Proton X50
 (4/5)
expert rating
 (4.1/5)
owner rating
No Longer On Sale
from RM 1,151.18 /month
from RM 86,300.00 to RM 113,300.00
Buy Proton X50

Proton X50 SX11 (2020-Present) Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Proton X50 - Write an owner review

Do you own the Proton X50? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Proton X50 and help others in the market for a car like this.

22 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
27 June 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ho Rong Quan
1.5T Executive (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 500 km/month
    I just clocked 16,000km after owning it for about 8.5 months. I like the looks of the car, both interior and exterior. The LED headlamp is very bright during nighttime. The car is wide for a B-segment car and seating 3 adults at the rear isn't too cramped.

    The car rides comfortably and has overall good sound insulation (except for the front door wind noise). The interior design is fantastic and overall build quality is not bad. The 148hp engine produces good power and the torque is more than enough for daily drives.

    Lastly, the stock Giti Comfort tyres has terrible wet grip.
    The ATLAS OS UI is absolute crap with no significant functions and is extremely laggy. Besides, the Bluetooth doesn't connect to my phone automatically, and really annoys me to pair it manually every single time. The reverse cameras are laggy as well.

    The speakers are bad and not loud enough, cars at this price point all have better speakers than X50.

    The interior started to produce rattling noises around the dashboard areas and B pillars, the interior "finish" is ok but the "fit" could be better.

    The gearbox is just slow during low speed and sometimes it produces some weird "tak, tak" sound while going slow and reverse. Another thing is during reverse, it's just too slow and doesn't creep and once u step on the throttle the car will lurch forward. It's very hard to maneuver on inclined parking spots, the car either creeps too slow for the car to stick out or just lurch forward and you'll risk hitting motorbike or incoming traffic.

    The fuel consumption for MPI engines is only marginally acceptable but you can never say it's fuel efficient.

    The interior door handle design is definitely not appreciated, it feels too cheap, easy to break, and trap your fingers sometimes.

    The engine does rattles and you can feel that when accelerating at low speeds. You can also feel the vibration on the steering wheel while driving.
To Improve
1. Better after-sales service. I've been to a service centre near Setapak for service and pointed out the B-pillar rattles, air-cond noise in the cabin, and gearbox "tak tak" sound. All I get after 4 hours of minor service is everything ticked "normal".

2. Better stock tyres for Standard and Executive variants, the stock tyres have terrible wet grip.

3. At least AEB and Blind Spot Monitoring for Executive and Premium variants.

4. More supporting seats especially on lumbar and thigh areas.

5. Spare parts problems still persist, and owners having problems with insurance claims and parts shortages.

6. Laggy reverse cameras.

7. Apple CarPlay and Andriod Auto should be a standard in this day and age.

8. Improve on build quality of your cars. My car starts to have rattles at 5000km.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 June 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Shafiq
1.5T Executive (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    For now, after travelling about 6000 kms in a short span of 3 months, I've gotten quite used to driving the X50. Interior space is also pretty good, giving ample knee and headroom to both the front and rear passengers.

    The winning factor for me during my test drive was the comfort. As someone who ferries my family around (elderly), it's amazing comfort!

    The noise insulation is good. It soaks up bumps really well, and the overall fit and finish is great for something of this price (but more on this later)
    The air cond is typical Proton affair, being able to cool the car effectively in hot Malaysian weather as well. The rear blowers really add good overall cooling effect for the rear passengers too.

    I really do love the overall looks of the car as well, it really does rival some cars that a markedly more expensive than it, especially in the colour I've chosen which is silver. It looks quite elegant, and being executive variant, the black seats and interior furnishing adds to that classy look! I might even say I prefer this look much more over the brash red interior of the flagship.

    The gear selector and steering wheel (both major touch points in the car) feels really good and all the other stalks and buttons are nicely weighted and with really good tactility. It does make being in the X50 feel quite special, and you don't feel too shortchanged looking at the cockpit day in and day out
    But here comes the things I've grown to dislike over the past few months of owning the car. I can see now why it is so much cheaper than the competition, while being able to still provide so much kit. Perhaps I'm unlucky, but luck can only get you so far.

    First it's the terrible ACOTECH HU. Boy, that thing is slow, laggy, and the display is just atrocious (it is so much better in the premium variant). While the small display doesn't bother me much, but the contrast, brightness and general functionality does.

    Imagine, my Bluetooth doesn't autoconnect to the HU every time I start my car. Not only that sometimes my phone outright refuses to pair with it, so I have to re-pair it. I do this every single time I get in, and out of the car. Really ticks you off after some time.

    Then there's the tinny sound quality from the god awful speakers. The saga sounds immensely better, something well under half the price! Almost unforgivable.

    Not enough with that, the door lock/unlock sensor pad area thing is the most hopeless I have seen thus far in my car ownership journey. It is just slow and unresponsive at times. You have to hold it just right to lock it as well. What a weird application of a well known tech

    While the steering feels great to hold, it is not so great to use. Want to quickly reduce your HU volume? Too bad, just holding volume down has significantly lag from the moment you click it down, until the volume actually goes down. Most people don't notice this during their test drive (me included)

    The seats while they have great room, isn't the most supportive especially the underthigh supports. I'm only 174 cm tall and I'm already having trouble especially seated at the back. Too bad, the seats do look great, but the beauty isn't skin deep

    Rattling is slowly beginning to creep in too, just shy of 6000 kms in. I hope it doesn't get too bad. For now it is still bearable but it is sad to see the quality isn't all that hyped about.

    Another oddity is the engine rattle. Yes it's a 3 cylinder, but I've also owned other makes before such as a B38 engine and that has nary a rattle from the engine bay. This just sounds like a truck! And yes, occasionally you do get the rumble permeating through the cabin, but not a significant amount. Saying there's zero rattle or vibrations is definitely an oversell in my books

    The rattle gets worse somehow when you're accelerating at slow speeds, especially when you're pulling away after using touch n go at the tolls. It's very prominent and sounds worrisome

    The gearbox too is not too ideal, losing its creep ability in reverse and feels outright dangerous at times. Feels like an unengaged clutch, and the car just rolls forwards when you're trying to reverse uphill. It can be quite frustrating to gently manoeuvre too, but this happens sometime

    Speaking of things that don't always happen, are the odd quirks and bugs of the BCM. One few many times the EPB decide to not let up upon engaging the throttle in D (yes my seatbelts were on), and after several coaxing of the throttle, the EPB is suddenly let go. Weird.
To Improve
Honestly, I feel quite shortchanged over the initial promises of the car. The short 3 year warranty on critical parts is concerning as well (a turbocharger is apparently a wear and tear part, and here you have Chery giving 10 year warranties on their engines)

Gladly for me, I took a 5 year loan on this so I might swap it out before the warranty runs out

There's just so many little quirks and oddities that made this into a regrettable purchase for me. Such a great looking product with such potential. Too bad it isn't for me. Maybe it will be for you, but tread warily
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
1 June 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Roy
1.5T Executive (2023)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 500 km/month
    -Low NVH
    -Decent power even on the executive variant.
    -good built quality.
    -quite comfortable ride.
    -easy to manoeuvre.
    -handling is good.
    -Hi Proton is more useful than I initially thought.
    -fuel efficiency is not great.
    -too many unnecessary warning sound.
    -head rest is too far forward, making it hard to find ideal seating position.
To Improve
-make the head rest adjustable.
-change the warning sound setting to be easily turn off.
-make it more fuel efficient.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
31 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
SKY
1.5T Premium (2023)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 8.0 km/litre (12.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    -Good value for money, feels premium for the price range
    -Easy to drive, suitable for all kind of drivers and experience level
    -Relatively spacious backrow with ample leg room
    -Good boot space for its size
    -Nicely tuned suspension (with the correct tyre pressure) that is comfortable to sit in and solid enough to deal with Malaysia roads
    -Wind noise is obvious after around 80km/h.
    -Fuel consumption is not great.
To Improve
-Improve the wind noise level
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Deebhan
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.7 km/litre (10.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    One of the most powerful SUV in this category. Handling is good.
    Safety features provided in this car.
    Space is a big issue in this car. Boot space is too small. The seat in this car especially flagship are not comfortable for a long distance as it is too hard.
To Improve
Improve the quality of material used for the seat
Whistle sound in high cruising speed
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Devarajah
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 400.0 km/litre (0.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    The car is smooth, comfortable and give you the luxurious and sporty feel. I would say seems like a perfect car
    1. Petrol consumption is ridiculous.
    2. Steering wheels audio buttons. When you press next it scans the radio and not change to the next saved channel.
    3. The screen/touch screen/infotainment head unit is rubbish. Lags, not user friendly and crashes.
To Improve
1. Petrol consumption
2. Infotainment head unit. Make it better.
3. Steering wheel controls need to be improved.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
29 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Azlan
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2022)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.1 km/litre (9.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    Powerful Engine
    Nice interior
    Car handle quite well during high speed cruise
    Wind noise when cruising above 120kph
    No android auto ( proton stock ui not user friendly)
    Boot space is small to fit balik kampung trip
    Been using for 2 month battery dead & power window not working ( claim warranty left car 3 day at SC to solve )
    Improve after sale service lack of sparepart & to fix certain defect you have put at SC for certain amount of day to rectify the problem
To Improve
Head unit UI
After sale service ( SC keeps giving lame excuse when you problem with your car )
Sparepart are hard to come by
Small boot space
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
29 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Muhammad Helmi
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.3 km/litre (9.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    The exterior are elegant. The most beautiful interior of its class. Engine are good although it 3 cylinders no vibrations like the rumors said all over internet.

    And not forget the dct transmissions, there is no other car at this price range can offer the dct gearbox.
    Proton after sales service still not good as their product. They are improving but at slow rate.

    Wind noise issue also a minus point for the X50
To Improve
After sales service is the only thing that can save Proton. Proton already have a good car lineup. Keep improve your aftersales and if Proton do that it will boost up the confidence of your customers.

Improve your after sales aggressively.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
29 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
leong
1.5T Premium (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    style, power and handling
    interior looks nice, but too many plastics. Rattling sound from dashboard and boot appear within 1 year usage. Planning to have a check on June 23 to see what are the issues.
To Improve
Service centres are coupled with inexperienced mechanics. Been to 3 SCS for some strange noise from front wheels area but one told me it is engine characteristics, second one said couldn't find the source and last one told me to wait until the noise become louder or something broken only to come back. Kinda frustrated having to hear the noise all time while driving but no resolution available from the SC.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
28 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Thanga
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.5 km/litre (10.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 150 km/month
    Comfortable to sit in long journey (wind noise will share in cons)
    Love the headlight height control
    Good visibility through rear view mirror
    Good Windshield design, sometime i dont even turn on viper during rain
    Good stability and control
    Perfect pickup
    Decent speed even in eco mode
    Love the interior design
    Perfect steering size and seat
    Decent aircond coverage
    Trully hate the wind noise
    Stock tire is noisy
    Very poor side mirror field of view, even at driver side alot of blindspot and blindspot monitoring is not only helpful but very subtle and hard to notice
    When folding the side mirror, the sound it male like it going to fall off anytime - scary
    Horrible GUI, Bluetooth wont connect auto everytime, no option to choose folder in USB, horrible built in maps.
    Proton apps to start car is like roullette, sometime can, most of the time cannot even in good line coverage
    Most importantly, worse fuel consumption for a modern car and im a careful driver who makes less braking and rarely hard accelerate from standstill
To Improve
PLEASE IMPROVE ALL PROTON SERVICE CENTER
Feul consumption
Proton apps
Wind noise
Side view mirror
Tyre noise
Everthhing in GUI
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ashraf
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2022)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 65000.0 km/litre (0.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,700 km/month
    Nice gear knob, electronic features
    Not a fast car, wind noise, no google map
To Improve
Add google map
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Fiq
1.5T Executive (2022)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 8.9 km/litre (11.2 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    Smooth acceleration, DCT gearbox is superb, handling is nice
    Wind noise above 100kmh is a bit loud to my ear
To Improve
Must have better sound proofing
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Razif
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    The exterior design, the interior,the engine power, the driving feel & experience
    Fuel consumption, luggage room size, the unfriendly Hud unit
To Improve
To provide latest entertainment hud unit
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Amin
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.5 km/litre (9.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 140 km/month
    Fun to drive everyday.
    Powerful engine
    Wind noise at 140kph
To Improve
Proton should provide android and apple CarPlay
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
James Tan
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 7.0 km/litre (14.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Fun car to drive. Responsive performance whenever I need it.
    Good quality and value
    Proton promised for wind noise fix but still no updates.
    Android auto and Apple car play. Atlas is slow in everything.

    Cmon Proton. U can do better.
To Improve
Wind noise, Android Auto n Apple Car Play. You will be unbeatable in the market if u listen to your customers with both ears.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Owen Cheam
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    Powerful engine and lots of safety tech for its price
    Spacious interior
    High fuel consumption for city driving
    Loud noise at speed of 90 and above
    Small boot space when come to travelling
To Improve
Improve NVH
Reduce fuel consumption
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Roberto
1.5T Premium (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 380.0 km/litre (0.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Value for money
    Quality interior for its segment
    Service is reasonable
    Lovely engine
    They have fixed the leggy screen when reversing
    No regrets buying x50 for daily use.
    Why people complain wind noise? I think my unit has no problem with wind noise.
    -Sensitive sensors. Had problems with parking sensor error just appearing for no reason and disappeared.
    -No Apple car play nor android auto
    -Very thin paint
To Improve
Provide android auto, apple carplay
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Raphael
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    The X50 offers unparalled value for money
    Power and speed good enough for daily usage
    Cabin is spacious and interior quality is above average
    Love the exterior look
    Lack of apple carplay and android auto
    Wonky auto wipers
    Fuel consumption is quite high compared to Japanese cars
    Boot space is inadequate for small family
To Improve
Fix the wind noise at side mirrors
Interior plastic quality can be improved. Looks very easily scratched or damaged
Improve fuel efficiency
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
C L Wang
1.5T Premium (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    The smooth transmission
    The air-con vent directional sticks
To Improve
The interior door handles materials
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Satvinder
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 100.0 km/litre (1.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 200 km/month
    Great looking car , engine is powerful
    1. Cabin plastic quality very poor , noises and creaks everywhere
    2. Wind Noise
    3. Chugs on Fuel
    4. Bad after sales
To Improve
Proton should stop being a cheapskate and improve , we as users have gave feedback through surveys many times yet nothing changes , We paid 116k for this car
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 May 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
JF
1.5T Premium (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,600 km/month
    Very powerful car and good performance given in this price tag. Tons of nice specs and tech in the car. Cabin size is large enough for a family.
    Loud wind noise even only cruising at low speed. The engine sound like a diesel truck. The location of opening your is at a very weird/ lousy placement. You may hurt your wrist easily by opening the boots it self.
To Improve
To improve NVH of the car and most importantly, bring in Apple CarPlay and Android Auto
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 March 2023
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Naaga
1.5 TGDi Flagship (2020)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 10 km/month
    Acceleration top launch
    7 DCT Gearbox gear shifting quickly
    Highway cruising awesome, Not feel it was going high speed
    No android auto, No apple carplay
    Fuel literally high when city driving
To Improve
No comment overall awesome
Yes, I would recommend this car

Proton X50's Competitors