Toyota Vios
 (3.7/5)
owner rating
from RM 989.78 /month
from RM 74,200.00 to RM 93,200.00

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Toyota Vios - Write an owner review

Do you own the Toyota Vios? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Toyota Vios and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

6 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
5 June 2018
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Yang Yang
1.5E (2018)
Bought new, Owned less than 1 year
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,690 km/month
    - Dual VVT-i engine, i feel a lot of different especially on fuel consumption, compare to 2nd gen Vios i drive before
    - 7 Speed CVT with tiptronic gearbox, for me it is a WOW. Paddle shift can't get this feel. Even i shift to high rev 3-3.5k rpm the engine sound still good to go.
    - Suspension & absorber and engine shacking level for Toyota always impressing me, even my car had seat total 5 peoples include myself and i drive for 60km/h in city road, my old man still can look the news in handphone and he also impressed because he never can do it on others people's B segment car
    - Dashboard level lower, make it the driver's view look like wider. Especially my wife sit at behind and she feel she can view wide angle across the car windscreen plus side glass.
    - Very comfortable driver seat and handling. Although i bought the fabric seat variant, E spec. I still feel comfortable during driving experience. Very good handling feel on the road especially speeding.
    - Space quite ok for B segment. the space behind even able to load 4 mid size people without any uncomforable feel. Trunk space have 500L, although less 30L than H brand competitor but if you look closely the design, this Vios 500L space design is optimize to put solid object, not the water though...
    - Built in DVR and free 8GB class 10 micro SD, enough to record full HD for 15 files of 5 minutes videos
    - 360 degree real time view camera, this is the first technology attached to B segment car. For those who got feel previously that you near miss hit people/kids during reverse or start forward the car at home, you won't said this is just a decoration features.
    - Illuminated scuff plate made many people didn't trust that it is built in.
    -standardize the safety feature like, ABS, BA, EBD, TRC, VSC and immobilized control.
    - Joke style sport rims for J and E spec, the biggest disappointment for me to not choose G spec instead.
    - Bore odometer design
    - NO AUTO CRUISE CONTROL, i have check the Vios ECU have the program, and the meter also have icon, so just need to P&P install the stick. I still don't understand why TOYOTA don;t want to install it!!
    - Behind seat very dark especially during night. This problem is not related to tint, but the interior lamp only found at rear mirror there.
    - the DVD-AVX is awaresome, but it is sad that: NO CHINESE LANGUAGE SUPPORT. I did synx with my phone and imported all contact into the player. I feel very sad that the chinese name contact appear as ******. Also, the outgoing call will appear the contact name based on phone, but receving call only appear the phone number, so i have to look to my phone to check who is calling me.
    - 2 airbag is another joke for nowdays B segment car's feature. Please provide at lease 4 airbag.
    - Sound proof quality still poor. Even thought the G spec above have the 3 layers windscreen installed, but the overall sound proof quality still very poor. I have to go to accessories shop to enhance the sound proof installation.
To Improve
- Addon the optional choice for headlamp upgrading, multi-reflector to projector lamp.
- Addon the optional choice for steering wheel upgrading, audio control button.

Overall, the new Vios 2018 nothing much major problem can be complained. I am not regret to choose this Vios among other B segment competitors after i study deep about them.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
6 March 2018
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Fabius
1.5E (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 5.0 km/litre (20.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    what i love about this car is:
    - the most of my favuorite part, fuel consumption is far than any its rival..even better than axia, ive tested it.. about 5L per 100km
    -Rear disc brake
    - it got traction control button
    -rear fog lamp
    -DRL standard
    -the new CVT is smooth and its have shifter mod
    - decent seat with comfortable position
    - the dashboard not to in high position like Honda City gm6, good view for short person like me
    -rear view also okay compareto my Honda City gm6
    - eventho the car look like bigger than the Honda City, i love it because view visible in every angle for tight parking
    - many tech on car like VSC standard across variant
    - plastic everywhere, no soft touch material even for TRD version
    - top spec only 2 airbags? comeone la
    - fake stiching on dash
    - sound system doesnt felt promising
    -road and wind noise, i had to install sound proove
    - Gearbox, slow to response during overtaking, ive owned previos Vios( dugong version) the 4 speed auto is much quicker in terms of speed and quicker in throttle response
    - too soft in rear suspension, whenever i hit the speed bump, always hit my under car
    - the high spec is quite expensive, even the high spec city cost about 87k, the trd cost 96k,nothing fancy what??? if that the case, better buy the E spec, install TRD part at local workshop, upgraded infotainment and it only cost about rm3k.. even the in nissan almera, nismo suspension is added
    -roll body on corner, i had to install ultra racing bar..
    -the car top is really soft, my 10 old niece weight 30kg climb the rooftop, its bend inwards.. imagine if the car totaled upside down
    - the car felt like tin kosong compare to honda city GM6 and Toyota Vios Dugong, if you push the fender side, its felt like its just a steel can easily bent
To Improve
- sound prove
- i know the safety is not on airbag, but comeon, 2 airbag for highest spec rm96k? even city doesnt worth that much.. either put 4 airbag, we got family you know at back..
- no comment on CVT, its have good side, and bad side.. its just CVT nature
- no fake stich please..
- please put a soft touch material, even proton preve have soft touch material up in dashboad.
- no econ button, i hope it will exist somewhere near future
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 November 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Khai wei
1.5G (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.3 km/litre (7.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    -Car is very stable. Nice handling
    -Low RPM on high speed (1.9RPM on 110km/h)
    -Backseat is spacious & comfortable
    -Good service
    -Good Car quality (no problem so far)
    -Smooth CVT
    -Fuel consumption is acceptable
    -ABS, HSA, TRC, Keyless are available in all variants
    -Too much hard plastic in the car.
    -Armrest is not comfortable at all to rest your arm.
    -Steering very heavy (not suitable for lady driver).
    -Only 2 airbags
    -Leather seat is not comfortable (too hard)
    -The gas pedal require too much attention to speed up
    -Bad acceleration with ECO
    -Eco can’t be turn off when the car is moving
    -Meter is ugly, even Myvi looks better
    -Driver seat not spacious enough for tall driver
    -Boring Car (nothing to play with) No pedal shift no cruise control
To Improve
-Airbags! There’s only 2 airbags, City already offer 6 airbags while Vios still stuck with 2 airbags??
-I can accept a lot of hard plastic in the car but how come the armrest also made by hard plastic?
-Make a Eco On/Off button.
-Improve on the meter. Really too simple and ugly.
-Acceleration is bad. Need to be improve.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
11 January 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Finfin
1.5J (A) (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    -Build quality is typical Toyota. Sturdy but don't expect every car is the same.
    -Good exterior looks. Installed GX bodykit. Balanced body proportion.
    -LED strip is love it or hate it. Me? Wish I can remove it.
    -Interior is OK with plenty of hard plastics. OK centre head unit. OK speakers
    -Nice big meters. Easy readability. Most controls are within reach.
    -Seats are comfortable enough. Rear seats too and plenty of room at the back.
    -Performance is good. Power is at midrange (2k rpm and above). Easy overtaking.
    -Gearbox CVT is good. At midrange rev level not too noisy.
    -Suspension is soft. Good for relaxed driving. Still good in highways.
    -Good steering in low and medium speeds and on straight roads.
    -Big boot but I don't really stuff it full.
    -Good safety feature with stability control, finally.
    -Fuel efficiency is good with the CVT but I don't care much coz this car is driven leisurely.
    -Servicing is OK in terms of cost and time required.
    -Stock rims kinda bland in style.
    -Wish side mirrors can be auto-fold as standard like Axia but no.
    -Weird-looking engine cover.
    -Driver seat looks funny from behind if jacked up to the max. Toyota maybe can limit this coz the car is already high in ground clearance. Good drivability but not good for stability. Dangerous.
    -Door armrests all hard plastic. Feels cheap and uncomfortable to rest you hand on.
    -Engine may struggle if car is fully loaded. I mean like really struggle. Maybe the CVT. The old Vios gearbox is not bad when fully loaded. Rubber-band feel is there if pedal-to-the-metal.
    -Suspension setup is comfort-biased so it doesn't inspire confidence in corners. Numb steering doesn't help either. Well it is a city car, not weekend corner sweeper.
    -Lastly that super bright rear fog lamps. Even brighter than the rear red lights. I think one is sufficient like the new Saga.
To Improve
-All the cons, yes.
-Obviously, price. Not exactly cheap with the offered features.
-Also a point to ponder, suddenly stability control is standard on all variant. When introduced back in 2014, the feature isn't even given as an option. At least City did it. Why a car designed with VSC in mind didn't even have it fitted? Even TRD Sportivo variant couldn't have it before. What are you thinking, UMW Toyota? Selling cars with less safety feature when you could have it all installed. Plus, there isn't much price difference against the old Vios, variant-to-variant. That means the VSC system isn't too costly to fit. So yeah, what are you thinking, UMW?
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
11 January 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Faisal
1.5J (A) (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - Good FC, Low rpm at cruising speed
    - CVT with 7 speed virtual manual override
    - Heavy and stable steering while cruising (legal speed)
    - Comfortable and supportive front seat
    - ESC as a standard spec (why i choose this car)
    - Quiet ride and smooth engine+gearbox (compared to Almera or Honda Jazz)
    - Acceptable audio quality
    - Not Airy and spacious (compared to City and Almera)
    - Front Seat is too tall (give a cramp feeling inside the car)
    - Speedometer a bit ugly
    - Lack of storage area (small gear console area, rear door panel no bottle space)
    - No middle cabin lamp
    - Engine lack of urgency/punch (unlike Jazz/City Engine)
To Improve
- Redesign front seat to give better airy and spacious feeling
- Keep the speedometer simple but nice even for J spec (like City s, s+)
- Redesign gear console and door panel to give better storage area (compare to Jazz/City)
- Middle Cabin Lamp! (Not just front only)
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 December 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Azman
1.5G (2015)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.9 km/litre (7.2 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    1) The external design/shape better than city.
    2) Fuel save- EEV, Econ Indicator, 110km/h at rpm 1900
    3) New engine- Dual VVTi w tiptronic 7 speed.
    4) Good RV
    5) After Sales Service
    6) Reduce on engine noise, wind
    7) Projector Halogen
    8) Nice sport rim design-G variant
    9) Nice aerokit design- GX variant
    10) Affordable service/maintainance cost.
    11) Cabin quitness better than city-baby easy to sleep
    12) ample legroom/space
    13) Finally got VSC after 10yrs of production.
    14) CVT fun to drive if you know when you are suppose to press the pedal.
    1) Only 2 airbag even on high spec.
    2) Hard plastic-dashboard, door trim
    3) no paddle shift to play with.
    4) meter panel like myvi, honda city's better
    5) Handling average, city or suprima better.
    6) soft suspension for highway ride but good for 'santai' driving.
    7) Combined leather seat quite uncomfortable but good if you have kids.
To Improve
Add more airbag-why only 2 airbag when city can offer 6 airbag.
Seat for GX variant should b better- combine that two tone color is ugly in my opinion.
Stock tyre profile should change to 195/55/15 instead of 185/60/15 to get more stability/better handling.
Rear suspension Toyota should use multilink instead of torsion beam.
Yes, I would recommend this car

Toyota Vios' Competitors