox quite jerky.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
28 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chee Hung
1.6 SV AT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    Good Handling
    Value for money
    Rear seat space
    High fuel consumption on city drive
    Outdated design
To Improve
Design
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Harry
1.6 SV AT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - good handling
    - value for money
    - big boot space
    - good acceleration
    - cabin noise
    - slow pickup at starting
    - bad city fuel consumption
To Improve
- Improve fuel consumption
- Improve QC
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Huzaifah
1.6 SV MT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 14.5 km/litre (6.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    - Body feels very compose
    - Well balance suspension setup between firm & comfort.
    - Very sharp steering
    - Fair build quality
    - Great acceleration
    - Good service (at some service centres)
    - Reliable, 3 years without any major problem
    - Smooth gear change
    - Large boot space (very glad no goose neck hinge)
    - Very minor rattling sound coming from centre console due to engine vibration
    - Lack of rear legroom
To Improve
- Design, design, design.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
thana
1.6 SV MT (2008)
Bought new, Owned for 6 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    1. spacious
    2. good car for long journey.
    3. heavy and stable. so no worries that this car might topple at corners.
    4. fuel consumption quite good at highway with constant speed. can get around 9 litres/100km
    5. air cond works well during night, rainy and cold climate.
    6. Value for money. 1.6cc, with spacious place, and kinda big car with cheap price.
    7. certain body part are hard. strong steel. And hard plastic. No worries for light accidents.
    8. great design and aerodynamic. Minimum air voice heard from outside.
    9. Stable at high speed. feel brave to drive.
    10. not a high bill service for this car.
    Finally. it is a great car. for less than rm50k, price, you get good specification. you wont regard of owning PERSONA.
    1. fuel consumption, kinda scary. i get 13 litres/100km in normal town.
    2. spring is not that soft as in vios(tested). can feel the big differences at bumper.
    3. air cond feels like not working during sunny time. especially from noon till 4pm.
    4. power window problem. however it is, for current facelift, there is warranty for it. so no worries.
To Improve
1. Air cond system should be improved.
2. fuel consumption should be improved in town driving.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
23 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Edwin Hsien Loong
1.6 SV AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 9.6 km/litre (10.4 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    - Good looking, feels solid
    - Fuel consumption is superb while cruising on highway
    - Spacious boot
    - Superb handling and response
    - Ignorable dashboard noise but better get it fixed
    - No built in retractable side mirror
    - Slow pick up due to heavy body
To Improve
- Key-less start and entry!
- Better sound insulation for speeding over 150km/h
- Improve fuel consumption while driving in city with a lots of traffic light or jam
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Daniel
1.6 SV AT (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.8 km/litre (10.2 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - Good looking
    - Engine is a little loud but i love to hear them !
    - Fuel consumption is great while cruising on highway
    - Speakers quality !
    - The handling
    - Good looking body kits and leather interior makes it look very classy, especially the white stitching ! ( for H-Line )
    - Release trunk with button on remote, very convenient ( for H-Line ) i believe.
    - No built in retractable side mirror
    - City drive fuel consumption will make u cry
To Improve
LED headlights, FULL LED tail lights, improved engine with turbo maybe, keyless start and entry, and keep the H-Line on production because they're one of the the best looking car ever produced by Proton.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
jason
1.6 SV AT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.1 km/litre (9.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 700 km/month
    - big size
    - stable at high speed
    - styling not bad
    - cheap price
    - brake is not efficient, longer braking distance
    - car can still drive easily with hand brake pulled (normal tight level)
    - bad accelerating respond
    - Sound/heat insulation so so
    - plastic part fragile
To Improve
- focus on improving quality of plastic part
- better AT gear shift program for accelerating purpose
- lower maintenance service charges
- implement soft turbo system
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Kiung
1.6 SV MT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 8.5 km/litre (11.8 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,300 km/month
    -Good handling (Lotus ma)
    +Good mid range power output from the engine (Good for highway cruising)
    +4Disc brakes with ABS+EBD
    +Comfort front seat
    +Front stabilizer Bar
    +Value for money for such car
    +Big Boot space
    +2 Air bags
    +Strong Air condition
    +Multilink suspension setup
    -Squeaky sound from dash board
    -Air condition rattling sound when switched ON
    -Struggle pick up due to heavy body with a humble 1.6campro
    -2 speaker at the back only
    -Uncomfortable seat at back
    -High fuel consumption in city drive
    -Poor sound insulator (Sound can clearly heard when HI RPM)
    -Front disc brake come with funny sound when braking
    -Flimsy loose, air condition turning Knob
    -Gear shifting a bit stiff
To Improve
=Engine can be improve using CPS engine (CFE better)
=Improve quality control
=Add in front speaker (Come on Proton How much for a pair front speaker)
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jesus
1.6 SV AT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.1 km/litre (9.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,300 km/month
    - Big boot space
    - Cheapest C segment car (Value for money)
    - Rear multilink suspension (More comfortable compare to those Japanese B segment cars since they are on torsion beam)
    - The engine (kinda lack of power compare to Wira 1.6 XLi)
    - Rear passenger seat is short (Same case as Gen-2)
    - Dashboard has squeaky noise
    - So-so fuel comsumption (10.1km/l)
To Improve
If this is not your first Proton cars, then you should know the way the service centre mechanics work. Normal change oil maintenance is okay, but when it comes to issues like power windows, dashboard sounds,knocking sound from the engine bay etc, you may need to visit several time to get them fixed, but not in one shot. Sometimes they might forget to tighten up the screws. Therefore i always keep myself busy at the workshop instead of sitting at waiting room reading newspapers.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Tan
1.6 SV AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.3 km/litre (7.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    - 4 disc brake
    - 2 Airbags
    - ABS EBD
    - Stabiliser
    - the safety feature are up to the standard
    - The Lotus Handling technology makes the handling very Comfortable
    - A big boot that can even put two person into it
    - The price are one of the cheapers among the other 1.6cc engine fitted car and affortable
    - A powerful aircond that cool the car easily
    - The door sound insulation are poor
    - No audio speaker at the front door
    - The quality control of the car from factory are very bad need to claim warrantly
    - Heavy body make it slow to pick up
    - Onli come with 3 times free service labour charge
To Improve
- improve on the car sound insulation to provide comfortable journey
- improve on the Quality Control department of proton to control their vehicle quality instead of letting customer to claim warrantly
- improve the FC of the car while driving in City with alot of traffic light or jam
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jason
1.6 SV AT (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95
    - Handles very well
    - Able to take corner at high speed
    - Very stable at highway speed
    - Highly potential if substantial mod are done
    - Having a multilink suspension at this price is a bang

    - Not made to last
    - Rattling are something unavoidable
    - Fuel consumption are a bit high
    - Back seats are not roomy and comfortable enough
To Improve
- Have better built for fit and finish. Even if there is not finish, give it a nice fit to start with.
- Many service centre staff only have partial knowledge about car, this is bad.
- Consider a better gearbox for the car, the engine although powerful but the gearbox is not delivering it right.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Kenny
1.6 SV MT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    The stock handling is topnotch for car in the same segment. Cabin space is quite big for the drivers and front passenger. The car feels stable travelling at highway due to the handling.
    Car feels heavy from standstill acceleration. There are some rattling noise inside then car out of nowhere.
To Improve
Improve the low end torque of the Campro engine. More hi-end multimedia offered as optional to future buyers such as touch screen head unit with GPS.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Safinah
1.6 SV AT (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 8.5 km/litre (11.8 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - The handling is confidence-inspiring
    - Low maintenance cost
    - Reliability is solid overall
    - Ample interior and boot space
    - Stable under braking, even in the rain without ABS
    - The automatic gearbox is outdated
    - Fuel consumption could be better
    - No rear wiper blades
To Improve
- Service center has lousy record keeping
- They changed transmission oil twice in a row
- Dashboard LCD could be relocated to improve visibility
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Muhammad Iskandar
1.6 SV AT (2011)
Bought used, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    The best part about this car is that it handles well around bend while maintaining very good ride comfort. At a price that is nearly half of smaller B-segment Vios and City, this car outclasses them in terms of ride and handling balance. Steering response is precise and communicative enough in providing ample feedback and driving confidence, something that you wouldn't get in typical Japanese C-segment sedans (Altis, Civic and Sylphy).

    Power delivery is adequate, with sufficient torque to lug around family around the town or across the country. Just don't expect it to act like a Civic Type-R, and you shall be satisfied with how the throttle responds to your feet. Gear shift is smooth with proper upshifts and downshifts when cruising and overtaking, respectively. Its not exactly a real fuel guzzler nor a fuel sipper, as claimed by most netizens on web forums. When being driven calmly and 'normally', you may find this car fit enough to meet your petrol budget.

    In terms of running the car over a period of time, the car has proven itself reliable. Previous common problems that plagued previous Proton cars (Waja, Gen.2) such as power window malfunctions, squeaking shock-absorbers and broken door handles are now totally non-existent. The costs for maintenance and spare parts are affordable. If it is properly maintained , this car can last more than a decade without creating a headache, while saving your wallet in the long run.
    Rear occupant space is quite an issue for this C-segment car which is based on the Gen.2. Typical rear passenger may find the car a bit tight in terms of leg room and shoulder room. 6 footers will definitely feel cramped behind. The seats, which appears to be quite firm, doesn't provide enough thigh support, both front and rear.

    In terms of NVH, there are several issues that need attention. Wind and tyre noise insulation areacceptable when driven just over speed limit. However, loud roar intrudes inside the cabin when the Campro IAFM engine is being revved hard especially during overtaking and hill climbing. In a nutshell, the car's acoustic refinement is still short of being acceptable when compared to its C-segment peers.
To Improve
Proton should include better sound insulation to compensate for the lack of refinement in the Campro IAFM engine. In addition to that, perhaps larger and softer seats which provide better lumbar and thigh support. Last but not least, the quality of the plastics components and fit & finish standards remain to be Proton's Achilles Heel that needs urgent attention by the management.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chek Khiang
1.6 SV AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.5 km/litre (9.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 200 km/month
    1. 2. RM0.20+/km for city drive, RM0.15/km highway with RON95
    (consume more petrol due to 1.6cc, roughly 100kg heavier than city and vios, FC much better than proton waja)
    3. very good suspension and good handling even with hydraulic steering
    4. 10 years power window warranty
    1. No VSC
    2. wind noise on highway
    3. no LCD screen
To Improve
Quality of dashboard can be improve
wind noise should improve
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jack
1.6 SV AT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 8.3 km/litre (12.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    The handling is perfect.
    The driving feel is good.
    The air cond is very cold.
    High speed still very stable
    Petrol consumption for city driving
    The power window problem
    The brake not responsive
    Lack of torque
To Improve
Improve the suspension
Improve the fuel economy
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jason
1.6 SV AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.8 km/litre (8.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    Spacious cabin, very stable ride, cold aircon with powerful blower, great handling (saved my life several times lol)
    prone to small annoying problems (noises from unknown sources after one month using it), not really meant for fuel saving
To Improve
Needs tighter quality control
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Mun Weng
1.6 SV AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    The handling is good for this car.
    Huge boot.
    using multilink suspension.
    not to mention proton aircon is always the best
    4 disc break, ABS, EBD and 2 airbags!!!
    value for money for 1.6cc car.
    the back seat is too straight.
    for the SV edition lack of accessories the side mirror need to use hand to adjust.
    the door problem because of hard to close.
To Improve
could improve on the adjustment of the door latch.
i have seen most of the persona SV has problem with the door latch.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Yen Keat
1.6 SV AT (2010)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,600 km/month
    -Superb handling and response.
    - Fuel saving on long journey trip.
    -Big boot for storage.
    -Affordable maintenance cost.
    - Low seat base for racing feel.
    -Very cold air conditioning.
    -Acceptable NVH for H Line spec
    -Rattling noise at dashboard and air con vents.
    -Power window failure (Driver side)
    -Heavy body making the pick up slow.
    -Bad FC on city drive.
To Improve
Better design improvement and risk analysis on those cons above.
Better assembly process checking for repeating problems.
Improve the FC for city drive.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Yu Wei
1.6 SV AT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    Cheap, best affordable car in the market
    Good handling
    Come with free front strut bar
    No more bodykit that is way too low and keeps hitting the bumper on the road
    2 airbags, 4 disc brakes
    Common car, major problems already fixed, easy to repair
    Stylish for the price I paid
    Slow acceleration (for AT only)
    RM 0.22 per km (KL city drive)
    RM 0.16 per km (highway)
    No safety belt light
    Bonet too high, hard to see what is behind
    Came out of the factory out of alignment (for my car only)
    Fuel door has to manually open (for my car only)
    No front speakers, back passenger will complain the sound is too loud
    Back doors hard to close
To Improve
Back seat too straight up
Same old interior design
Brake not that tight
No fog lamp
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Muhammad Azim
1.6 SV AT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.2 km/litre (8.2 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 700 km/month
    - Trunk has big space
    - Good stability
    - Good cornering
    - Acceptable torque
    - Brake power is not enough for the car
    - Car paint gets dull easily if no polishes and waxes done to it
    - There is a noise where the Service Center also could not solve
    - Higher maintenance compare to Manual Transmission
To Improve
- NVH needs improvement
- Service guys should be more experienced in solving car problems.
- Fuel consumption needs improvement
- More braking power
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Murtaza
1.6 SV AT (2009)
Bought new, Owned for 5 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.7 km/litre (7.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    -Handling characteristic is better than most Japanese and Korean cars
    -Maintenance for this car is cheap
    -No more power windows failure
    -Bigger boot space
    -Solid body
    -Good car for long journey travel

    *Mine is Persona SE
    -NVH could be better
    -Sluggish engine
    -Squeaky noise on air-cond vent
    -Mediocre safety specs.
To Improve
-I hope Proton can make a MK 2 from this Persona.
-Improve NVH
-Improve dashboard plastic
-New engine that is more economical.
-CVT equipped.
-Better safety specs.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Mohd Hadi
1.6 SV AT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    1.Big trunk space
    2.0-100kmh quite fast
    3.Stability when on high speed
    4.Corner Stability
    5.Acceptable fuel consumption
    6.Easy to find spare part
    1.Dashboard and door panel has squeaky noise sometimes
    2.Trunk bonnet key problem
    3.Power window not function sometimes but still okay
To Improve
please do more strict QC, proton is not cheap item, but just lack good QC, if control this thing, that will not be a problem, most of problem happen when checked is because not installing properly
Yes, I would recommend this car

Proton Persona's Competitors