Mitsubishi Attrage
 (3.5/5)
expert rating
 (3.6/5)
owner rating
RM 1,003.79 /month
RM 75,250.33

Owner Review

Share your experiences with the Mitsubishi Attrage - Write an owner review

Do you own the Mitsubishi Attrage? As the owner, you have literally sat in the driver's seat and discovered the ups and downs as you go about your everyday life.

Share your experiences with the Mitsubishi Attrage and help others in the market for a car like this.

* limited to Malaysian citizens and verified owners of the reviewed car.
CarBase.my works with ISM Insurance Services to verify car ownership in order to ensure quality reviews.

9 Owner Reviews
Date Reviewed
18 April 2017
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Peter
GS (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 3 Years
Fuel Economy: 14.0 km/litre (7.1 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,400 km/month
    Good value for the budget.
    Reasonably spacious for B-segment car.
    Reasonable power in most situation consider its only 1.2L CVT engine.
    Easily cruise at 120 to 130km/hr. Maintaining at 90-100km/hr will maximize the fuel efficiency over distance.
    Road and wind noise is very painful at > 80km/hr. (Compare to Honda, Toyota)
    Gearshift jerky.
    Basis safety feature.
    The wheel bearing appear to have reliability issue. My car has the wheel bearing changed 2 times in less than 80,000KM.
To Improve
Lower the wind/road noise.
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
20 January 2016
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Tan
GS (2012)
Bought new, Owned for 2 Years
Fuel Economy: 15.0 km/litre (6.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 800 km/month
    - Well equipped compared to others at this price range
    - Huge discount at year end or festival
    - Engine soundproof is decent, remember that this is a 3 cylinder engine
    - Engine is willing to rev and accelerate as long as you floor the pedal
    - Nothing will beat this car's steering and turning radius ability, it is a shopping mall "go kart", and you could u-turn easily like a boss
    - Fuel consumption is respectable, but not as good as expected if you are a heavy footer
    - Ample space in the legroom, cabin and boot
    - Poor NVH compared to Almera, CIty and Vios, due to lack of soundproof work on the roof and floor. It is advisable to invest on soundproof for the long run
    - Disc brake is noisy and squeaky
    - Spare part/accessories of the car are expensive compared to other Japs
    - The setting of the suspension is high and bumpy
    - CVT is not the smoothest, even though it is 2X better than Proton Punch CVT
    - The fitting and finishing of the audio console feel like after-market (In fact, it is.)
To Improve
- Armrest should be standard
- Audio control on the steering should be standard
- Soundproof at the roof and floor is bad
- CVT is not the best in terms of smoothness
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
15 December 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Danny
GS (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 18.0 km/litre (5.6 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 400 km/month
    Engine is quite more responsive than almera auto
    I maintain 60km/h with ac off during the day can get 23-24km/l,but with the lights on during night maybe around 20km/l
    Cruising around 80-90km/h can get 18-19km/l
    Heavy traffic with ac on can get 10-13km/l or even less.
    Speaker quite impressive
    If you drive alone or with one passenger maybe the 1.2 engine is still good enough to be true but with full load(5 in the car with averge weight of 70kg/person),the underpower issue is real case scenario
    1.2 mivec is not a big issue after all as u need this car just to get from point A to B with comfort and better fuel
    Change to 17" wheel is still more fuel economy compared to other segment b car(not change yet)
    The rear suspension is too high
    Almera interior is much bigger,obviously the width of attrage is smaller
    Hard to find bodykit and not much choice unless you go to thai market
    No hill assist. Have to control your pedal
    Nothing much on the infotainment
    Engine bay still not that slick
    No more manual variant(big turn off to me)
To Improve
Soundproofing
Lower or stiffer suspension
Move the cabin light a bit to the center or add cabin light at the rear
Turbo please lol
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 April 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
R HARINDRANATH
SE (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 18.0 km/litre (5.6 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 700 km/month
    Good Power for 1.2 3 Cylinder engine.
    Great space; better than Mazda 2 Skyactive, Toyota Vios and VW Polo.
    P1 Paddock (P1 Center), Address Polo.
    Fuel economy great but 21km/l barely achievable in real world. More 18km/l.
    Good enough steering feel for spirited driving. Good grip and understeer resistance good.
    Ride is quite a good balance between soft and hard. If too heavy load it can squat at the rear and bottom out on large undulations.
    Huge trunk but needs split fold-able rear seats for better versatility.
    Even though interior looks too simple and plasticky initially, the Mazda 2 rear and Honda Jazz/City no better. in fact looks worse.
    Seats (leather) firm and comfy.
    Initially engine a bit louder and "growlier" than usual but actually as mileage piles on, the noise subsides. Now at about 4K kilometers, the sound is more muted.
    For the price NVH acceptable. Extra soundproofing might need to be considered.
    Needs a stiffer rear suspension as at high speed (>120km/h) the rear will wiggle when going over an off camber bump.
    Need more in cabin lamps especially at the rear.
    The Kenwood touchscreen radio is mediocre at best. speakers need improvement too.
To Improve
Better In Car entertainment.
Better noise insulation for firewall.(to block out more engine noise.
Slightly stiffer rear suspension.
daytime running lights should not be switched off when handbrake is pulled up.
The doors need to auto-lock once car starts moving.
GPS module should be standard.(currently ICE is ready but module have to be added on)
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
25 January 2015
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Soon Fai
GS (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 13.0 km/litre (7.7 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 2,000 km/month
    - Car price cheaper than others B segment car
    - Big boot space
    - Good leg room
    - Comfort & smooth car
    - Features a lot, Push Start, keyless, leather steering, leather gear knob, good CD player
    - I owned the car for 1 mth, just done my 1st service, I can't feel how attractive is the fuel consumptions like, can't get 21km/liter. I drive from KL to Penang by highway, 95% of the time "ECO" lights on, speed at 110km/h-130km/h, end up 28.03 liter for 427km, mean 6.56liter/100km. If I drive in KL town use, most of the time are smooth drive + some short distances highway, the fuel consumptions was 34.33liter for 400km, mean 8.58liter/100km. Compare to many reviews said that they can drive the car with 18km/liter mix drive, I really don't know how they going to achieve it? Previously I owned a Nissan Grand Livina 1.6, I drive from KL to Perlis, 150-160km/h, I manage to get 35.8liter for 550km, mean 6.5liter/100km, but Attrage claim that the fuel consumption is much more lower than Livina & others B segment cars.

    - 2nd, the absorber is too soft, 4 person sit on the car, 2 in front, 2 at the back, boot space was empty, average each person 70kg(normal weight, not fat people), but when i go through the pump, the tyre behind hit the mug-guard, too bad.... another time I drive alone with carry some stocks around 100kg behind the boot, same thing happen... come on! this is Mitsubishi, not local car, is Japanese car, the experience really make me feel disappointed.
To Improve
add arm rest for this car
No, I would not recommend this car
Date Reviewed
17 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Alvin
GS (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 18.0 km/litre (5.6 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,000 km/month
    Features- push start, digital aircond controls.
    Sound system is surprisingly decent.
    Fuel economy is excellent. 17-18km per litre in the city.
    Acceleration is instant when you put your foot down. (Cvt gearbox)
    Cvt gearbox can be cranky at times.
    Bits and pieces of plastic In the interior rattling.
    Rear design could be better.
    Plasticky dashboard.
To Improve
Add in more safety features.
Add in some soft touch plastics.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
8 June 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Tony
GS (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 18.0 km/litre (5.6 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    -ECO, fuel efficiency is always my concern to own a car. City/highway +-18km/l, Highway +-21km/l for me so far.
    (Like most gasoline car, if the traveling distance per trip is short, the fuel efficiency goes down. From my experience, as long as it is above 20km per trip, it is easy to keep FC above 17km/l)
    -Simplicity, to achieve fuel efficiency you can have many ways. This car choose a simple way to improve its efficiency, light weight, small engine, make it simple and make it do the thing right, not by introduce more parts and fancy technology. Back to basic, that's what I like.
    (Simple = less parts, less expensive maintenance, less hassles)
    -This car scared out new buyers due to its 1.2L engine. For me it's not under power as long as you drive smoothly with reasonable acceleration at reasonable speed. Feel better than Wira 1.3, Saga BLM 1.3L (which I own before).
    -Surprising ride comfort for its weight.
    -Value, looking for a sedan under RM70k is pathetic; looking for a sedan with good fuel efficiency is even hard until I found this car. You not only getting a car from reliable car maker, with a low price, yet it help you reduce the running cost.
    -Accessories, not the best in its class, but far better than its Japan rivals at the price range.
    -Built quality, you get what you pay for, at least not less than.
    -Appearance, me and my partner like the front look, which look like a smiling cat. (very subjective)
    -Noise appear once the road get bumpy, not sure its coming from floor, wheel or fender. But sound insulation to air bond sound is above average for me, to high speed wind noise is average.
    -Body roll is quite obvious although it's still better than Saga BLM.
To Improve
-Include a stability control variant, or make it standard equipment.
-Improve sound insulation from road and wheel.
-Make the back seat foldable to improve usability.
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
27 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Adib
GS (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 20.0 km/litre (5.0 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 700 km/month
    + Front appearance is cute/good looking, the chrome grill is nice with Mitsu badge embedded
    + Best fuel consumption ever. I live in a city area, sometimes travel to a distance place yet I can get around 20km/l. Travel from KL to Kedah, only consume 40% of fuel with random speed (around 90km/h - 120km/h; RM80 full tank)
    + It's a small sedan, yet inside is comfortable. 4 adults fit in the car won't feel cramp. Can extend your leg and sit comfortably. Boot also large enough to put lots of bags.
    + CVT is smooth, combined with MIVEC, it gives best performance even though it is a 3 cylinder engine. Best to play with gently push the gas pedal.
    + A sedan in good price range, yet it offers much technology such as key-less operation system, push start button, auto fold side mirror, automatic climate air-condition, ABS, etc.
    + Rev up quite good and smooth. At 2000 rpm (and below), it can go around 70km/h.
    + Don't really feel under power, in fact it gives best performance as much as 1.5 cc engine.
    + You know you are in an eco mode, when you see the green eco light appear while you drive.
    + Simple and elegance interior appearance. The Dashboard is very nice and good looking. You can always tell what to do with the air-condition system and radio.
    + Really love the radio light (which can be change to any colour light) when drive at night. Nice audio quality from speaker.
    - Rear appearance is somewhat a let down. Feel shame somehow.
    - Appearance in a glance is just not enough/basic, feels like it evolved from Toyota Vios 2nd generation
    - Climbing hill requires a bit effort. Rev up too much during climbing makes the engine roar.
    - When hit a road bump or speeding, you can hear the road/wind noise.
    - Only basic safety offered.
To Improve
* Body-kit (such as spoiler, skirts, wind shield, etc.) can be install later to modify the appearance especially rear view.
* A bit touch-up on appearance will significantly make the Attrage look real handsome.
* Road/wind/rev engine noise can be overcome with best and crisp audio speaker. Or you can always install sound proof to reduce the noisy.
* You can add security tint to improve safety (for GS model; from robbery, etc.)
Yes, I would recommend this car
Date Reviewed
20 May 2014
Performance
Ride & Handling
Comfort
Safety
Space
Value
Zechariah
GS (2013)
Bought new, Owned for 1 Year
Fuel Economy: 16.0 km/litre (6.3 L/100 km), RON95, Mileage: 1,200 km/month
    -Very respectable fuel efficiency. I live and drive mostly in a city and can get around 16km/l per tank. I drive mostly during non-peak hours and try to avoid high traffic areas.
    -Good rear legroom for its size. Feet of rear passenger can go under the seat easily.
    -CVT is reasonably smooth.
    -Engine is willing to rev hard for when you want more go.
    -Reasonably comfortable.
    -Rear view of the car looks good for me.
    -Car does not feel underpowered is most circumstances.
    -Road and wind noise quite intrusive.
    -CVT not 100% smooth. There seems to be a gear change step around the 40km/h mark due to the Jatco CVT7 transmission used.
    -Finishing appears cheap in certain areas (paint in engine bay, intended gaps here and there).
    -That grille is not to everyone's taste.
    -Safety is quite basic. Lacks stability control and side airbags.
To Improve
-While engine noise is quite well-insulated for me (not too loud as to be deafening and not too soft that I cannot enjoy the sound of revving), the wind and road noise is quite intrusive on the rougher roads. Mostly the noise comes from the cabin floor. More insulation is needed for comfort in a long distance drive.
-The CVT's gear change should be improved to be more CVT-like: smooth as butter. Currently it's more like creamy peanut butter with a few unintended chunks in it.
-That shape of the grille can be improved upon.
Yes, I would recommend this car

Mitsubishi Attrage's Competitors