Proton Preve
 (3/5)
expert rating
 (4.3/5)
owner rating
from RM 744.82 /month
from RM 55,836.52 to RM 69,322.09

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Proton Preve - Write an owner review

Do you own the Proton Preve? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Proton Preve and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

41 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
3 September 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Fabius
Premium CFE CVT (2013)
Bought used, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 8.9 km/litre (11.2 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 790 km/month
    Im buying this car second hand from Proton outlets. Previously, this car was a test drive unit
    The good
    1) the price tag for this premium preve quite decent
    2) 6 airbags for 75k plus... far too good from Vios
    3) rear disc brake
    4)have autoheadlight and auto wiper
    5)decent boot size
    6)if you cruising around 80kmh-120kmh ,you felt proton cvt really smooth
    7)the infotainment is great plus with security..
    8)lots of usefull info going on screen
    9)aircond really cold, I love it
    10) paddleshift and turbo work together and its felt really superb
    11) felt safe in every angle when ride and drive preve
    The negative side:
    1) why the hell preve keeps broke down, first my fan, then my radiator malfunction, then my aircond (in just 4 month of purchase)
    2) the engine gearbox really jerky if slow down
    3) my preve is 1.6 turbo.. after 4 month running, turbo broke down
    4) only 4 month ,I repeat im 4 month, the engine oil clog up the engine
    5) the screen is too small, this car supposed to be a rival to altis and civic
    6) Proton red looking metre is old-school..it is like a 10 yrs technology back... so rubbish, learn from mistake will you?
    7) if slow down and make a turn, the steering felt heavy
    8) the door plastic is extremely cheap quality, learned from other will you how to make a good quality door
    9) dashboard felt cheap.. its felt cheap that its look like 1994 accord cb4 look better than preve..
    10) for the love of God, every button is different from asian car. Example, door unlock button is located at cntre console, ridiculous how I confused at over n over again.. Don't copy europe will you?
    11) speaker at back of rear seat, like what you thinking proton? Its felt unbalance to hear only music at the back
    12) since it always broke down, I need to go check the car like every month..luckily the service centre were nice to me..
To Improve
1) tried to make a good engine will you proton? (Learn from mistake)
2) dear proton, the custom gauge is so reddy.. please change it to more friendly looking metre..
3) if proton seriously want to change, please make the infotainment bigger screen.. in this way its look modern
4) need more color option, the color available is outdated, put dark blue color option maybe
5) the door plastic design need to change
6) please install a speaker at door..
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
11 January 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
T J
Executive MT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    After 15,000km, all I can say is that this car is worth the money. Engine is smooth. Handling very good. Ride is comfortable. Rev matching makes it fun when driving. Fitted the hood insulator , just slightly quieter. That was what was lacking in this car when compared with the CFE or suprima
    Nothing
To Improve
Noithing
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 December 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Mohd Farid
Executive CVT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    - the ride & handling is very good
    - economical for long distance drive if speed around 110-120, can get 5.6l per 100km
    - confident ride for higway cruising, easily to reach 170kph but the top speed only get 190kph
    - good acceleration especially when using the S gear
    - good spacious and very comfortable during long distance travel
    - nvh is good during high speed acceleration
    - built & qulity especially for the wire harness. Had once broke down for high temperature due to wire harness
    - after sales service is poor
    - proton i care is not care enough to their customer
    - late responsive especially after change the gear from N to D, but it get responsive once the car is moving.
    - the engine is audible during high rev especially when to start moving the car but it became quiet after the car is cruising at the high speed
    - the driver seat giving me the quek sound, need to claim warranty to change the new seat
    - cant control my right leg, this car is forcing me to always drive fast hehe
To Improve
- Please improve the after sales service. Proton i care is not helping me during the car breakdown.
- built & quality need to be improved
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 December 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
T J
Executive MT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Updating after first service. Car can touch 170kmh quite easily, though there is a -5 kmh difference when compared with the GPS. It can be pushed higher. Very smooth and stable. Comfortable Engine does not sound as if it is straining. Cruising at 120-130kmh is easy. No complaints so far.
    Consumption is high when fully loaded, 3 passengers and luggage. Quite usual with any car. about 10km/lit
To Improve
Should have bonnet insulator
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
15 December 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Norhilman
Executive CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.0 km/litre (10.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 700 km/month
    - handling is great. Handles nicely on both even an uneven roads.
    - the audio system is good. Remember to adjust the bass and treble to get an immersive experience.
    - the engine sounds quite cool and sporty, not at all loud (it can get a bit loud but what local car below 1.6L engines dont)
    - the car feels solidly built, no creaks but the gear handle does not feel sturdy, not really something to worry but can get a bit uncomfortable.
    - a high range of safety features that almost no car at this price can offer!
    - i love the led lights. You can feel heads turning as you pass through haha!
    - interior is spacious and comfortable. The boot is large too with split folding rear seats.
    - f/c is noticeably lower than my family's exora and persona (probably due to the cvt i guess)
    - i like the cvt gear. You dont feel that gear shock thing but it really needs getting used to.
    - a few extra reverse sensors or at least get better ones for the current sensors. The sensors are slow in detecting and i almost hit a motorcycle while reversing. Im not much of the reverse camera type of person so just update the sensors please.
    - the car jerks a bit from 5-15kph like it's confused trying to change gears or something.
    - f/c though is an improvement over exora and persona is quite high. At the moment i got 11L/100km but the numbers get lower though. The first week i had the car the f/c shoots at 16L/100km!! Now it's getting a bit lower and this is good news.
    - i wish the car came with leather seats. The preset seats can get dirty easily, but easily washable so it's fine.
    - the side mirrors can be folded, but not via a button (perodua axia can be folded via a button!!!). You have to go out and push it inside by yourself. This is quite disappointing but i dont usually do this so it's fine.
    - the boot cant be opened via pressing the car keys. You either insert the key into the keyhole or pull the lever next tocthe driver's seat.
To Improve
Make the reverse sensors better.
A button to open the boot at the carkeys.
A button in the car to fold the sidemirrors.

Overall i am really happy with the car. It's not perfect but it sure is a good buy. Once you drive it, you will love and miss it everytime haha!
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 December 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
T J
Executive MT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Spacious and ride comfort is good. Engine smooth. No "whoom" sound when accelerating. Torque is sufficient to get the car moving fast from traffic lights. Easy to reach 130km/h. Light clutch and short shifts. Pulls well on 3rd and 4th gear. Engine is silent . The gadgets installed are just enough.
    Steering is thin, unlike the steering in Waja CPS and so is the handbrake handle. Gear stick knob would have been better if round in shape. Should have factory fitted reverse camera.
To Improve
Install bonnet insulation like in the Suprima.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
15 November 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Darren
Premium CFE CVT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 4 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    -Superb air cond
    -good acceleration after installing racechip
    -auto headlamp, air cond, wiper and driver window
    -stable in high speed
    -can reach 230kph in top speed
    -spacious in car interior
    -inconvenience without reverse camera
    -cd player screen is too small
    -high fuel consumption when rpm above 2k
    -too sensitive of auto wiper
    -lack when using paddle shift gear mode ,it will auto turn to D mode
To Improve
-should have daytime running light
-should have leather seats
-necessary for reverse camera
-necessary for a bigger screen dvd player at least 7 inch
-at least 17 inch of rim size
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
6 October 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
MOHAMMAD
Executive CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.2 km/litre (8.2 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    - Acceptable noise insulation
    - cabin space is more than just merely sufficient to accomodate 5 adults comfortably
    - boot space is great
    - value for money, Rm61k , with all safety features and space.
    - great handling, like a continental
    - great fuel consumption for long distance, can get around 700km on highway, for my daily driving as i drive 100 km a day in heavy traffic (gombak-shah alam) it gave me around 500 km per tank, around 40L for the full tank)
    -high fc in town 10km/l.. but still better mileage than persona when driving in heavy traffic.
    -engine noise quite high after 2 rpm and accelerating - installed hood insulation, n the noise have reduced
To Improve
To Improve

- hood insulator need to be standard across variant. it does help reducing the engine & cvt noise.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
13 July 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
sudonano
Premium CFE CVT (2014)
Bought used, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.5 km/litre (9.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    In isolation the Preve is indeed impressive for me, in comparison to the Asian competition. In fact, it can give Hyundai a run for the money imo. I would say it would be a bit unfair to compare the Preve to the Japanese rivals (like the Civic and Altis), on the basis the Honda and Toyota have had a couple of decades of experience with the development of family sedans, while for Proton, this is technically only their second 100% self designed car (the Waja doesn't count since it was based off the Volvo S40 and had Mitsubishi guts) after the Persona.

    One of the biggest things that the Proton has over the Elantra and Cerato is the fact that it handles like a 130k car. Seriously, take it around a corner and you know what a balanced car it is. Having driven both Elantra and Cerato, as well as the FD Civic, I would say the Preve would still be the best of the lot, with the FD Civic second. The Preve has this uncanny ability to soak bumps and undulations really well, while still not giving too much body roll when thrown about. It is so stable, that you probably won't see the ESP kicking in for a spirited drive.

    That handling is complemented by the really lovely steering. Being one of the last sedans in it's class with a hydraulic steering, it tells you exactly where the wheels are. This is something most if not all Electric Power Steering - including the Iriz, just cannot do. It is very linear and I would say, responsive too.

    The CFE engine has seen some improvements over the last 3-4 years since it went into production. The turbo is nice, not too noticeable, unlike say some of the older THP engines from Peugeot. It is not perfect like the Germans though, like say the Golf has a much smoother and nicer sounding engine than the CFE here, but for the most part it is alright. Under hard acceleration you notice the engine is grainy at high RPMs, but for a family sedan you won't probably notice it.

    Space wise, the Preve is really good. In the front, materials feel alright, surprising amount of soft touch materials which is nice. Not really any severe ergonomic issues noticed so far, besides the smallish buttons on the steering wheels. The rear is where the Preve wins the Koreans and the Focus, I find the Preve's rear as good as say the FD Civic or even the Altis in terms of comfort. The seat base is a bit on the soft side, which might be a long term issue if lots of people sit at the back as it may sag. Noticed this even on the Suprima S and the Iriz though for those two models, opting for leather seats helps to reduce the sagginess of the rear bench. Having said that the seat itself is very comfortable for a long drive, and there is enough space even if a 6 footer is driving.

    Safety too is one of the Preve's strong points. For a start it is one of the safest sedans out there, starting off with the HPF chassis which makes it pretty strong - also helps in body control. 6 airbags, ESP and ABS is standard - also a good thing, and with the 5 star NCAP rating from Australia (proven by some of the pictures of people with Preves making it pretty well even in a crash) it is really safe. In fact, for once Proton really did something right from the start, gone are the days of the Milo tin Protons, which is a really good thing.

    Being local, the Preve plays the value card well. The CFE has almost everything you need, from a touchscreen satnav, auto lights, wipers, paddle shifters, water repellent seats and push button ignition. However, while on paper this looks great and some of it works great (like the water repellent seats and the auto lights/wipers), some things like the push button ignition and the touchscreen are a bit half baked.
    One main take away with the hydraulic steering and good feel is the heavy steering in low speeds, in fact, in comparison to bigger cars with hydraulic steering, the Preve feels heavier than usual. This makes parking a bit of a chore, in comparison to the EPS equipped rivals. Things like the FD Civic feel much nimbler at low speeds.

    Fit and finish, well for the most part, it is one of Proton's best yet (after the Iriz), issues still remain. For a start, the car is about a year old now, and the doors squeak here and there when opening and closing. One more annoying issue is the power window for the driver, where when it winds up, the entire power window button assembly on the door lifts along with it - it should be just a loose screw but for Proton to call this a global car etc, you wonder what is actually going on...

    The technology as mentioned, on paper looks good, but some things are so half baked, you wonder why it can still pass through their planning. First off, when you lock the door, the mirrors fold. Fine, well and good. But when you unlock and start, nothing happens. You need to manually unfold unless you drive above a certain speed - I mean what were they thinking? How do you expect to reverse out of a parking bay? Then comes the keyless start. Sure it is nice to have the fob, but without keyless entry, it's a bit dumb - still can be forgiven since Merc and BMW still get away with this. But here is the catch, Proton insists you place the key in the slot, then press the button. Eh hello Proton, this is 2012 (when it came out), not 2003. Even the Koreans and heck, the French got it right! The start process is another interesting quirk, it is recommended to press the button with the foot off, to bring it to ON mode, then place the foot on the brake and press again to start - mainly to prevent the over cranking issue. For me this should not be the case, pretty much every modern push button ignition car I have driven doesn't have this issue. The other joke is the touchscreen. Do yourself a favour and throw it out and get something else. Proton has really failed in this department miserably over the last few years, with the Bosch unit in the Preve with the tiny screen but huge bezels and the hopeless Android ones in the Suprima and Preve. Why not use back the Blaupunkt or Clarion ones they used to source for the other models. The Bosch one here is not very responsive and the graphics look poor. The GPS map too is so out of date and you can't have 3rd party maps like in the Toyota systems that use a Garmin based setup.

    Styling is subjective, for me the front is well done, the sloping profile is alright but the boot feels a bit high for me. The rear details are a bit off, especially cause the main brake light that comes on when you press the brakes are bulb based while the accent lights that are on when the headlights turn on are LED. They should have done an all LED system like on the Persona. The LED front lights also are accent lights only, not DRLs unlike the Suprima. I would wonder if I could swap out for those as that would give the car more presence. The rear doors have a bit of a sharp edge at the top part, where the ends closer to the C pillar is too sharp for me. It is a bit of a hazard imo - something a global car shouldn't have.

    The best of them all is the last, the CVT transmission. Oh goodness it is really bad. In city or parking, it is jerky cause it uses an electric clutch, like the VW DSG DQ200 that has an electronic controller for the clutch instead of a hydraulic controller (like in the Honda EarthDreams CVT). You would wonder what was Proton thinking when they built a driver's car with a CVT. Under hard acceleration, the infamous drone is there, and it is bad... The paddle shifts are vague, and just feels fake. In fact it feels like the car is slipping gears. Toyota does a really good job with the CVT to make it feel like an auto, something Proton should seriously do. Or if not, get a proper conventional 6 speed auto.
To Improve
Quality needs to be improved fast, as well as the parts used in the car like the touchscreen. Also, the CVT must go, it is really horrid.

Include telescopic steering in the facelift, the current tilt only is odd when cheaper cars like some Peroduas have this. Also, sort out the bulbs at the back and the DRLs.

On a whole, it isn't a bad car, small issues here and there (besides the CVT of course), but for the price it is alright. Here is the thing though, I let it slide cause of the price, but if not, while it can compete with the Koreans (in the handling and comfort but not the build quality - at least not for the Cerato), it still cannot beat or at least match the Civic or Corolla. Having said that, on a budget for an affordable, good to drive and safe and practical family car, the Preve does do well.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 July 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Alvin
Executive CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.3 km/litre (9.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    Great Handling
    Comfort and spacious compare to other C segment car
    Large boot Space
    Hard Body Material - Used to collide with Rx330 but no major dent on my car.
    Great Safety Features
    Aircond is Superb
    Fuel saving on long distance highway
    Value for money. Rm61k with all safety features and space. I think it is worth.
    Seat quality is worst. Replaced 3 times in 1 years+
    The Worst tranny i ever had
    Wet clutch that i hate the most
    Engine is loud
    Underpowered
    CVT whinning is very loud compare to others CVT tranny car
    Poor engine mounting quality
    High fuel consumption in city drive or stop to go traffic
To Improve
Engine refinement
Prefer torque conventer type of clutch
Improve soundproofing work especially to the tranny
introduce Turbo across all variant that did in Suprima S
Introducing DRL
Change seat supplier/vendor
The engine mounting need to be improve
Prefer 6 speed automatic conventional gearbox
Soundproofing work for wind noise and engine noise.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 July 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Khai
Premium CFE CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    - High Speed Stability.
    - Abundance of seat space. 3 adults seats comfortably at the back, can fit 3 child seat at the back.
    - Great Acceleration in Highway, can match most BMW's
    - Good long distance fuel economy, better than most cars if driven very fast.
    - Gets up to 600km per tank using RON97 if driven according to National speed limit.
    - Horribly Unrefined Engine and Transmission when using RON95
    - City Driving Fuel Economy
    - Premature Tire wear if using standard pressure recommended, owners has to find the sweet spot, (Hint-just follow VW Jetta's)
    - ESC off button only switch off TCS but not the whole stability control
To Improve
- Reduce Power Train Noise and Vibration,
- Higher ground clearance
- A less stiffer suspension
- a true ESC off mode.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 July 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Sol
Premium CFE CVT (2014)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.5 km/litre (9.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    - Value for money car with good specification and features such push start button, paddle shift, auto wiper, autolamp, autoclimate and autocruise. Pay segment B price for Segment C size.
    - Poweful engine performance, fast acceleration and high top speed.
    - Spacious interior and large luggage space. Very comfortable to accommodate five adult.
    - Strong and rigid chassis with HPF technology. Stable when high speed cruising on highway.
    - Stylish and modern design with LED and projector lamp.
    - Lotus ride and handling really make me enjoy ride this car on bend road.
    - Superb and cool aircond.
    - CVT whining sound notiable inside the cabin
    - Seat are a bit hard and noisy compared to my previous Proton Gen2.
    - Quality and fitting issue.My car boot trunk is not properly align.Door and trunk need to push hard to close.
    - Dashboard and door panel rattle and vibrate during hard acceleration.
    - Fuel consumption for city driving is a bit high due to body weight.
    - GPS is not practical to use. Map outdated, not user friendly and less interactive compare to waze and google map.
    - Phone bluetooth is useless. People can't hear your voice clearly.
To Improve
- Engine and CVT refinement
- Proton really need to work hard on quality control.
- Change the seat material.
- Introduce ECO mode for city driving.
- Provide compherensive technical training and common prolem solving skill
to SC technician.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
3 May 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Nicholas
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 5,000 km/month
    My Preve 2012 (1st Batch) bought in July 2012 is already 140,450km....what i can say is:

    -Reliable as i will be reaching 150k km in July (Going to be 3 years)
    -Considered a powerful engine for its class (of course cannot compete with VW or Ford)
    -Good handling compared to many cars in its class
    -Good features and specification
    -Value buy with the specifications
    -Big car and spacious.
    - Quality need to be improved (The 2014 and 2015 Preve is much better than mine 2012)
    - Engine is not refine compared to many other cars
    - Push Start features not a real push start.
    - Cabin noise is not well insulated.
    - Fuel consumption is on the higher side for a turbo 1.6 but comparable to a 2.0 NA car.
To Improve
I spend about RM4k to refine the car and for the price RM70k + RM4k ....it is worth the price to buy. Especially good for salesman travelling outstation.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 March 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
pzul
Executive CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 22000.0 km/litre (0.0 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 200 km/month
    -Drive like a luxury car for me.
    -handling superb in any situation
    -huge capacity and got huge boot space
    -comfortable for 5 adult for long journey
    -air condition so cold
    -sound system so loud no need to add any booster
    -strong chasis when you driving at 140km/j
    -safety 5star ancap
    -FC in city very quite "makan minyak"
    -ecu was updated but still same happen
    -jerk when accelerate 0-100 and reverse
    -engine quite noisy when I accelerate in full pedal. (air filter problem i guess)
    -when you in highway u will not drive in 100km/j because this car so fast and need for speed. lol
To Improve
-re program ecu
-drl likes suprima s
-recall all variants to change the hairy seat
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 December 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Clinton
Executive CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 8.0 km/litre (12.5 L/100 km), RON95
    - acceptable noise insulation which is better than many of the japo junks
    - cabin space is more than just merely sufficient to accomodate 5 adults comfortably
    - boot space was a total surprise to me when i first opened it on the day i received my car! i cn actually hide my mistress in it with my wife in the car (haha! just kidding im not married)
    - ease of use, u can get just anything u could ask for in this price range more than most of the competitors of the same price range out there.
    - value for money is commendable too as you basically get an up-segment car n driving experience with the price of a smaller n cheaper range cars compared to competitors out there.
    - DEFINITELY the fuel consumption! the rated fuel consumption is 5.8l/100km? the real world fuel consumption is actually DOUBLE the claimed one at 11.5l/100km. LOL this is frustrating as i hv to always b concerned of my speed when driving just so i could drive my car at optimum speed for optimal fuel efficiency( if u would even call that as efficiency)
    - suspension system a bit too stiff as it really feels like being torn apart when going through uneven roads and pot holes. (this might be due to the considerably good ride n handling of the car so they sacrificed some of the comfort)
    - gearbox i guess, as i shift the gear from D to R or vice versa, the car wouldnt move a single bit until i stab hard onto the accelerator. this is causing a lot of inconvenience during situations whr we need to shift n act fast to fight for a parking slot. it is making parking job on the slope a whole lot harder than usual too. i believe this might be due to the heavy weight of the car.
To Improve
-the insufficient power after shifting issue needs to be resolved n all Preve owners shud b recalled to fix it as it is really inconvenient.
- fuel efficiency is also another things that needs serious improvements if Proton would really like to survive in today's world as more are looking at kml instead of kmh nowadays in the hustle n bustle of the city driving.
Other than the above problems, the car is good to get along with.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
24 October 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Duane
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 10.5 km/litre (9.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Safety - A full suite of world class passive & active safety features such as ESP, ABS, TC, Brake Assist, Frontal Airbags, Side torso airbags & Full-length curtain airbags ensures that you and your loved ones are safe in the event of an accident. It also scored a full 5-star ANCAP rating which bests the new Honda Accord, Range Rover Evoque & Jaguar XF.

    Performance - 0-100km/h in about 9+ seconds, 205Nm torque from 2000rpm makes for an effortless drive and makes breeze when the need to overtake a car quickly arises. Unless you are used to driving world class competitors such as the VW Golf / Jetta or the Ford Focus, you will be amazed at how much better the acceleration is compared to those Japo Junks like the Civic or Corolla Altis. S-mode on the transmission improves acceleration compared to D

    Ride & Handling - A relatively comfortable ride that makes long distance highway cruising relaxing, coupled with a fully-independent rear suspension system (the only car to have it in the same price bracket) , sharp & weighty steering with decent feedback inspires confidence in spirited driving. Although the Suprima S has less body roll and handles better, it's ride seems a tad stiffer.

    Space & lots of it. Has the best legroom and shoulder room among cars in the same price bracket. Boot space is equally cavernous at 508L, and swallows up your monthly shopping with ease.

    Proton's long standing reputation of making freezing airconds really speaks for itself. No matter how long the car has been parked under the sun, the cabin could be cooled within a minute or two. It doesn't even need rear air cond blowers as it's powerful enough to cool even those sitting at the rear.

    Reliability - In the past 2 years of owning the car, it has not once refused to start, overheat, or even lost power while driving. Those comments about Proton's reliability being worse than Perodua's are unfounded. Also, the Power window has yet to fail on me. It is a decent everyday car that suits most occasions and would be functioning when you need it.
    NVH refinement, or rather the lack of it. Wind Noise, CVT whine and Road Noise(mainly due to those useless Champiro BAX2's used).

    Missing certain current trends in Car Technology such as Voice Control (for the Satnav) Engine start-stop system, Autonomous Emergency Braking, Distance Alert & Collision warning, Radar-Guided Cruise Control, Lane Departure Warning, Blind Spot information system, Active Lane Keeping Assist, Parallel Park Assist and Rear-facing Cross Traffic Alert.

    Visibility can be a problem, Blind-spots around those THICK A-Pillars (Presumably due to safety requirements) can be annoying. Reverse Camera is also necessary due to the tall boot and high window line.

    Driving Refinement can be annoying due to the clutch-based Punch VT3, hillstarts require the use of a handbrake as the clutch engagement is synchronised with the brake pedal (you can't use your left foot to hold the brakes while you feather the throttle). Loud roar and vibration from the transmission when stomping on the gas pedal from a standstill.

    Again, on the transmission, The slow, jerky and noisy CVT robs the otherwise decent engine of some acceleration. Eventhough acceleration is good, the Engine is not showing it's true potential as it could with the yet to be launched Getrag 6 speed manual or a torque converter Auto, or even a twin-clutch transmission.

    City driving can yield some pretty shocking fuel consumption figures as high as 12-13L/100km (though highway fuel economy averages between 6.7-7.5 L/100km). Partly, this could be attributed to the weight of the car, as it is about 150kg heavier than a Honda Civic, at nearly 1.4 tonnes.

    Gimmicks such as the "keyless" entry and push button start still requires inserting the key (Safety issue as the key can also be removed while engine is running), Auto wipers which seem to have a mind of their own, turning themselves faster when the rain eases up, and slowing it down when the rain gets heavier.

    Quality & consistency of the parts quality. Disc brakes were warped when I collected the car, The VVT one way valve leaked 6 months into ownership, the seats have been swapped twice for fraying in the fabric.

    Let's face it, brand image can be a problem. Close friends and relatives would look at your new ride with some scepticism and asked why didn't you get a similarly priced Vios for the same money.
To Improve
After-sales service - A simple oil change could take up to half a day at most service centers, and most staff are simply oblivious to any common issues with the model.
Brand Perception
Vendor QC - terminate their contract if they fail to meet certain standards
City Fuel Economy
Sound insulation of the cabin
Ditch the whiny & slow CVT that robs the engine of power and introduce the 6 speed manual as an option.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
25 August 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
haikal hazri
Premium CFE CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 5,000 km/month
    -Proton Ride & Handling
    -On demand power
    -safety features
    -air condition
    -intelligence features and body control modules
    -space
    -technology used
    -finish and fitment
    -fabric seat
    -fuel consumption
    -material quality on fitment
    -unfriendly service centre
    - Fitment consistency
    -icare
To Improve
-improve on customer service
- improve after sales service
-service duration
-top notch quality material
- fuel economy
-people impression
-marketing
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
12 August 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Pheonix
Executive CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 6.7 km/litre (14.9 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,000 km/month
    Big space for interior. Enough storage around passenger seat. Great performance on highway, town move & hill up. Fuel Efficiency 6.7L/100km. Great handling - control & CVT smooth drive. Great break system.
    Feel low power when start moving & reverse.
To Improve
Need ECU re-Program.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
20 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ahmad
Executive CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 8.0 km/litre (12.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 600 km/month
    very spacious cabin, boot. it have good sound system. Fuel consumption relatively good for highway driving. handling for this car is superb, very good traction especially when cornering. smooth cvt transmission. value for money for a big sedan.
    low power engine for exec variant, so might effect on fuel efficiency in city driving or when u have full passenger onboard. dashboard feel plastic. engine sound feels loud in the cabin
To Improve
improve on material selection, as when u enter the car, u know the cheep feeling. rear lamp design should be better. improve on sound insulation.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
10 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ahmad
Premium CFE CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 9.6 km/litre (10.4 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    Handling, Excellent cornering,Good for money to performance ratio, Excellent safety features, bigger front and rear legroom, CVT engine very smooth and comfortable.
    High full consumption due to big body and weight ratio, road and wind noise, Campiro BAX2 seems not a good tyre, need to change other brand,
To Improve
Introducing an "Eco Mode" , especially driving in Urban and high traffic density area, Improving internal finishing (Dashboard, HU), change to more good quality tyre for standard
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
5 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Kenneth
Executive CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 7.6 km/litre (13.2 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    It is huge! Lots of legroom and interior space. The boot is really big too. Very nice and comfy to bring around a group of friends or family on a long drive.
    I like the little extra features that won't be found in a lot of other cars of the same price - things like the nifty handsfree bluetooth function, to the 6 airbags, USB slots and etc.
    Driving is a real pleasure most of the time. Goes over bumps and those little faults in the road without jolting the passengers.
    The airconditioning is awesome. The interior gets cool really quickly on our typical hot, humid Malaysian afternoon.
    I have to say it's a pretty darned good looking car.
    Sluggish when starting off at the traffic light, or when accellerating on the highway
    Has this loud "bwhhooaaaaaaa..." sound when I press harder on the accelerator, i.e. when overtaking, wanting to speed up, or going up a hill
    Pretty high on the fuel consumption
    The handling could be a bit better, I think, but maybe I'm used to a hatchback's handling.
    When I first received the car, there was this "duk-duk-duk-duk" sound and shuddering vibration whenever I brake from a higher speed. Did some research and found out that it was a common problem to do with imperfections on the disc brakes. Sent it to an authorised service centre, they sanded it or something, but the sound was still there. The next week I just brought it to the COSE and they replaced the disc brakes, and the problem was solved.
To Improve
Common problems (like the disc brakes) should already be checked and rectified even before delivery of the car. Authorised service centres should not just take the easy way out, and should replace the part should it be the solution. As it is, I won't be returning the the other service centre, and will be sending my car to the COSE all the way.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
5 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
rizan
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 550 km/month
    - Excellent in handling and braking..on water floating the car stabilize via the ECS
    -Good acceleration, 0-100 just in 10++ second,really enjoy when overtaking
    -Big cabin and boots. I can put 3 bag golf easily in the boots
    -Very economical fuel consumption when in long distance drive
    -All buttons reachable,all display info are clear
    - fast car!
    -GPS was outdated,cannot update
    -the seat cover have to replace,hairy
    -the HU player really old style
To Improve
-The sales after service have to really improved,really!
- The noise on dashborad
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Tiyaga
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 6.0 km/litre (16.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 6,000 km/month
    - Soft turbo 138HP just nice for quick acceleration whenever needs to overtake
    - Fuel efficient
    - Stable at cornering with ESC function
    - S mode, the engine and gearbox control units activate more aggressive shift logic and a form of rev-n matching
    - Auto-wiper and auto-headlight really useful
    - Rev limiter to avoid prevent damage to the engine
    - Although the CC is 1.6, but with turbocharged engine can output power equivalent to 2.0 CC cars

    - Rattling noise from dashboard
    - Alignment problem with new cars
    - Rear absorber not that soft, fell bumpy on uneven road condition
    - turbo lag from 60-90km/h
    - Boot sensor activated on bumpy roads
To Improve
-Improve QC of the interior
-Increase horsepower
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ben
Premium CFE CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 8.5 km/litre (11.8 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    -1.6L turbo is giving me a good power and torque when i need.also to compete others in it c-segment class.
    -very fuel efficiency on highway drive.base on my experience it was average 7.5L/100km or 13km/L.
    -handling with confident and it does perform better than some Korean and Japaneses made.as i really driven them hardcore.
    -comfortable with the ride even with that slightly harder suspension setup.
    -spacious interior.huge rear leg room and huge boot.my kids was enjoying with the rear space when the 1st day i brought the car.
    -with alot of safety feature and rigid chassis of 5 star ancap rating.giving safer when i fetching my family.
    -one of the best proton had on the air condition system.cold indeed.
    -mini-minor rattling sound from no where on dashboard.
    -driver seat was having a irritating sound....which my old saga and wira never had this issue.
    -fuel efficiency can goes very bad till as 14L/100km or 7km/L in a heavy traffic or traffic jam.on my experience.
    -NVH was lack at some bad road condition.
    -GPS map was outdated without free upgrade.
To Improve
TO PROTON,

First off all.after sales.Service center that's the only option we will direct go for.
-so don't simply give some answer without doing anythings or just saying "Bang,normal proton problem mah." which i had experience it once before.
-warranty on the replacement parts.taking a few weeks to wait on the parts.please to be improved.


The QC control for the car can be better since this car was a huge step forward compare to others proton model.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Jered
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 8.5 km/litre (11.8 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 600 km/month
    Auto wiper works well during rainy day
    Large boot space and leg room
    Handling and stability when driven fast
    Various safety features
    Audio system
    Manual and sports mode are entertaining
    Useless keyless push start button (Driver still need to insert key anyway)
    Engine does not run smooth on sold start. Hiccup sound could be heard, smoke with burning oil smell could be smelt
    Very high fuel consumption. (Honda Accord 2.4L still gives better fuel consumption). Full tank lasts 330 to 360km in town driving
    Side mirror need to be unfolded manually
    Outdated GPS. Current owner need to pay RM300 to get updated map
    Boring and ugly looking interior (Air cond control knobs, various empty slots even it is a premium version)
    Very very lag pick up (Acceleration from 0km, at the traffic light). Pick up when the car is moving is superb.
    Unwanted sound starts to appear after 1 and a half years.
    Poor soundproofing
To Improve
Auto unfold side mirror
The interior finishing (Air cond control knobs)
Fuel consumption
Equip with eco mode for better fuel consumption
Reduce noise level (Soundproofing)
Ditch CVT and replace with better gearbox
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Chao Ming
Executive CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 8.3 km/litre (12.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 680 km/month
    - Handling very good and nice to drive
    - Feel stable in high speed compare to others in segment
    - Spacious and comfortable
    - Good legroom for driver and passengers
    - Good fuel consumption
    - Rear view very attractive compare to others in market
    - Can be drive gently or sporty and will not disappoint
    - Good comment from old people on back sit.
    - Underpower when stop in front of traffic or after slowdown on highway
    - Interior looks plastic
    - Lack of active safety technology and driving assist technology
    - Lack of quality in car room's soundproof
To Improve
- Seats and driver's armrest can be replace by leather.
- Back sit headrest should be redesign.
- More active safety and driving assist technology.
- CVT transmission can be improve.
- Some parts of interior can be replace by better soft touch plastic or leather
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Hui Qing
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    - Decent power
    - Good handling, you'll feel confident when driving this car
    - Stable on high speed cruising
    - Packed with features & accessories
    - Spacious boot space and decent seat & legroom space
    - Fun car to drive
    - Good safety features
    - CVT whinning noise
    - Dashboard rattling sound especially under hot sun
    - Seats are not comfortable for long ride
    - Power window minor issue
    - FC quite high for city drive condition
    - Built in GPS is quite useless in most cases
To Improve
- Some service center staffs & technicians knowledge about this car (or upcoming cars with new tech/accessories) are not good enough. Sometimes we owners know more compared to them. This is not OK.
- Build quality, Proton need to choose better vendor for parts & accessories
- Brand image
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
2 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
SeongHan
Premium CFE CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 10.3 km/litre (9.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,062 km/month
    1) Excellent driving pleasure, talks about high speed stability & cornering.
    2) Full safety feature with 5-stars ANCAP.
    3) A soft-turbocharger car comparable to 2.0cc, power is there when you need it.
    4) Boot space is enormous .
    5) Comes with neat features that aid on your driving experience, auto-headlamp/auto-wiper/auto-fold win mirrors/welcome light & many more which you could hardly get on the market with this price point.
    1) Annoying CVT whining noise, not loud but noticeable.
    2) Problematic when driving on heavy traffic jam or reverse on a uphill road.
    3) Poor FINISHING on certain parts.
    4) Poor soundproofing.
    5) Chargeable GPS map update.
To Improve
1) Improve after-sales service, when a problem can't be fixed or lazy, don't say it's normal. Find a way to workaround other than sending us home. Less chanting and more professional works ethic since servicing a car at service centre took HOURS long.
2) Revise your QUALITY CONTROL policy, there are always issues here and there which we have to visit Service Centre regularly. Committed to Be Better or Committed to Visit SC?
3) Ensure more variety of Petronas engine oil at all service centres, not just the mainstream Syntium 800 & 1000.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
mohd hafiz
Executive CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    -love the handling, give me the experience of driving the lotus car.
    -quit excellent on the road, surf on highway smoothly.
    -sound system are good.
    -noise of the CVT gearbox can hear from inside.
    -sometime the engine sudden death without any warning while idling.
To Improve
To Improve
-wish the general problems such as fuel pump, and braking sound, could be solve and no issue for next market car.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Mohammad Asyraf
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,500 km/month
    Superb handling, good fuel efficiency on highway cruising. Consistently driving from and to KLIA and i found this car is very confident in high speed cruising while keeping fuel consumption at good level.

    Power is there when needed. It's a light turbo, adequate power when needed.

    Space! Lot of them. Boot is big, rear legroom had my mother complaining she couldnt hear that i need her to buckle up before moving in front.

    Safety level is good. 10k km per service, that is good and quite cheap compared to many C segment.
    Some rattlings sounds (as if i dont experience it on any toyota or honda before).

    Interior finishing, and fitting need to be tighter and more solid.

    I dont like the Bosch HU. The GPS is no good. Same unit in Suzuki SX4 anyway.

    Cvt whining can be irritating at times. But they improved it on suprima s, in my experience.
To Improve
Interior design and fitting.

QC should be better.

Service center, they should ditch the bad wakil servis around that do bad job. Annoying at times.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Thayanand
Premium CFE CVT (2011)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    1.Good ride & handling for a Proton
    2.Good mid level torque
    3. LP Turbo helps during overtaking
    4.Commendable gadgets
    5.Spacious interior
    6.Adequate boot space
    7.Good breaks
    1. FC is high in town driving.Even if i am light footed, FC for long distance is not something to shout about. More weight more fuel consumption.
    2. Turbo and Torque pancit when there are added weight, if 1 driver you feel the max power, Power degrades with more passengers/weight onboard.
    3. GPS is rubbish, so is the touch screen Head unit.Sound from speakers are not bad though
    4. NVH need improvement, rattling noise from dashboard and engine compartment during cold starts.
    5.Power window issues, loud tok noise when the window is wound down.
    6.poor paint job, got lots of fingernail scratchs on the door handles.
    7.folding side mirror need to un fold before the car moves.
To Improve
Service and Customer service is one of the worst. Gomen and Proton says Malaysians need to support local car, but how when the service is pretty bad.Sales advisers wash hands the moment you get the car out of the showroom, Service advisers are rude, not customer friendly, parts are always not available even in those big 3S centers, and they take months to be procured.The best part is if you question the Service Advisers, they give you the dumb face reaction and always no ETA on the jobs. Every service takes 1 whole day to complete (8 Hours) and updates are always given at the last minute when there is something major which requires to be replaced. Terribly disappointed with this. Other wise the car it self is a big improvement. Image will improve and confidence will build up if this is done
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
26 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Muhammad Taufik
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 8.0 km/litre (12.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    Average FC, 12 ltr /100km, 95% city driving.
    The car have the size and feels big for passenger and large boot size.
    The acceleration is fast and the speedometer goes up quickly.
    Good handling, suspension and grip especially during cornering.

    City drive FC is pricey.
    Weird in car sound here and there after 1 year of usage.
    Noticeable performance drop after long hours of intercity driving.
To Improve
Maps is getting outdated very fast with pricey updating cost.
To Increase performance durability in longer hours of driving.
Smaller service center should be able to handle major trouble shooting request.
To remove rough gearbox sounds with better quality components.
Should do away with cheap key chain and rm20 petrol gift only.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
23 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Abdul Rahman Shah
Executive CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95
    -Suspensions feels grounded
    -rear seats are comfortable for oversize adults.
    - boot size is big. good for my balik kampung trips
    - i go back long distance often, the car feels steady when speeding down the highway. sometimes you dont realize that you're speeding until you look at the speedo.
    - the cvt whine. especially at low speed.
    - minor quality issues. even though proton addresses the issues raised during the service meetups, the thing is, sometimes, hours are spent at the service centres.
To Improve
- the cvt whine is on everyones list of something to improve on. so, please do something about that whine noise.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
23 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Amir
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95
    - Cornering is superb even with the ESC turned off. You can actually feel the moment when the car about to understeer. This car give you confidence and control. Lotus did a great job here.
    - Brake is set up nicely, with reasonable space between trail and hard braking. ABS kicks in when needed only.
    - Pacy engine with the throttle set up nicely to complement the engine.
    - Can be a boring family car if you need it but push it to manual mode and rev up to 5000 for some fun.
    - The touchscreen radio/GPS/bluetooth is close to useless. Sound system is not so good.
    - Cheap looking dashboard. Clothed interior a real turnoff.
    - CVT whine is there but you will get over it eventually.
    - FC is not impressive especially for urban driving.
To Improve
This car really deserves a better interior and a better transmission. If Proton can improve the interior, fit a better entertainment system and improve the transmission, the car can be great instead of good. There are some complaints from users in the internet on the car, but I had driven this car for 67000km and so far so good. I think the real fix that Proton have to make is on their brand image since it is hard to explain to my parents why did I bought this car instead of the other boring sedan.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
hafiz
Executive CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95
    the driving dinamics are really great, good on corners, once you are up to speed its really comfortable to drive.
    its a CVT so you rarely drive above 2k rpm at the highway.

    its a NA so not to compared with the performance of its premium sibling, quite ok performance once you know your car characteristics.
    the NVH are poor, can hear engine sound quite visible when start moving. have to gently step on the paddle.
    seats emits squeaky sound over time. but no worry just change new one at service center haha..
To Improve
NEED to improve on the NVH of the vehicle even thought it is executive variant, the CVT are not refine need to look into that.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Kai Cheng
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 8.0 km/litre (12.5 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    The stylist outlook
    High fuel consumption, full tank cannot even go 400 km. The car seat cushion has low quality, 1 year after newly purchased the car seat cushion already the threads coming off (bulu-bulu). Compared to my more than 10 years old Iswara, the car seat is still good! See the quality difference? Another things worst of all, within 6 months I drove the car, the engine oil leaking and 2 original batteries went dead, totally flat cannot be charged up had to change new battery! Goodness! And recently the gear plastic handle came off! Gosh! Is there any quality control?
To Improve
Most important, the fuel consumption...
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
mohd hafiz
Executive CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 9.0 km/litre (11.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    -love the handling, give me the experience of driving the lotus car.
    -quit excellent on the road, surf on highway smoothly.
    -sound system are good.
    -noise of the CVT gearbox can hear from inside.
    -sometime the engine sudden death without any warning while idling.
To Improve
-wish the general problems such as fuel pump, and braking sound, could be solve and no issue for next market car.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Kamarul
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    -CFE engine fastest acceleration and top speed in the price range
    -Spacious interior especially on the back and huge boot space
    -Amazing ride and handling - fast cornering and ESC as added safety measure
    -Auto wiper, auto headlamps, auto aircond, auto flip side mirrors, auto cruise work very well
    - So many SC available almost everywhere
    -Dashboard rattles due to engine mounting design flaw in 2012 batch
    -Wind noise coming from back door windows need frequent checking by SC
    -CVT whine in 2012 batch is quite noticeable
    -FC is high in city and traffic jam
To Improve
-Dashboard can be made with more quality material
-CVT noise can be improved
-Improvement on engine for better FC in town driving
-Side mirror should automatically flip when turning engine on, not waiting until car starts to move
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
22 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Fariz
Premium CFE CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 11.0 km/litre (9.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,500 km/month
    - the ride and handling is superb...in addition of CFE or Turbo, this car is the answer for those who loves to speed (please mind that speed kills)

    - the safety aspect of this car overtakes those car with a higher price tags....5*ANCAP as well as AseanCAP will make you less worried to carry your family going around town, beaches or hill resorts...

    -The space that you will find in this car, makes you wonder if you bring enough stuffs or bags during holiday or simply just to the office...in term of passanger rear legroom, it was generous...and the same can be said about boot spaces

    -this car has enough tools or toys for a lazy or forgetful person....auto lights, auto rain sensor as well as a paddle shifters if you want to play with the 7 speed shiftronic gear without lifting your hand from the steering

    -speaking of hot weather that our beloved country has, don't worry....this car have great aircond blower...
    - fuel consumption is bad...however many will argue that it depends on how light your feet is...but for me, my car drinks fuel just like we loves teh tarik (ok, bad analogy)

    -Proton built quality....err generally what you expect from Proton...in my example, on the driver side...the switch for power window will slighty 'terangkat' when I use the the window...besides that the hard plastics use for the dashboard are quite boring to look at...

    - Proton service centre mostly (not all) has bad services with attidue 'alah bang, biasalah kereta proton'

    - the gps that came with this car are bad, or in my case, useless...the map provided are not up to date and the worst is, customer will need to pay RM350 to update the map...my advice : don't bother to get it updated and use the money to buy external gps with lifetime free map update

    -there is no hill start assist feature that are fitted in suprima s...without this feature, the driver need to pull handbrake, push the paddle and release the handbrake once you feel the car slightly moves...just like driving a manual car...but don't worry, I think thus is a minor setback only
To Improve
Dear Proton engineers and managers,

1. Please improve your after sales services at serbice centre because there is a lot of your service centre staffs are incompetent, rude and amateur...

2. Pleaee improve your build quality and hire a strict quality checker at your manufacturing plant

3. Please make your engine more fuel efficient...

4. Please do not blaming the people if they do not want to buy your car...please rectify the problems in your car before blaming others
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
21 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Ezanie
Premium CFE CVT (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 12.0 km/litre (8.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 3,500 km/month
    Quite powerful engine for a 1.6 litre engine
    Big boot space
    less fatigue when driving long distance
    Precise handling especially during cornering

    a little bit high fuel consumption
    need to overcome front headlamp bulb frequent blow/always needs replacement
    Push start button sometimes hard to start the engine
To Improve
Dashboard material needs improvement
Fabric seat should be replaced by leather (fabric seat quality issue)
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
30 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
LING
Premium CFE CVT (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
RON95, Mileage: 1,350 km/month
    Most highest performance per price rate
    some small quality control problems
To Improve
Choose supplier wisely to make sure QC better, please dont always launch new version
Yes, I would recommend this car